We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, pricey photos”

Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery is the world's number one swim with dolphins company. We welcome cruise lovers to our facility in Costa Maya to live the experience of a lifetime swimming with dolphins in paradise.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did the Dolphin Encounter as a Disney Cruise Line Excursion. The price was reasonable, and my husband was allowed to observe for free, but he had to stand a considerable distance away so that he could not get any close up photos. The trainers are friendly and very knowledgeable about the dolphins, and this was a wonderful experience. The cages here are small, and the dolphins are babies, but this was an amazing, once in a lifetime opportunity. We learned several hand signals, and performed them with the dolphins. When our encounter was done, we were lead to the photo stations, where we found that ONE photo was $38.00. Sadly, we were not carrying that much cash, and did not get the photo.

2  Thank flyersfan1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 293 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was fun to ride a dolphin and watch it perform its antics. Oddly enough, most of the people there were adults-it seems to bring out your inner child.

2  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

never been so close to a dolphin and i had a blast,the staff is super,the hole experience was amazing,and its right on the port,minutes away from your ship,a most do when visiting Costa Maya.

2  Thank cavr1569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear cavr1569

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Discovery and especially for having the time to tell us about your experience. We are pleased to know that swimming with dolphins and interact with them has been an amazing experience.

We hope that in the near future again have the pleasure to assist you.

Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your visit and preference.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I don't hire the event, but watched the presentation. Dolphins are maintained, but the dependencies of them (5 or 6) are very small ... Right beside a sea huge and they that cubicle ... sad.

4  Thank glaubinhoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear glaubinhoab

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Discovery and especially for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We want you to know that we love dolphins, and love to take care of them, also we have a program named Miracle to preserve the specie. We invite you to discover our website where you can learn more about that and all the different things we do.

Dolphin Discovery appreciates your visit and hopes to see you again in order that we can improve your experience.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We didn't know what to expect since we only booked the "interaction" session and not the "swim w the dolphins" one but WOW, we were very happy with our session. The trainers were very patient with us..we were a family 8! They talked about the dolphins briefly and then we went in the water. We were able to either hang on a rope on the side of the pool or stand on a ledge, I don't remember but we stayed there and the trainers brought the dolphin to each one of us to pet, hug, kiss, and even feel their teeth!! It was incredible. The doplins kissed us on the lips and cheeks! We also got to hold their fins and put our hands over the nose. They take pictures too since of course you can't do it yourself. They sell them later and it's worth it to buy it. If you buy a lot, you can negotiate. Overall, it was an experience we will never forget. Book this one, you won't regret it. As for swimming with them, I would NOT recommend it because the pool is not big .. it's kinda rectangular so you can't go around wide distances with the dolphins. I saw a few get to swim with them but it was nothing like the ones located in cancun or inland facilities instead of port like this one. If for interaction only, this is perfect!

1  Thank Natster396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinDiscovery, Community Manager at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Natster396

We appreciate your visit to Dolphin Discovery and especially for having the time to tell us about your experience. We are pleased to know that the interaction with them has been an amazing experience.

We hope that in the near future again have the pleasure to assist you.

Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your visit and preference.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing