We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Rooms with and Exceptional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms with and Exceptional Staff”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The rooms here are very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. I had a room with a jungle view and private balcony. I loved it. An iPod alarm/radio/charger and large flat screen TV, A/C, and WiFi make this hotel a dream come true for those looking to stay in Majahual with all the modern amenities. For me, the staff was the real highlight of my stay. The entire staff was warm, friendly, helpful, and readily available. The ADO stops right at the front door, so this is ideal for those arriving to Majahual late at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lydia,

Thank you so much for your review of Ko'ox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel and we are delighted to know that you enjoy all our services and facilities. Mahahual is amazing and if you stay in a hotel that makes you feel at home, even better, don't you?..

From all the staff of Ko'ox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel we want to thank you for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,

Ko'ox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    126
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
96
218
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The service is very kind and nice. The food in their restaurant is great, the best dish without any doubt are the pizzas. The rooms are modern and tidy. You have everything you need in an hotel. The town is really small but it is great for nature lovers. You can dive, you can do scuba and snorkel.. We recommend you to come on winter (december to april)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriadnaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Ariadna,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your days with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!!!

Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved the hotel! The people were great, the restaurant food was good and the prices were reasonable. It was low season so there were hardly any people, which for us was soo relaxing. If you do go on low season beware of the shady people at the restaurants. The only downside to the hotel was that we wanted to extend out check out so we could stay longer at the beach and shower afterwards but they weren't able to do so, or give us a place to shower so we had to leave earlier than we wanted. All in all we had a great time! Low season guaranteed for peace and quiet, high season don't know unless you don't mind the noise cause theres a señor frogs next to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Melissa,
Thank you for your review of your stay in our hotel and for chosen us to spend your holidays at Mahahual! We are very happy to know that you enjoy the food, facilities and services of the hotel. You are right, low season is incredible for peace and relaxing!! But in high season and all year we have a lot of offers and the best events to enjoy!
We will take a note about the late check out you had mentioned, and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Best regards!

Koox Quinto Sole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent here one week at this beautiful beach-hotel an had a great time.

Especially the food and Cocktails were great.

We would like to say thank you to Jorge, Mildred and especially Ada for the very pleasant service.

Kirsten + Andi from Germany

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Kirsten and Andi,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay in our hotel and for your lovely words of your holidays. We are very happy to know that you enjoy our facilities, services and your visit to Mahahual was excellent.
Jorge, Mildred and Ada want to thank you for everything and we hope to welcome you again very soon!!

Our warmest regards,

Koox Hotel Quinto Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This relatively new hotel ticks almost all the boxes, but the intransigence of the receptionists leaves a sour taste.
The swimming pool-esque stretch of turquoise caribbean directly opposite the open front restaurant soothes the soul as the idoneous choice of music calms your nerves while you tuck into the exquisite homemade cakes and bread at breakfast. The modern rooms with minimalist design are faultless: big comfy bed, powerful hot shower, iphone dock (that works!) and a big TV. The Spanish family that run the place are courteous and welcoming and really contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this home away from home.
The only negative element is the couple who man the reception who hide behind "company policy" as justification for not being at all flexible to any guest request. The owners assured us that they are aware of this and are investing a lot of effort in educating the staff.
All in all, a wonderful place to spend a few nights or a whole holiday and at the time we visited, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phiesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently went with my family, (wife and two small kids), just by Trip Advisor reviews stayed at the Hotel Quinto Sole. There is few information about Mahahual and the hotels around, so we were very fortunate, Without a doubt it´s the best option in Mahahual. The hotel its part of a small chain and its managed by an Andorra/Spaniard family, they were very friendly and always made an extra effort. The hotel has several great points. 1) Location its the second hotel on the Mahahual beach, right next to the Sr. Frogs, and steps away from the lighthouse, ten minute walk room other hotels and restaurants. 2) Beach, this hotel has the best beach, next to a small pier, they have big beds on the beach with all the shadow you need, others hotels may have a rocky part of the beach 3) Rooms. We stayed on an Ocean View room, with a Queen Bed and Sofa bed perfect for the kids(at no extra charge), the rooms are modern, with a big flat screen and small balcony. 4) Restaurant The food was great, at the level of any big and fancy hotel, our compliments to the kitchen people! We have breakfast, lunch and dinner several times, and don't want to go to other place, they also have a stone oven for Pizzas, and made us several dishes that where not included on the menu. 5) Staff All the people that work in this hotel, are nice friendly and make you fell like home 6) Jacuzzi and Upper Terrace Bar, the hotel on the top floor has a Jacuzzi a small bar an great views, this is great because there are no pools in other Hotels. 7) Quality rest, its important to decide and to know if they are Cruise ships the days you are staying, because Mahahual its almost empty without cruises Final Two Tips his is the only hotel that accepts American Express, a must go its the tour to Banco Chinchorro, its one of the best places to snorkel or dive, its a bumpy 2 hr boat ride, but its worth it!

Room Tip: The Ocean View room its cheaper, you have a small balcony and sofa bed, two adults and two kids with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivetoTravel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel has a great location and nice rooms, but the internet access in the rooms is terrible, often dropping the connection and poor reception.

Worse than that, the bartender during the afternoon that we arrived tried to overcharge us by $300 pesos (about $30) for our drinks during our first meal. We told the waiter it was incorrect and he came back with a corrected bill, but offered no explanation or apology.

This is a town where cruise ships stop and so perhaps it is common for these clowns to try and rip off unsuspecting passengers. This was the first time this sort of thing happened in our four months of travel in Mexico and was very surprising and disappointing considering how well we have been treated everywhere else we have stayed.

Also, the room was not ready when we arrived, even though it was well after the posted 3pm check in time.

Otherwise, the hotel is in a great location and has a very nice beach. The restaurant has a rather limited menu and the food was ok, but nothing special. Dinner service was slow and the waiters seemed confused even though there were only a few quests. The rooms are nice, but have no fridge or microwave. TV reception was good if you care about that. Hotel prices are good as long as you don't get ripped off. The water pipes in the building are a bit noisy at night and there is no elevator for the upper floors.

Room Tip: get one facing the beach. 2nd floor may be quieter than the 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apperceive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mr, Apperceive,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel Quinto Sole and we are very sorry to know that you had a bad internet connection during your holidays and the other problems you had told us.
All your comments helps our daily work and they are an opportunity to improve our guest service and facilities.
In spite of these bad moments in our hotel, we would like to welcome you during your next visit to Mahahual and offer you our best services and offers.

Thanks again and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel

Property: Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Mahahual-xcalac km 0.350, Mahahual 77940, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Quinto Sole)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excellent standards of service and comfort in the Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, right in front of the beach in the village of Mahahual. Located at the entrance to this paradise on the Costa Maya, Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel has 16 rooms luxuriously equipped with everything you need for the most pleasant of stays in Mexico. And as if that weren't enough, the hotel also has an exclusive beach club, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing