We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayan Ruins”

The Native Choice Tours
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Maya Shore Excursions for guests from all cruise lines.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mayan Ruins”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The BEST tour ever! Our guide Ivan was very friendly and knew everything about the Ruins. He was born there so took us a little further into the Ruins. A very leisure relaxing tour!Thanks so much Ivan and Pedro for a wonderful tour!

WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TOUR TO ANYONE!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gramprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,720
    111
    23
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kohunlich Tour”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I happened to be the only ones booked for this interesting tour, and they were ready to go as soon as we arrived, before scheduled departure. Our informative guide, Erick, and skillful driver, Raul, provided an excellent experience. For a bit less than we would have paid for a trip to Kohunlich off our cruise ship, we had more comfortable transportation and individual attention. On the way to the ruins, Erick explained things about the area, the Mayans, and so on. What he told us often brought forth additional questions that he seemed pleased to answer. We were a little pressed for time, did not see the entire area, and had only 15 minutes at the end of the guided portion to wander about. I can understand that they want to take you back with a little time to spare, in case there were any difficulties on the return trip, and our ship had a mid-afternoon departure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Great Excursion”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our tour guide David was exceptionally knowledgeable, helpful, and professional. At Native Choice you get guides with degrees in history and art history, that make you feel smart even when asking the typical tourist questions they must hear every day! Very interesting, engaging, and adventurous tour! What a treat, to find quiet and serenity on a tour when traveling by cruise ship.
Thank you, David for your excellent work and going the extra mile to charge our phone card!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IreneGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great decision!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We chose the excursion to the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins through Orbitz because it offered the best price compared to our cruise's excursion. Little did we know we made the best choice possible! The Native Choice office was easy to find even though we were wary of navigating the streets of Costa Maya outside the port. Once we got there and checked in, we were offered water while we waited for everyone to arrive. We thought we would be in a large group, but there were only 2 other couples with us and we rode in a nice air conditioned van. Our guide, Erick, was very knowledgable about the area and the ruins. We left with a lot more information than we expected! Other (much larger!) groups were at the site, but we got the best experience because of our intimate group. After leaving the ruins, we traveled to Bacalar Lagoon and had a delicious lunch and a great time on the grounds. Erick, thank you so much for an amazing day!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMoore2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Ga
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb. Far better choice than the cruise offered.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. There were only 9 of us on the tour so we felt as though we had the places to ourselves. Able to climb the ruins rather than view from afar. Excellent. Plus I didn't see a whole lot else to do in Costa Maya.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ghinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Native Choice Tours also viewed

 

Been to The Native Choice Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing