We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remote Ruins” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Native Choice Tours

The Native Choice Tours
Ranked #1 of 26 Tours in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Maya Shore Excursions for guests from all cruise lines.
South Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Remote Ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have been to 5-6 other ruins - all easy drives from Playa Del Carmen, Cancun etc. These were near the border with Belize - first stop 2.5 hours away. Very nice Bus, good Tour Guide. 8 hour tour was worth it - also being last 12 people back on Ship was different. $100 each with lunch - most other events at Costa Maya are 'lay on beach' or 'bargains on Diamond Shopping'.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Searover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,597
    105
    23
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We did this tour as a part of the shore excursions on the DCL Fantasy. Since there weren't very many options for activities at Costa Maya, I would recommend this tour, however, it was very rushed. Be prepared for an hour drive there and back! The tour guides were great, and the grounds are clean, however the paths are a bit bumpy. We were able to push our stroller through this area, however, there were some spots that were difficult.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemz1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chacchoben, Manager at The Native Choice Tours, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Unfortunately DCL Fantasy stays in port for only 4.5 hours, this limits the time available for activities. All tours, including the ones sponsored by the cruise line, have to be completed before boarding time.

We always do our best to make the tours as pleasant as possible for our guests but, they must be aware it is a ruins site in the middle of the jungle and that trails could be a little bumpy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanClemente, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best way to tour sites in Costa Maya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I were travelling on Regent which included a trip to Chacchoben in our fare. My husband has some mobility issues and I was afraid he would have trouble keeping up with a large group of people. I decided to book a private tour with Native Choice. We actually had 2 guides on the trip, Kasi and Joel both of whom were very knowledgeable and friendly. It was pouring rain when we arrived, they actually delayed letting us off the ship until the rain subsided some. We called Native Choice and they sent Joel to meet us as close to the ship as possible. He was there waiting for us with a taxi to take us to their offices which was only a few blocks(Native Choice paid for the taxi). Once we got to their offices it was a very short period of time before we were on our way to Chacchoben. Kasi and Joel both grew up in the area and were extremely knowledgeable about the area and its history. They even brought a wheelchair along for my husbands use to make the tour easier for him. We arrived at Chacchoben before any of the tour buses and were able to see the site without hundreds of other people walking around also, it was a very peaceful experience. Kasi and Joel allowed us to set our own pace and see as much or little as we wanted of the ruins. Once my husband tired, Kasi returned to the main area with him and I continued on the tour with Joel. Totally enjoyable day and we felt the price was very reasonable for what we got.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KadySanClemente_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will never book with them again!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked an excursion with Native Choice tours in Cozumel to see the Tulum ruins. Our cruise ship arrived in Cozumel and we took a cab to the appointed meeting location. Upon our arrival there we were told that our excursion was cancelled due to traffic and they had not been running that tour since the previous Friday (which was before we even left home) due to traffic concerns. I asked why we were not informed of this so we could have made other excursion plans and was told that it was up to the company. We were offered a city tour which we declined. The ship had run the exact same tour and had no traffic issues (in fact they returned 3 hours before the sailing time). This treatment of us was inexcusable! All they wanted was our money. The result was that they ruined our day in Cozumel. Seeing Tulum was to have been the highlight of our entire cruise. Extremely unprofessional.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chacchoben, Manager at The Native Choice Tours, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Review posted in the wrong place, The Native Choice Costa Maya doesn't do tours to Tulum from Cozumel. As of this date The Native Choice operates in Costa Maya only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We did this tour as part of the shore excursions on the DCL Fantasy, it was probably the best option considering the port at Costa Maya is still in the process of rebuilding, from the hurricane(s). Once this port is fully rebuilt, this stop will be a beautiful one.

As for the Mayan ruins, it felt a bit rushed, that's probably in part to the fact the DCL did start disembarking till almost noon, then you have an hour drive to the site, look around, and an hour drive back to be all aboard for 5pm.

The site itself is excellent, and my hope is and suggestion would be to limit the number tour groups in and on the grounds, to help preserve this gift that was left behind. The tour group we were in was close to 20-30 ppl, I would limit the groups to 12 making it easier for the guides. And limit the number of groups on the grounds, However those are simply my thoughts.

Guides are really good and knowledgable, grounds are as well kept and maintained it is bumpy and difficult to push (strollers,buggies,prams,carts) around on, so you might look at something else if your kids aren't up for the hike, or if your traveling with older folks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Native Choice Tours also viewed

 
Chacchoben, Quintana Roo
 

Been to The Native Choice Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing