We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the beach in Mahahual.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Caballo Blanco
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Best place to stay in Mahahual Mexico. Tina, owner/operator, was born in NYC and has lived in Mexico for a long time. Wonderful host. Hotel sits about 50 yards from waters edge. Massages right on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reenibohini, Owner at Hotel El Caballo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice things about our hotel and myself. It was a pleasure having you visit us here. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Knowing what Mahahaul has to offer, I wouldn't go anywhere else but El Caballo Blanco. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and spotless....not to mention the water pressure in the showers is nothing like you'll find anywhere else in Mexico!! Tina will make sure your stay is perfect in all ways and she has a wealth of knowledge about the area. The rooftop dipping pool is a nice way to spend a few hours or just relax on her well groomed beach. Don't even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tisha50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reenibohini, Owner at Hotel El Caballo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. I'm so happy you enjoyed you stay at our hotel. We strive to offer our clients the finest Mexico has to offer. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

There are many hotels in town that say they are on the beach but are not, this one is! From your 2nd or 3rd floor room you have a beautiful unobstructed view of the sea and can sit and watch the world go by for hours! The rooms are beautiful, clean and functional by American Standards ;-) The showers of power pumping out hot water, the linens are top notch, TV and cable and even a mini fridge for any leftovers you gather around town. The staff is available 24/7 and serves food and drink whenever you want it! The BBQ wings are the BOMB! Best BBQ in town!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reenibohini, Owner at Hotel El Caballo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

It's special clients like you and your husband that make my job a pleasure. We were sad to see you leave. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for taking the time to let us know our efforts are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Having been to mahahual on multiple occasions and having stayed in a few different hotels, caballo blanco was by far my favorite. It is the only hotel I will be staying at in the future. It has a gorgeous rooftop with a beautiful view and the owner was very nice and treated everyone who passed through like family!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reenibohini, Owner at Hotel El Caballo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay here with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. For future reference we now cater weddings here on our beach. We hope to see you and the whole gang soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived in Mahahual without any hotel reservations or plans, aside from trying the scuba diving which we had heard was excellent. El Caballo Blanco is located directly on the boardwalk and beach and has two rooms overlooking the boardwalk/ beach on the second floor of the hotel with large balconies and lounge chairs. We did not look at the other rooms in the hotel as we were totally happy with these rooms. The atmosphere at the hotel, much like Mahahual, is very laid back and relaxed. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming and they live either on the premises or very close by. There is always someone around any time day or night to assist you if you need it.

The area is very safe to walk around any time day or night and the hotel front door is kept locked at night. There is a rooftop area where guests can eat, drink or lounge around, with a small dipping pool and bar. Best of all, Tina also owns the attached pharmacy and is more than happy to spend the time to find out what you need and recommend your best options. As most people know fakes/ counterfeit products are an issue in Mexico, however you do not have to worry about that here.

The restaurant makes amazing food and uses the original recipes of the owner and chef. The quality of food is excellent and the seafood is fresh. The waiter is very good and ensures everyone is happy. If there is anything you want they will get it. Since it was quiet season we had the opportunity to sit around for hours with everyone and just enjoy their company.

If you are looking for a small town where you get a true flavour of Mexico, with excellent scuba diving, fishing and beaches then Mahahual is definitely for you. It makes a vacation when you stay at a small comfortable and clean hotel where there are no hidden costs or surprises.

It says it all when a hotel or other business will go down the street to their competitor to get you what you want rather than sell you something that is just good enough (such as food, drinks and services) and when they show allegiance with the companies that provide you with the best service and are honest rather than the ones which pay them a commission.

A special thanks to George (the waiter) for inviting me to the old part of town to go out with him and his friends for billiards and hanging out. It was like I knew everyone for years. It was great to see the other side of town also. We were only there for three days but it was kind of sad when we had to leave. It was like leaving old friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing on the Boardwalk/Beach if any are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina S, Owner at Hotel El Caballo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you so much for the beautiful review you posted for us. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. I look forward to seeing you all again soon. To know that your efforts are appreciated is what we strive for. To have the opportunity to serve you and your friends was a pleasure. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now & each time is better than the last!! The grounds are beautifully kept and the views are incomparable! The service is excellent & the workers are very friendly! The neighborhood is nice to walk around and see the sights as well! Local restaurants and photo opportunities are abundant! I will be back next summer!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been in Mahahual many times but on this trip I have eaten at El Caballo Blanco a number of times. The food is excellent, the service is great and the conversation is lively! Wonderful clean beach, attentive staff and they have Pepsi!!!

Highly recommended over many restaurants here!

Room Tip: Always look for fire extinguishers, clean sheets and someone who speaks english!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcrowe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.1 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Caballo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Caballo Blanco

Address: Ave Mahahual, Manzana 12 lote 1 | Entre Martillo y Coronado, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range: $74 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite includes 2 queen size beds, flat screen tv, ski, refrigerator, wifi, private Italian tiled bathroom with shower. Beach front suites also include coffee maker , safe and private balcony or private terrace with lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Caballo Blanco Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing