We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“WOW!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a fabulous experience we had at Alma Plena!! The owners are delightful and along with their staff provided exceptional service. The resort is clean and family friendly. Look forward to another trip to this resort very soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    67
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
177
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a day at Almaplena while stopping in Costa Maya on a Norwegian cruise. Their website was easy to use, and Monica contacted us right away and we were able to confirm our reservations. Travel to the resort was by taxi, which is included in your day price. My husband and 2 sons enjoyed snorkeling the reef which was an easy swim for them. I enjoyed relaxing on the serene, beautiful beach. The number of guests is limited, and it did not feel at all crowded during our stay. No loud music or vendors. We had unlimited drinks, and an amazing lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Almaplena was recommended to us by some friends (Natalie and John, for Monica's reference) who live in nearby Majahual; they had never been there themselves but had heard it was nice. It was! My overall word for this place would have to be "serene". I am not a fan of crowds, nor loud people or music, unless I am in a specific and temporary mood for something like that, so this place was perfect for us. Aesthetically very pleasing, the restaurant terrace has amazing views, cute tables, a few hammock-swings, and a friendly and well-behaved cat who came around once in a while to snooze on the wooden chairs. The room we had (Charming Suite) was perfect for my husband and I. I loved the clean lines, white walls, stone floors, and natural wood embellishments. Very modern yet very earthy and comfortable. They hit a perfect balance, design-wise. The rooms all seem to have private terraces, we did, upstairs, with two comfortable chairs and also a hammock. The beach is pristine white, and very well kept. I noticed a young worker actually sifting the sand through a big window screen type of thing, so that it remained free of debris and sharp shells. The snorkeling is right there in front of you, you just need to bring your own gear. They kindly lent me some since I did not have any, but the choices were limited so the flippers were too big and the mask leaked. I don't think they are in the business for that but they could be if they got more organized. The reef really is just right there, two minute swim away. The food was quite good (what I had of it). I am vegetarian, but was very happy with the fruit in the morning, and the guacamole and chips (ate this every day), and the quesadillas with black beans. Gabriel and Hugo were both excellent bartenders and servers, very personable and fun. I speak a little Spanish, but not overly well, and Gabriel took me under his wing and helped me and corrected me with whatever I was trying to say. He also brought me a special little dish of 100% blended habanero peppers to try with the quesadillas. It was like eating fire. The only thing that was remotely not great was that, because they are an eco-resort, and that part of the coast is environmentally very fragile, there are some rules about the, um, toilet area. No paper can go in the toilet, so it all goes in the bin. This may sound gross but it was actually not, there were no issues with it. We did have a stinky toilet though the first night. In the morning some kind of cleaning tablet was put into the tank and by the end of the second day it did not smell any more. We will definitely be back! I almost hesitate to post this so it remains as quiet and private as it was for us this time!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatsleeptravelshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights here and thought the location and design of Almaplena was first class. Beautiful apartments and well kept white sandy beaches. Great sun loungers and plenty of palapas to go round - even when the tourists from cruise ships turn up for the day. So… what was wrong you ask - why only 3 stars? We booked this venue because it had a restaurant and with the owners being Italian, it had all the right signs. We arrived late afternoon the first night, so ate there - big mistake! The food was not good - no imagination in terms of dishes, presentation or quality of produce. Tasted like everything was cooked from frozen, rather than making best use of fresh local produce. In the morning the breakfast was poor and you had to pay extra to get something exciting like eggs. The coffee… words cannot describe the disappointment when drinking instant coffee in a part of the world so renowned for growing its own. I had a long chat with the owners about the food just before we left and they seem to be taking these (and others) comments on board. Also, the owners seem to ignore you most of the time - missing great opportunities to make you feel welcome and looked after. It just lacked heart, which is a pity as it is so beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

You should go here if you want to be away from everything. And yet you are well connected when you want through the road and a good wifi. But no one will find you if you don't want to.
The hotel has very beautiful rooms and has a good standard. The beach is fantastic and you can walk as far as you like in both directions without meeting anyone.
Stay here if you want to stay here. If you want to go diving, snorkling or choose restaurants in Mahahual then don't stay here. It takes you 20 min each way by car. Driving late in the evening after a dinner in Mahahual or if you need to go back to get changed after diving yo'd better stay in Mahahual itself.

Room Tip: All rooms are good I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I wanted to spend a day in Mahahual with my wife, we choose Almaplena. I contacted Monica, the owner and she replied right away with clear information and driving directions. Unfortunately the day was windy, but all in all we enjoyed the day, the place has a nice beach, Monica stopped to say hi and welcome to us, and explained us about this interesting eco-project. Claudio the waiter and barman was up to the challenge for every cocktail we asked for, also very attentive to our needs. If you plan to visit the area, email them in advance or just stop by, to enjoy this quiet, ecological yet well equipped hotel. We hadn't the chance to sleepover just enjoyed the beach club. I hope we can stay here on our next visit.  

Room Tip: E mail them in advance, specially if you are not familiar with the area. All rooms are well maintain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selfevolving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This resort is so beautiful. It is away from the busyness, quiet, and breathtaking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back here some day. It is truly heaven on earth. The food was delicious as well. Thanks for a wonderful time Monica and Andrea (and baby sofia:).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
7.8 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
7.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.4 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club

Property: Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Address: Carretera costera | Mahahual-Xcalak, Km 12.5, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mahahual
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#1 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almaplena is a small Ecological Beach Resort that strive to be low environmental impact. The Hotel sets directly on a private beach of the Mexican Caribbean Sea with powdery white sand and turquoise water. Almaplena is far away from the crowds and next the tropical jungle.All the 8 accommodations are beachfront. Right in front of the beach there is an excellent spot for snorkeling. Shaded palapas, lounge chairs, water chairs, beach cushions and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing