We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Eat but prices are a little high for Mahahual”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Pearl - CLOSED

The Black Pearl
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Beach front restaurant/bar with an extensive drink menu served by one of the best bartenders in town! Buy an open bar pass, try our "Amberita margarita", cheese garlic salsa, ceviches, schedule a snorkel excursion or diving from our beach, go for a swim, use the free WI-FI or read a good book and listen to music while lying on a padded lounger. Do you prefer shade or sun? We also have live music jam nights and am looking forward to el primer Festival Internacional Mahahual: Cruzando Fronteras Mexico-Italia. During our temporary transition, we are referring some patrons to Oxtankah located in the center of the malecon. Snorkeling excursions start at $25 per person.
Wetaskiwin, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat but prices are a little high for Mahahual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice atmosphere but food was average, price was high, service was okay. I understand the place just opened and it will take time to work out the bugs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Black Pearl has the best margaritas in costa maya. Unlike the syrup and tequila mixtures we received from other venders on the strip. You can taste that the Black Pearl Margarita's are made from scratch with fresh ingredients. The staff was Extremely Friendly and attentive to our wants.This restaurant Featured an Awesome view of he ocean and had Comfortable lounge chairs available to relax in. Their location was perfect. They are to the far left when heading to the beach. we were not interrupted by street venders during our meal. It was close to everything but felt private.The steak nachos were delicious. You can tell they put a lot of care into serving the best. We would definitely bypass all the other venders and go straight there if we are ever back in town. I highly recommend to everyone great experience and value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myBluepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreaming of a Corona commercial?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Picture yourself in a Corona commercial, complete with a white sandy beach, crystal clear water, and wonderful hospitality. That’s the Black Pearl restaurant, just a short cab ride away from the cruise port in Costa Maya. My husband and I spent the day using the Black Pearl as a base camp for relaxing on the beach, playing in the water, and enjoying Mexican beer. They have tables, hammocks, and lounge chairs right on the sand for patrons to use at their leisure. The delicious food and authentic mecheladas were the perfect snack after paddle boarding the coast (check out UnderToe Mexico for rentals, next door to the Black Pearl). The staff was very attentive but gave us plenty of space to sit back and enjoy the view. Did I mention you can get an inexpensive massage on their beach as well? It was definitely worth exploring outside of the Disneyesque Costa Maya cruise port to spend the day at the Black Pearl.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KimMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and so delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well this is definitely the tastiest food we had in Mexico. The chef is really talented! We had a prawn dish that was just incredible. The fajitas were great too. The waitresses are soo friendly and theres even some dancing later on! They are doing a great job in this new place and I think it should continue to be really successful, especially when the food is so yummy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pele_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
2 reviews
“You don't want to miss The Black Pearl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My brother and I caught a cab for 2 bucks each and went to the city in Costa Maya. We stopped at one restaurant and had a drink and was very disappointed. We walked down the beach and happened upon "The Black Pearl." Instantly we were greeted by Amber and Christina the owners. They both made us feel right at home. The drinks were the best and my brother had the fish tacos and loved them. The only problem was the fact that we did not have more time to spend at the Black Pearl, we almost missed the ship!!! Do not miss the chance to visit the Black Pearl, by far the best time we had on the cruise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing