We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worthy”
other travelers have booked this property
Casa Que Canta as seen from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Que Canta as seen from the beach
Open living with 'Tikal' stone floors througout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Casa Que Canta as seen from the beach
Open living with 'Tikal' stone floors througout
One of the guest bathrooms - fully tiled - spacious
Small roof top plunge pool.Really nice on a hot day.
Upper terrace - over looks ocean - great place to read a book
View of beach from the villa
Guest bedroom with hand made hardwood furntiture througout
Beach in front of villa
Kitchen with stone floor and Verde Tikal counters
Ground level courtyard and garden area
Guided fishing available on site - Carlos has never missed in having guests catch fish.
Guests on the beach - they plan on coming back again next year.
Living room in one of the villa units
Sunset as seen from Master bedrooms
Living room with stone inlaid floor - relax - watch TV - read a book - listen to the waves.
Courtyard area between the villas- turtles in the fountain - kids love them.
Boat palapa at rear of property for fishing charters
Master bedroom
Beach Barbeque.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mahahual, Costa Maya, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Debi S
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
5
people found this review helpful

the owner, Joe is a nice enuf guy but there was some very serious issues happening during our stay at this rental home.
1. Both water heaters blew before we arrived and there was no hot water for 2 days on the one side and 3 days on the other side.
2. The pots, pans, dishes and utensils were well used, battered, melted, rusted and generally of little use. I am sure they are dollar store brands as well as they were extremely flimsy. The non stick on the frying pans has very little non stick left. Hazard to your health. There were cobwebs and greasy film on the dishes when we arrived and everything needed a cleaning before we could use it.
3. We never had the place to ourselves. Joe stayed at the home the whole time we were there, using the facilities, slept on the couch at least once, helped himself to the ice, used his computer etc. He said he had a palapa in the back but it must not have any electricity, nor washrooms, etc.
4. He brought his friends thru the home, while we were there showing the units to them.
5. He continually came in behind us and turned the fans off while were there. My grandson was sleeping on the couch and he came in and turn them off even while he lay there sleeping. I had turned the fans on one morningthen turned the kettle on for coffee, left the room to get my phone and when I returned there was Joe in the fridge and had turned the fans off, again!
5. There were no drapes on the master suite patio doors. It was impossible to take a nap during the day, we were woken up in the middle of night several times during the first few days of arrival as there were several thunder/lightening storms coming thru. There was also the constant feeling of being exposed and therefore it was not a comfortable time in the rooms.
6. I had some concerns about the seagrass after hearing about it in the news, Joe assured us that it was no longer a concern and had been taken care of,,,,not!
It was impossible to keep up with it and to make it worse there was tons of garbage mixed in with it. Emmanuel cleaned it up most mornings but it soon piled up again.
We were a party of 10 adults, none of us would return and none of us would recommend staying here.
Sandra & Emmanuel are wonderful caretakers and were given an impossible job to keep up the place by themselves.

Date of stay: November 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2015
For five years we have received nothing but excellent reviews from guests. During their stay none of the above was brought up by anyone - in point of fact when I asked how things were going those I spoke to said that other than a lot of rain they were very happy. The water heaters did go bad, however, we replaced both with new ones immediately the following day. We had almost constant storms that week with very large waves which of course brings in trash to any beach. We cleaned it constantly and when the storms let up the beaches were fine. I not only own but manage the villa and given the water heater problem and many questions from many in the group about things to do and where to eat I made my self available. I was often invited in to chat or offered a beer from members of the group. All the above complaints were made "after" they left giving me no chance to address them and were accompanied by a demand for a 50% refund of the rental. I provided a 16% refund due to the water heater problem and as a good faith effort to address the concerns that were all made by one member of the group that did not seem to represent the feelings of all that stayed. Look at my other reviews from multiple families over the years. If you rent long enough it is not possible to please everyone. It is interesting the review makes no mention of my providing a large refund based on complaints made after their departure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekkingd...
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthy”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

beautiful place, nice caretaker. Just a little bit too far from Cancun, wonderful place if you want to experience really Mexico.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevyj1200...
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best trip ever”
Reviewed December 31, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful time at the Casa Que Canta! You have the greatest staff!!!!! I can’t say enough about them. They went above and beyond to make our trip one of the best we have ever had! Carlos took the fellows out fishing, they caught 6 barracuda which we ate. They were delicious. The guys had a ball out there, even though it poured rain for the last hour they were out, they still appreciated the time they had. Your home is beautiful, the grounds are spectacular and everything was just as it looked in the website we booked our trip on.
Sandra and Manuel’s children were home for Xmas vacation which was wonderful because we had children as well and they all got together and had so much fun, even the language barrier didn’t deter from the fun they had, from playing soccer, to water fights to just playing in the water and on the beach. It was especially great because our little 4 year old had more fun than he would have had, if it weren’t for the children being there. Christmas Eve on the beach was something that we will never forget! Singing Christmas carols, some in Spanish and most in English! I can’t say enough about this trip.

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Long drive from Cancun
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake Minnesota
Reviewed September 19, 2011 for a stay in April 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Dakota
Reviewed July 20, 2010 for a stay in March 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2010
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mymy73
Longueuil, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011 for a stay in July 2010
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.