We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional Property”
other travelers have booked this property
Beauty and tranquility with the Caribbean Sea right in front of you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beauty and tranquility with the Caribbean Sea right in front of you!
Large open-plan living room with dining area, breakfast bar and kitchen. Spacious master bedroom with king-size bed facing the sea!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Beauty and tranquility with the Caribbean Sea right in front of you!
Large open-plan living room with dining area, breakfast bar and kitchen.
Spacious master bedroom with king-size bed facing the sea!
Bedroom #2 with two double beds and a settee that converts into a bed for a child
Spacious cabaña bedroom with marvellous views of the beach and sea.
All 3 bedrooms have spacious and beautifully designed bathrooms.
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar for 6
Step onto the balcony of the master bedroom and enjoy the view of the Caribbean
Breakfast on the large covered terrace, facing the sea
BBQ to grill the catch of the day
Siesta in a hammock in the shade of the palm trees, cooled by the sea breezes
Separate quiet corner for reading
Work area, facing the ocean, with high-speed wireless internet connection
Front door already gives you a taste of the villa's delightful design
Beautiful tropical vegetation all around and shaded parking bay for 2 vehicles
Sunlougers for relaxing on your own private beach.
Your private beach with calm sea for gentle swimming and access to snorkelling
Our resident caretakers who welcome you, keep the villa clean and help you enjoy your stay
Some of the tropical birds who frequent our property
Watch the sun rise over the Caribbean right in front of the villa!
Eat out at one of the many beach restaurants in nearby Mahahual
Excellent scuba diving all along the coast.
... fly-fishing for experts and beginners
... and deep sea fishing & jetskis available in Mahahual village.
Several impressive Mayan ruins to be visited a short distance away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mahahual, Costa Maya, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
caryn1966
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Property”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 (me, my husband and 2 college aged daughters) stayed at the villa for 9 days over the Christmas holiday. The house and rooms were far more spacious than depicted in the photos and every aspect of the house and property were beyond our expectations. By far, Casona Palms is the finest home along the El Uvero coast. The owner, Michael, is an excellent host and administers to his property like a 5 star hotel making sure that all of your wants and needs are met in a timely manor. The caretakers Jorge and Marisela were lovely and attentive but speak almost no English and our Spanish was only slightly better, but we were able to communicate via translation app on our phones. The house is very remote and the dirt access road can get a bit washed out. We were fortunate enough to have rented a Jeep Wrangler which I highly recommend as a mode of transportation. We enjoy travel off the typical tourist path - eating street food and spending time amongst the locals who were nothing short of helpful, friendly and gracious. Casona Palms is secluded beauty at it's best and Michael Owen is a top notch owner who takes great pride in his property. The only negative aspect of our stay was the ecological problems facing the Mahahual coast which is a worldwide issue and should be researched.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: The ecological issues
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDealMcki...
McKinney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location and Wonderful People”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at this lovely villa recently during June and July. The scenery is stunning, gorgeous beach, and quiet solitude. On the drive down, we had the unfortunate luck to get a flat tire, and the spare was in horrible condition. We managed to make it to the villa on the tire. The caretakers of the property, Alfonso and his wife Patricia are fantastic people. Alfonso was in contact with Hertz for us, because of the language barrier, and even drove us 2 hours one-way to help us purchase 2 new tires for the car. Patricia kept the home clean, and anything we needed, they were right there for us. We made 2 new friends on this trip! If you like a quiet location, don't mind a drive, then this is the place for you.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tonyandly...
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Truly the best!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This place is amazing! Cannot say enough. Beautiful, clean, secluded, well equipped, wonderful owners, helpful caretakers!!! Heaven on earth. The reviews are spot on and this home is a 5 star place. If you want a quiet, secluded, peaceful, romantic, adventure seeking place, this is it. The day trips are endless from here. Ruins, SianKan, fishing, snorkeling, Bacalar, Cenotes and list list goes on and on. Would not even consider any other house to rent. Simply perfect!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sabra_Fer...
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My partner (27) and I (26) just spent two weeks at the villa. We wanted to go away from what is typically called a rainy month of October in Belgium, and we couldn't find a better place. We enjoyed every second at this incredible house!
Peaceful, well-designed, exotic, very clean, accessible, relaxing: heaven on earth!

It has the best ingredients for a relaxing holiday and to forget about everything such as work, exams and stress. You feel like in the middle of nowhere, but you'd never leave this place.

First of all, a few words about the owners, without whom our holidays wouldn't have been so perfect. Michael was very communicative, before and during our stay. Before arrival, he sent us a very detailed guest book about the trip to the villa, where to stop, shop and eat. We followed his advice and we rented a car at Payless at Playa del Carmen for a very good price. As he did, we would advice buying most of the groceries on the road, in Tulum, as the shops in Mahahual are smaller. The road to the house is easy, very safe and well-indicated.

The caretakers, Mario and Angelina, are very helpful and caring. We were lucky to get some fresh fish (he caught us some fresh red snapper which we later cooked on the grill) and we also spent an amazing day fishing with Eduardo, a fishman who lives in the area and we got a barracuda: what an amazing experience! Plus, it was delicious! It felt nice to have them onsite, knowing they are around in case you need something.

As far as the villa is concerned, it has everything you need. Its design makes it more amazing and comfortable. The views over the sea are unimaginable. We enjoyed the breeze off the ocean that keeps the home cool. We woke up every morning with a colorful Caribbean sunrise, listening to the gentle ocean breeze and the rustle of the palms. It really felt like we were sleeping and floating on the middle of the sea: that is beyond compare!
The neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful.
We enjoyed its beachfront every single day. Mario and Angelina rake it every morning and keep it always lovely. We went snorkeling and the area is very safe. We used the kayaks a few times and we had wished we had done it more! There is a set of coral-heads in front of the villa with different fishes and coral in abundance: you won't believe it until you see it !
The beds and sofa are very comfortable and the villa is very well-equipped. It has a lot of space and it always feels fresh even by 35°C outside. We only were two but we could easily imagine ourselves with a group of friends, chilling at the villa. And this is probably what we'll do in the future. We particularly enjoyed the mosquito nets all around the villa: it is luxury in this area!

Mahahual downtown is worth to pay one (or more visits). We went diving twice with Catherine from gipsydivers (advised in the guest book), and we had an amazing time! Mahahual has plenty of restaurants and beach clubs, but it has kept its natural ambiance and nature.

The villa is perfect if you want to get lost and really relax. We had the most relaxing holidays and left Mexico with warm memories. Thank you Michael for having making it so perfect! We will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its beachfront, its utilities onsite, its design, its tranquility
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing