We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A good option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Lithuania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were traveling from Cancun to Mahahual staying at hotels on the way with the similar budget like El Hotelito and could say honestly, this one was the best. We liked the location of the hotel plus they have car parking convenient to drive in. Comfortable nicely decorated clean rooms and bathroom (with hot shower whenever you need). Clean and fresh towels provided every day in different shapes (elephants, turtles, rabbits etc.)
Breakfast is simple: coffee and toast, but in a few steps from the hotel there are places you could get tasty food. As, for example, restaurant “Nohoch Kay” could be highly recommended.
Special thanks to Mateo, the owner of hotel. For us, not speaking Spanish, he was a rescue. We got all information we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    35
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelem, MXl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I just came back from spending 4 night at El Hotelito in Mahahual. We were greeted by Hanna who was so nice! We also spent time with Ivan and Candy who were tremendous too. We had a room up the first flight of steps, room 3. It had a queen bed and a single, there was ac and a ceiling fan, very nice bathroom and a small terrace. While not luxurious by any means our room was spotlessly clean and tidy. There was daily maid service and lots of fresh clean towels. The owner Mateo gave us lots of local tips and told us where we could get discounts at local restaurants. Our favorite places to eat while there were Nohoch Kay, just a few steps from the hotel for the most delicious seafood along with fabulous service, Luna de Plata for pasta and Popi's Pizza for the best thin crust pizza ever.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at El Hotelito and will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank playapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A group of friends stayed at this hotel in June 2013. My husband and I chose the top floor room facing the ocean and had an awesome 180* ocean view. Although it was June, there was enough breeze that it was not necessary to use the AC.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome. The water pressure was really good and water temp was hot! I'd have to say it was one of the best showers I've had in a long time (we live in Mexico).
The hotel is not directly beach front as another hotel has been built right in front of it, but the ocean view was still very nice.
Breakfast consisted of bread that you toast yourself, coffee and juice. That was fine with us, we enjoyed it and were glad we didn't have to go out to eat breakfast.
We received discounts at several restaurants and had the use of beach chairs, kayaks, etc at several restaurants just down the street.
The owner, Matthew, was around and was very friendly, speaks excellent English and offered great suggestions on where to go. He even helped arrange fishing for the guys two days at very reasonable rates.
We'd return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Can_we_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Mahahual was the last stop on our Mexican trip. We got the best room on the last floor. although birds wake you up as well as construction site nearby, sun sets and the sea view compensates that fully. i definetely recommend that hotel to you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amashumgalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Whatever you need ... you’ll find it at EL HOTELITO .

We went to Mahahual for a few days and we stayed at EL HOTELITO, we spent only 4 nights but it is not enough , you have to stay there at least 1 week to enjoy the hotel and Mahahual.

The beach is literally 2 steps from the hotel ! , Matteo and Angela are absolutely the perfect hosts!

This small and cozy hotel feels warm and homey, it is just a jewel in paradise !

The little details make each room different, we were in room number 7 on 3rd floor, our room was sparkly clean, tastefully designed and quiet.
Big windows, a lot of light, we enjoyed the view of the ocean and also an incredible sunset view from the balcony facing the jungle… amazing! Rooms are very well decorated, nice size closet, spacious bathroom and shower, flat screen TV, air condicioning (by the way we never used it because of the nice, natural breeze coming from the windows). A small cafeteria is available for all guests as well as a private parking behind the hotel ( in case you rent a car.)

It was a real pleasure waking up every morning and find Matteo, Angela and Hanna downstairs at the reception giving us tips and offering us a good cup of coffee .

Coming back to the hotel after a beautiful day at the beach, Ivan , a very nice, polite, joung guy was always available at the hotel to give us any informations about the area.
Ivan was also very good entertaining kids’s guests, in fact I remember one day he was drawing and colouring horses and unicorns with a charming little girl at the reception…such a nice guy.

All the staff at the hotel is helpful and very nice.

We had such a beautiful experience at EL HOTELITO and we already decided to book our next vacation there.

We highly recommend the hotel to anyone , you won’t regret the choice !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondoHorafeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Cute hotel not quite ocean front with a good staff. Smiling Hanna at the front desk was a standout. The rooms are newish, clean and well designed. We stayed there for 2 nights. Never had hot water...not even tepid. The "included" breakfast was a loaf of white bread and a toaster, bad coffee. On line info says they take Visa. They emailed me before I left home to say they only took cash. I asked if there were ATMs in town. They responded "yes but they often didn't work". We ignored that because it seemed too silly. Sure enough, the ATM at Hotelito couldn't print receipts. 2 of the 3 elsewhere in town were broken.

Room Tip: All rooms are 2nd floor and above with lots of steps. The nicest rooms are on the top floor and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Mahahual, thanks to the gracious hosts at El Hotelito. Mateo and his staff were warm immediately when we arrived and wanted to help us in any way they could. Diving? Mateo's local contact, a biologist, doubles as a divemaster. We were introduced later that day and enjoyed personalized diving in the beautiful reef waters right off Mahahual. Recommendations for what to do? Not only excellent recommendations and discounts for good restaurants nearby, but we got the background story as well. One evening, Mateo even insisted on driving us himself to meet a friend who was staying a couple miles south of Mahahual.

The hotel is a small, European-style place, quite new. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Placed just at the south end of the Mahahual beach "strip", El Hotelito provides a measure of quiet and privacy, yet you're right there to enjoy the beautiful Mahahual. This looks to be an area working hard to bring in more US visitors. If you like something a little off the beaten track, yet comfortable with plenty to do for everyone, Mahahual is a great choice. And especially El Hotelito!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room on the top floor with a balcony. Great view and a feeling of being "above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyfuljulie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#8 of 12 in Mahahual
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel

Property: Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Mahahual Lote 13, Manzana 22 | Col. centro, Mahahual 77940, Mexico (Formerly El Hotelito)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#3 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself fall in love with the clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and the sea breeze of Mahahual, the paradise of the Costa Maya. And for that, we invite you to Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel, located on the malecon of Mahahual and just few steps away from the beach. 4 floors high, Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel is characterized by its Mediterranean style and attention to detail, ensuring a relaxing stay and very pleasant. It has 9 bedrooms, doubles, triples and quadruples rooms, most of them with sea view and terrace. Undoubtedly, it is an ideal place to enjoy the natural beauty of Mahahual and live unforgettable days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko'Ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing