We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Papi

Pizza Papi
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mahahual, Mexico
1 review
“Real Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best Pizza in Mahahual!!! We have been here 5 times. Very courteous service and real good Pizza as it should be - of course they're Italians! Nothing comparable in whole Mahahual!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harald59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    88
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate here twice. Pizza is good but skip the lasagna. It's busy and noisy with one of the few TV's you can find in town to watch a game. The service needs some improvement. Not that they aren't working their rears off but the owner is the bartender, waiter and pizza delivery guy. So when he jumps on his bike to run another delivery you'll be waiting a little longer than you'd like.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MerriBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Delicious authentic thin crust Italian pizza. Very friendly service. We received a complementary appetizer. It was a nice surprise to find pizza this good in Mexico, and I'm a pizza lover from Chicago.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We ate here four times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Mahahual for three weeks by ourselves and our friends joined us later for a week. In that time we ate at Pizza Papi four times. The owners are always very hospitable, the house wine is very good and the pizza is excellent. Cooked in their homemade pizza oven, the crust is nice and crispy, and one pizza can usually feed two persons. When you're tired of Mexican, this is a nice alternative. We look forward to eating at Pizza Papi many more times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlovers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than just pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had an enjoyable time at Pizza Papi. We were among quite a mixture of nationalities: French, Italian, Mexican, American, etc. There was a special that night for a Tamarind Margarita, Bruschetta, another additional drink such as beer or wine, pizza and a meringue dessert. A great deal ! Their wood fired oven is fun to watch, TV was on, and people were lively and happy. The pizza crust is NOT deep pan pizza, but somewhat thin and also very tasty. We ordered another pizza to take home. You can also order lasagne, etc.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelanllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Papi also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Pizza Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing