We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Stay, Play, and Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada de los 40 Canones
Ranked #2 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at La Posada de los 40 Canones several times, and each time we are 100% satisfied, only to return to find that the next stay is even better. We have stayed in the hotel rooms and in a few of the condos/apartments. They are very comfortable and extremely clean and maintained. Finding English speaking staff is no problem, and everyone goes the extra mile to meet our needs...and then some. The food is fabulous, the drinks never ending, and the atmosphere laid back and relaxing. The beach and gentle surf is viewed from most of the rooms and condos and is only a few yards from the restaurant. If you like fun and adventure you'll find it; paddle boards, jet skis, kayaks, skate boards, long boards and bikes are also available for rent. We can't wait to go back and discover what new amenities they might add next year. If you are looking for a true taste of Costa Maya with upscale lodging, food and amenities, La Posada de los 40 Canones is the place to be. Just PERFECT!

Room Tip: If you like space and want to cook, book a condo or apartment.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for La Posada de los 40 Canones
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 424 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

perfect combination of friendly and efficent service with relaxing and funny atmosphere. Thanks Mimmo, the friendly owner that was always helpful and taking care about our stay.
The restaurant PEZ CUADRO is excellent too. Thanks Flor for the fantastic crab and tartare prepared with a lot of love
Hope to be back soon

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mawimbi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We traveled to Mahahual for the first time in October and arrived with no reservation, although I had a list of hotels I wanted to check out. We found Forty Cannons first and once I saw it I didn't even want to bother looking around anymore. The place is lovely and the staff was very warm and helpful. We went with a room with an oceanview and a king bed. The beds are COMFORTABLE here, which is hard to find sometimes in Mexico. All rooms have A/C. They had covered parking, which was nice because it was raining when we got there. We checked in and ate at the restaurant on-site because we were starving after our drive. The restaurant is El Pez Cuadro and they have a great beach club too. The food was excellent and compared to Akumal and Tulum ... it was cheap! We think Mahahual is our new home away from home. We can't wait to come back. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It's Mahahual - get the ocean view room. We liked #23.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at 40 Canones for 6 nights and we enjoyed staying there every minute. The beach is beautiful, rooms are clean and have everything you need. Everyone is friendly and welcoming, they make you feel at home. This is defiantly the best place to stay in Mahahual.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for a night Oct. 14th 2012. We opted for the cheapest room in a quiet area. The room wasn't fancy and the layout was a little strange. the beach in front of the hotel was beautiful. The staff extremely friendly! The food at the resturant was ok. Overall it was a nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we were put in one of the condos attached to the hotel, and it was great.
comfortable living room with a balcony facing the sea, all amenities like satellite TV, wi-fi, and air con. more than we were expecting!! nice bedroom with king size bed. great restaurant and beach available to us. a beautiful environment, lots to do.....
staff were very courteous and helpful.
a happy place to stay!! try Santos' Margaritas!!

Room Tip: try the one-bedroom condos on the second floor...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryv824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel and area is the most amazing place! Its virtually untouched expect for the times when the cruise ships come in. Otherwise, its a gorgeous ghost town. The beach was fantastic with lots of things to do if you wanted some activities, other than enjoying a swim or snorkel in the clear warm water or lounging on the beach beds stationed all over. Unfortunately, Mahahual had been hit by a hurricane 2 weeks before our arrival. Well, unfortuate for them but fabulous for us. The cruise ships were diverted, the hotel was virtually empty and it was one of the most relaxing and beautiful places that I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. Even the restaurant, Pezquadro and bar were awesome. Staff was amazing, rooms were beautiful and more than clean and the people in general in the area were so nice. We even went fishing on the pier with the locals and had a blast.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms. One on the back of the hotel, not much of a view but a great room w...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.1 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de los 40 Canones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de los 40 Canones

Address: Malecon, Mahahual, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: $75 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posada de los 40 Canones 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Posada de los 40 Canones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada De Los 40 Canones Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing