We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food”
Review of Luna de Plata

Luna de Plata
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Luna de Plata · Restaurant, where you can drink a cappuccino looking at the caribbean sea... or take a walk under the moon... or to have dinner at the beach with your friends and a bottle of delicious wine. All of this, and more, is Luna de Plata the most important restaurant in Costa Maya.
Level Contributor
237 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The food is fabulous here. If you like Italian food, you must put this on your list to stop. Located just south of Mahahual, the road is difficult to drive on due to the potholes but worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    57
    19
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Grouper ravioli - YUM”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We returned to this restaurant for a second time. Was the grouper ravioli really as good as we remembered it from our prior visit? It was indeed! A delightful white sauce with tender pieces of grouper fish. Small serving for 150 pesos, so not sure if it is a great value, but then again the area is quite remote and goods have to be brought in.

We'll always stop in for the ravioli when we are in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Can_we_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice Italian restaurant right on the edge of Mahahual. Good pasta and pizza and child friendly service

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank doctor1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch @ Luna de Plata”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

On a referral from a friend in Mahajual we went to the Luna de Plata for a quick lunch, specifically for the pizza. After 4 days of Mexican food, a little Italian was a very nice break. The outdoor dining area was very comfortable for both eating and enjoying the view of the ocean immediately across the street. The service was very good, the pizza excellent. The only problem we had was that they were having come communication issues with their VISA credit card system so cash was the only way to pay. Not a big deal as communication issues in the region are not that uncommon. Overall, a very good lunch spot and we'd definately go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Luna de Plata is known for their home made pastas. Try the ravioli or the tagliatelle and you can't go wrong!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jfurberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna de Plata also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Luna de Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing