We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but too expensive”

Senor Frogs Costa Maya
Ranked #48 of 73 Restaurants in Mahahual
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food was good, the service was also good.
Just when we are relaxed enough to let our guard down and order without checking the menu first.
$64.00 for 2 beer and 6 fish tacos.
All you can do is laugh.

The next night we paid $28.00 for 9 fish tacos and 4 beer.

I think they are charging as much as they can knowing the cruise ship passengers will never be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    30
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Alcohol wristlets for $35 each!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

With the bracelet you get one way transport to he beach, use of beach loungers, non-motorized water toys, and unlimited non branded beer, wine and some mixed drinks. Beautiful beach setting. Food was way over priced and basically horrible.

Helpful?
1 Thank itsloulou2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Some people may be confusing the Senor Frogs in the Port which is now shut down and the Senor Frogs on the Malecon in Mahahual. We always go to Senor Frog's several times on each trip down. Mostly because the grandkids LOVE the HUGE pool. Senor Frogs is known for it's employees and their silly antics, it's part of what they are. However, in comparison to other frog's, the one in Mahahual is pretty low key. You can find cheaper restaurants in Mahahual but you're paying for that pool too... We've NEVER had a problem with the staff and service has ALWAYS been excellent. The beach in that area isn't as powder fine as others further down the Malecon, but still OK and we spend our time at the pool anyway. Music is loud and the "spring breakers" love it. They've opened up a big covered area so great for a rainy day. We'll go back again next year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MerriBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better for a younger crowd...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Only had one drink cause the service wasn't all that friendly. The place was packed so something must be good . Very loud. Not the place if you just want to have a conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Find someplace else.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We came here because we were tired and hungry, and it was mistake. The food is nothing special and is very expensive for the quality and quantity. The piped music is way too loud and obnoxious, and the decor full of sexual innuendos. One man came out of the restaurant office with a camera and props, took pictures without asking, then withdrew for a bit only to return trying to sell us prints for ridiculous prices. Another man came to the table doing tricks and offering to draw caricatures. Neither were solicited and both were way too persistent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Frogs Costa Maya also viewed

 

Been to Senor Frogs Costa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing