We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value for money and helpful staff”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I visited Majahual with my girlfriend in November and it was really nice and quiet with no cruises docking those days.

The room was good value for money, clean and spacious. the only small thing was that their TV's are so small you can't see anything from the beds, not that we care about it.

The hotel is very close to the beach but you have to consume in rather poor and overpriced restaurants located along the "Malecon" If you want to avoid being harassed by people trying to get you inside their restos, you definitely can use Matan Kaan's beach club located a 10-minute walk away at their other hotel Quinto sole, where the restaurant is really good and the area is more quiet and private

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jorge,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel in Mahahual. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your days with us, and specially the wonderful service and food of the Quinto Sole's Restaurant and Beach Club.
We look forward to welcome you again very soon and have a great 2014!

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    113
    30
    10
    10
See reviews for
107
95
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel looks like it was designed in the 70's by flower children. It has a funky layout and doesn't flow directly from room to room. Kind of a pain to navigate when you have rooms on different levels/sections. All-in-all the rooms where comfortable and clean. We had AC in all three of our rooms. The hotel management was recently taken over by a management company from Spain and they didn't quite have the restaurant up to par. There were a dozen bottles of alcohol on the shelf but we were told it was old and could not be served. New liquor had not been purchased in the 2 weeks the restaurant had been open. Odd and a little of a letdown, however they did have about 4 cold beers. Thats right, 4. The others were warm because the beer cooler wasn't working... would I stay again? Yes but lets hope they have the restaurant stocked.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor, one of the fountains is now a fish pond and a mosquito breeding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfl2bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Matan Ka'an Hotel.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services. The rooms are all different, as you could appreciate, and all of them are regarding the flowers and animals of Yucatán. The hotel is specially decorated by its owner.
We are investigating what are you saying about the restaurant and we are very sorry for your inconvenience.
Thanks again for your words and we look forward to welcome you again with a perfect service in the hotel and restaurant, of course.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

a group of us stayed at this lovely hotel to celebrate a friend's birthday...the hotel staff was most helpful and made our stay enjoyable...even though it was only 1 night we all liked the hotel ammenities..Great thank you to all the staff!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Graham V,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel in Mahahual :). We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and our staff made your feel like at home!

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel during your next visit to the Riviera Maya :)

Best regards,

Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is a very comfortable place in a beach very lovely . There is a access on the beach for the guests of the hotel . The people will be very kind with you . the bathroom are clear there are air conditional and ventilator . I don"t speak over the food which is very delicious , the chef is a Italian guy who wakes buffet so delicious !
I recommend totally this hotel :) !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Hugue R,

Thank you a lot for your review of your stay at Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel in Mahahual. We are delighted to know you enjoy the facilities of the hotel, the beautiful beach and of course, the special dishes of our Chef :).. Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you at our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is centrally located with access to its club on the beach. Staff is very hospitable and well versed in a variety of languages. Milo, the receptionist, will welcome you also in Italian and give you excellent advice where to eat and places to visit. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Mattress though was a little on the wiry side....Milo suggested that it was comfy for shiatsu style sleeping... So just make sure the bed is comfortable. The place is well worth visiting!

Room Tip: Mattress was of low quality and wiry, but room was nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Stann Creek, Belize
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We (a family of 5) stayed here two nights. Hotel was nice and although we weren't on the beach we were close enough. My only complaint is that we didn't have much hot water for showers. Water stayed warm for literally a couple of minutes then went cold. After the first person showered, the rest of us had to take cold showers on what was a rainy, cold weekend. Other than that the hotel was fine. The town was dead because it wasn't a cruise ship day. Most restaurants & shops were closed so that was disappointing, but no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I went there for a diving experience, the hotel was expensive, noisy (the pool is in the middle of all the rooms) and the breakfast service was poor.

Also, the personnel seemed no to care about the the clients there...

Seems we will try another one the next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel

Property: Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Address: Calle Huachinango S/N Esquina Coronado | Colonia Centro, Mahahual, Mexico (Formerly Ko’ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#5 Family Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Mayan language Matan Ka`an means "gift from the sky" and for all of us that we have worked with sacrifice and passion, it was really true. Matan Ka`an Hotel is located in the heart of Mahahual, a small fisherman village which can be a perfect start point to visit the entire surrounding area, rich of unspoiled natural beauties as the bank of Chinchorro, the only Mexican Caribbean atoll, or the biosphere of Sian Ka'an. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox Matan Ka'An Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing