We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the place to hang out in Mahahual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
usa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“the place to hang out in Mahahual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

great beach

great service

cold beer and wine

great food

we spent our time here on a cruise stop and glad we did. although we didnt have a reservation, Steve worked us in. he a great source of information. if your ship stops in Costa Maya, you need to visit the Tropicante

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    45
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent last Friday at Tropicante. Steve was great. He had our loungers ready when we arrived off our ship. We were in a group of eight. We all ate lunch and everyone had drinks. Prices were VERY affordable and the food is wonderful. The water is beautiful. Steve was very accommodating, checking several times to see if we had any questions or needed anything. His staff is the same. I definitely recommend Tropicante. Also, there were three ships in port the day we were there, but Tropicante was not overcrowded. I would make reservations to be sure you have a spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseMarch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing day Mahahual/”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent the day at the Tropicante while in port on a cruise. It was a short day as we had to be back on the ship by 2:00. The taxi ride is maybe 10 minutes to the Malecon. This is an open air restaurant and beach club on a gorgeous beach. We had the best ceviche and delicious margaritas. The do not charge for the beach chairs or umbrellas, but trust that you will order something from the restaurant or bar during your stay. I had a massage right on the beach for 20 bucks for an HOUR. It was amazing and professionally done. The town is lovely and safe, the beach is beautiful, and it is close enough to the port for a short day. We hope to visit again some day. It was the most relaxing and inexpensive day of our cruise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rombro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a wonderful visit at Tropicante. Not only does it have a restaurant, the beach is fantastic. Food is great! We ordered a lot! There was 25 of us and we all had a very good meal and drinks! Great place to go!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best stop on the cruise!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

In a word, go! If you're trying to decide what to do in Costa Maya, book loungers with Steve and you're assured of a perfect Caribbean day. Honestly, the best "beach day" we've ever had on any cruise - and the least expensive! We followed Steve's easy instructions and in a very short time we were being led to two loungers close to the gorgeous turquoise ocean's edge. An umbrella was set up for us as well as a small table. There were a few beach vendors but they just moved on when we said no thanks. Steve made the rounds a couple of times. We enjoyed chatting with him for quite a while - just a genuine, down-to-earth, great guy. Food and drinks were fantastic - what a huge menu! Thanks to everyone on TA who recommended this place!! We'll go back to Steve's any time we find ourselves in Costa Maya.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing