We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the hype!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
Glenmont, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the hype!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were there in Jan 2013 while on a cruise. Steve (owner) and staff were fantastic. Felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. Food and drink were great and fairly priced. Beach was beautiful. WIFI and phone calls free. When you go you have to try his tequila! Short trip from cruise port. Great email communications. Can not wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    45
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never Going to Forget Tropicante!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went to Costa Maya as a cruise stop and planned to go to Tropicante after reading all the rave reviews. At the port, find yourself a LOCAL cab outside the port. If you follow the signs for taxi, it will bring you to the cruise sponsored shuttles. Just keep walking past those, past the guard shack, and you will begin to see yellow cabs. It was only $2 per person to get to Mahahual. I had emailed Steve, the owner, a few weeks before to make sure that had we lounge chairs set aside. The staff set us up in our spot promptly and brought over menus. They asked if we wanted anything but didn't pressure us into getting something right away. We eventually had some burritos for lunch (which were awesome!) and of course a bucket of beer.The town itself was so nice! Shops, restaurants, and hotels all on a paved "boardwalk". Even the shop keepers didn't hassle you. Tropicante will always hold a special place in my heart since that is where I recently got engaged :) (on the little dock going into the water right on the beach). They even had a phone inside to make free calls to the US. The weather was crappy but it was perfect! Thanks for such an amazing proposal, Tropicante!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleRedCorvette76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
1 review
“2 weeks off the grid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just returned from two weeks in Mahahual, if your looking for friendly people great food ( Tropicante) and a taste of real mexico with out the hussle and bussle, The Tropicante Great feel, Great staff, Great food, The owners and staff make you feel like very welcomed, best sipping tequila in town:-) Will be returning as soon as I can .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service and cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I planned a trip down to this area to stay at a beach house, Casa Porto Vino! Great place.. In my research I discovered Steve , I instantly had a friend in town. Steve went out of his way to help us and delivered even more than promised. Food and drinks at Steve's were Awesome. Try the chicken Quesadillas ! And Margaritas too, best we had on our visit. Be sure to get a massage on the beach, great deal and great massage. Thanks for everything Maggie and Steve !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcr-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do it yourself excursion...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you are in Costa Maya on a cruise stop, this is the perfect stop. Very short and cheap taxi ride over to the town ($2 to $3 per person). Steve is the owner and we reserved loungers and chairs for free before we got there through email. His staff was ready for me as soon we stepped out of the taxi - they had us on a list and guided us to their beach front (which seems they try to do because other bars nearby try to steal their customers by incorrectly guiding them to a different bar when they hear 'Tropicante').

We were on loungers in seconds in front of the bluest, calmest waters. Corono commercial material. Steve is very friendly and comes by and talks to you and his guys offer superb service...anything you need. Beers are a very reasonable $3. We got nachos/guacamole and quesadillas and everything was very good - they do have an extensive menu which you can see on the website. We had many drinks and the food and I believe our tab was $36 before tip.

We stayed as long as we could. The whole town is interesting. I will say the only bad thing is that there are locals constantly walking by while you are sunning yourself asking you to buy their wares which gets old, but they got to make a living to I suppose. Would and will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmodares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing