We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
Ararat, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I heard about Tropicante on Cruise Critic and sent an email to make reservations in advance. Owner Steve, responded quickly confirming our reservation, and gave excellent directions to get there from the port. As soon as we got out of the taxi after a 5 minute ride, one of Steve's staff members was there at the taxi stand waiting for us and walked us to the Tropicante. Once there, Steve introduced himself and his staff to us. They were absolutely wonderful. My kids casually mentioned that they wanted to kayak around, and within minutes, a staff member had two kayaks for unlimited use for $20 total. The Corona's were very cold and plentiful and the food was excellent. We had 7 beach front loungers waiting for us, along with umbrellas and tables. Can't say enough great things about this place. Our only regret was the short port day as we would have loved to have stayed there all day. When Costa Maya is on our cruise itinerary in the future, you better believe I'll be contacting Steve in advance so we can spend our time at Tropicante. Best value ever - our bill was less than $100 for 4 adults and 3 children. We thought they had made a mistake with the total. Oh, Steve has his own brand of tequila and it is good and smooth! Lot's of activities to do - if you can think it, Steve's staff (special shout-outs to Chui and Cain!!!) will make it happen!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rubberband1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    45
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great day, wish we were here longer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great day at Tropicante! The only downfall was that we arrived by cruise ship & it left Costa Maya at 2pm. Not enough time to thoroughly enjoy ourselves.
Communication with Steve was great, very prompt responses. Follow his directions & you will be guided directly to the taxi stand where you can travel to Tropicante for $2pp. Wouldn't recommend walking as it's a bit of a walk.
We had front row seats to the shoreline & it was paradise. The water was crystal clear & I had no qualms about my 4yr old son splashing by himself since it's a gradual incline. I had an hour massage, which was great, and we also ordered drinks & lunch.
Only bad thing is that there are vendors constantly coming by but they will leave if you tell them no. Not so bad since I actually bought a couple of souvenirs.
Would definitely return if we're in the area again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Latinhunny33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved Tropicante. Such a great value!!! We all had drinks, food and my husband got a one hour massage and our tab upon leaving was $66!!!!! This place makes Costa Maya worth the stop on the cruise for us! Thanks Steve!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Location fantastic beah front, great servce and great owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service on the beach was a real Corona moment if I hadn't pinched myself I thought I was n the commercial. The meal we had on several occasions was delicious,i fact the waited to deliver to our beach spot untl we had come out of the water, now that's great service!

You have to stop by and say Hi to Steve, Maggie, George and I you need a book or a great story ask for Alan and Nancy. Nancy runs the book exchange in the Tropicante talk about looking after your needs they have it!

See you all real soon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart_M241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun Day in Port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

There really is no Costa Maya. That is just the cruise line's made up port. However, we LOVE the small town just outside of the port area. The town of Majahual is a wonderful slice of small beach town Mexico. We had a lovely day on the beach at the Tropicante. I contacted Steve, the owner several months ago and had him reserve a few lounge chairs on the beach for us. They were ready and waiting when we got there. We lounged around, enjoyed the water and relaxed all morning. I wish our ship had been in port for longer that day so that we didn't have to rush back but we had to be back on the ship by 1:30. Anyhow, Steve arranged for somebody to come and braid both of my daughters' hair for a very reasonable price. We also ordered fajitas and chicken nachos along with some drinks. Everything was delicious! We had a great day and next time our ship is in the area, we will definitely be heading back to the Tropicante!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dianemom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing