We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm - most of the time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
BUCKS
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“an oasis of calm - most of the time!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is located in a sleepy seaside setting - perfect for relaxing after the riguors of Mayan pyramid-climbing! Members of staff are friendly & unrushed. Rooms overlook beach or wetland wildlife - your choice. Love the alfresco jacuzzi (with a fab view along coast) on the roof & massage beds on beach. Only downside is when a cruise ship comes in to the terminal a couple of miles up the coast & (seemingly) the whole ship come to Señor Frog's next door for an all-inclusive booze, beach & pool package - absolute bedlam! Noise is so loud that those of a delicate nature would be advised to research cruise schedules & arrange daytrips away from Mahahual then. We would definitely stay here again however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GODFREYSBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear GODFREYSBucks

Thanks for your feedback, it makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to serve you again as it deserves

Jordi Gonzalez
Atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    132
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
100
226
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I scoped out several hotels in Mahahual before settling on Quinto Sole, and we are so glad we did! The rooms are immaculate with wonderful views, the staff was very friendly, helpful, and accomodating. Especially noteworthy were Diana at the front desk and Piero the bar tender. Very nice experience and can't wait till next year when we'll return.

Room Tip: Go for the beach view rooms, they're a bit more expensive but worth it. During the off season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefbobbydesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Used Quinto Sole's facilities during a cruise stop in Costa Maya. Booked this at the pier with one of the booths as you exit the pier. Paid $15 per person for the beach chair, palapa and unlimited non-alcoholic drinks. It is an extra $10 if you want the beer and mixed drink package. I am sure you could haggle a bit to get a better price, but seemed reasonable considering how much other places during our cruise were charging for just a taxi to the beach.

While not exactly the best swimming beach, it did provide a nice stop to relax and get the feel for a beach town in Mexico. The waiters were attentive and super friendly. The mixed drinks were somewhat watered down, but the beer was good. The massage vendors on the beach were actually pretty good and were priced reasonably. Lots of vendors selling fruits, snacks, cigars, and jewelry. A simple 'no thank you' and you were not bothered by them the rest of the day.

The whole place had a happy vibe and it started with Diana at the front desk as soon as you walked in the lobby. There may be better beaches in Mahahual, but this was a nice stop for day at the beach.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank balti_less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The place is very clean, the staff is very friendly and he view from the room is to die for. We have stayed at other places in Costa Maya, Mahahual, Mexico and this rates right up there. It sits right on the beach, has a great restaurant and it is walking distance to just about everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcrowe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed 1 night and then added an extra 3 nights on- Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful, particularly the receptionist with glasses whos dad is a taxi driver, but whos name we have forgotten!
The rooms are bright and clean and airy, the beach is cleaned daily they have pedalos for the kids- the snorkelling is fine- they do pizzas in the restaurant and it is close enough to town for you to be able to meander in with a pushchair and eat in one of the inexpensive joints in the village.
Mahahual was busy during the day but incredibly quiet at night when the cruise ship people leave so you get a good nights sleep- great with the kids....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshirepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The new staff and management are doing a great job. Extremely hospitable, great food and drink & a beautiful location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachstylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#8 of 12 in Mahahual
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel

Property: Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Mahahual-xcalac km 0.350, Mahahual 77940, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Quinto Sole)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excellent standards of service and comfort in the Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, right in front of the beach in the village of Mahahual. Located at the entrance to this paradise on the Costa Maya, Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel has 16 rooms luxuriously equipped with everything you need for the most pleasant of stays in Mexico. And as if that weren't enough, the hotel also has an exclusive beach club, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing