We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour Guide Made the Day!”

The Native Choice Tours
Ranked #1 of 26 Tours in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Maya Shore Excursions for guests from all cruise lines.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tour Guide Made the Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked the Chacchoben Extreme. We had to leave the port to meet our group, but it was a very short walk. A small air conditioned van, water, and a very knowledgeable guide made the hour drive very enjoyable. The ruins were explained to us in detail by our guide (David). He was extremely knowledgeable and came across as a quality person. His passion for his country and his positive attitude was very much appreciated. Once we left the ruins we then headed to Bacalar Lagoon. Had an awesome lunch provided on the proprierty of the resort and then kayaked and lounged out for a couple of hours. Not a great swimming area (too many rocks), but a very pristine area. Our guide David was awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,677
    108
    23
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Chacchoben and Lunch Private Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great communication from Ivan before we arrived and great tour once we were there. Erique picked us up from the port and drove us about an hour to the ruins. He brought pictures and diagrams of the site to help explain what we were seeing. He was very passionate about his culture and explained things very well. We also had the chance to visit with an actual family and have lunch that they prepared. It was delicious and a wonderful learning experience for my children. Would definitely recommend this company and this tour. We had an awesome time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5TravelingKings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
1 review
“Best Excursion of our cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We took this excursion with four generations of my family, from my 4 year old grandchildren to my almost 80 year old parents. Everyone absolutely loved the entire excursion! The ruins were so interesting, thanks to the great tour guides. The lunch with the Mayan family was phenomenal!! The food was delicious. The Mayan ladies were so warm and welcoming. Andrea, our guide, gave us a detailed explanation of the Mayan traditions and meal preparations. We even got to try to make our own tortillas!. By the time we had to leave, we felt that we were leaving dear friends! If I get a chance to go back to Costa Maya, I would definitely use Native Choice for my excursion. Thank you for a great day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great guides and wonderful excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We actually had a few different guides for this experience but they were all great! We began our tour with a guide named David and our driver Pedro who told us all about the area and culture on the way to the ruins. Once at the ruins we stopped to shop and began exploring the ruins with another guide Ivan who told us all about the ruins and allowed us to explore and take pictures. We were Even able to climb the Mayan pyramids. We then left the ruins with Kasi, our final guide who took us to a beautiful relaxing lagoon for lunch (amazing fajitas) and an open bar, as well as kayaking, lounging, and just enjoying the beautiful scenery. Kasi suggested we get fresh pineapple which was being sold on the side of the road with lime and habanero chili powder. The pineapple was very fresh and a refreshing afternoon treat. This tour was much better than the one offered by our cruise line and much cheaper. We will definitely book a tour with theNative choice again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaT803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Choose Native Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked the Chacchoben Ruins and Mayan Village tour. There we ten of us plus our guide Andrea and our driver. Air conditioned van, cold water and smooth paved roads were a great beginning. Andrea was a walking encyclopedia about more than just the Ruins. The area, the history, the plants, the animals the people...she knew it all. Andrea spoke 5 languages and had a smile that lit up the whole van. I felt safe and well looked after. We stopped on route to the Chacchoben Ruins to sample fresh pineapple juice and pineapple grown and sold by locals. Absolutlely delicious! The covered greeting area and shops were welcoming. The washroom was clean. The walk to the ruins was easy and relaxed. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing the story of the Mayan's of the past and meeting the Mayan's of the present.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonia_Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Native Choice Tours also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to The Native Choice Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing