We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Coba
from $129.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $81.00
More Info
from $94.16
More Info
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
92
21
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
21
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mayan ball game mayan culture zip line cultural tour dinner show cenote swim riding bicycles mayans live extreme tour clean water tortillas buffet style great guide take pictures alfredo playa del carmen temple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an awesome historical site.
I highly recommend it, though I have heard that most of the written history here is about 60% incorrect.
Mainly as a tourist:
Get a guided bus tour here, the tours lead by archeologists are best.
I took a tour out of Mexico City by Amigo Tour which I highly recommend. It included the bus ride from Mexico City and the tour at the temple of sun.

As of August 2019, the temple of the sun can be completed climbed, but the temple of the moon can only be climbed 2/3 of the way.

Also do note there are dogs without owners here. They roam and lay where they please, including a stop The highest pyramid.

If you were curious at all about a bit of the history:
- They are not temples to the sun and moon and are completely misnamed, the temples are actually built for their Water gods.
- the main avenue is not the "avenue of the dead" but an artificial river

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Mattixplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great day out on this tour. Gregorio was an excellent tour guide. He was very knowledgable and passionate about the history of the Mayan people and the area. He was cheerful and funny and couldn’t do more to accommodate. The ruins are beautiful and definitely worth a visit (and the 121 steps to the top of the temple are a must to be able to see the beautiful views of the jungle). The show was entertaining and gave us an insight into the Mayan ball game that we had learnt about on the tour.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank AimeeLaura_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

Really worth the visit to get a bit involved in the culture. Sunset means it is a bit cooler to climb.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank jowR4003OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019 via mobile

We were in the Cancun area for 2 weeks for our honeymoon and this was our favorite excursion we did! Highly recommended! We loved that it was small group tour (8 people total). Our guide, Dulce, and driver were fantastic and provided so much information about the area and the Mayan people! Coba itself is incredible and we loved that it is a little less touristy than other Mayan ruins. Coba is truly massive but much of it has yet to be excavated which is really cool in its own way as well. We loved riding bicycles through the jungle and even got to see a spider monkey climbing through the trees. We chose the “extreme” tour which included one giant zip line across the main lagoon (super cool) and a dive into a covered cenote (an absolute must see if you’ve never been to a cenote). Dinner and the show featuring the Mayan ball game felt very authentic and we really enjoyed it! The sunset also did not disappoint : ) We were a little disappointed that you don’t actually go to climb the highest Coba temple at sunset (which the tour seems to advertise) but it didn’t end up being a huge deal even with the high heat and humidity. Overall, we had a fantastic day and would highly recommend it!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Deannakraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019 via mobile

With so many great things to see and do while in Mexico, both my sister and I wanted to see and learn about the Mayan culture and their ruins. The Coba Sunset tour is and will remain our FAVORITE thing that we did!!! Fabian our driver and Eric our host were AMAZING!!!!! I have a tendency to ask a lot of questions and they were super helpful and friendly in answering everything!!! I can’t put into words how wonderful it was seeing how the Mayans live and becoming a part of their world for just a small amount of time. We climbed the 130 foot pyramid and the view was unbelievable!!! We made pottery and dined on delicious food, while watching a traditional Mayan ceremony. All In all, if you get a chance to book this tour, Coba Sunset is in fact your ONLY choice! Fabian and Eric have become apart of my heart and I can’t wait to go back and see them again!!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank champagne-crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Great guide who told us loads on Mayan Culture. Was interesting and fun. You are able to climb to the top of the histrionic ruins and then off for a swim in the underground cenotes. Then off for some local food and a show. Great value for money. Would recommend.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank davidcJ4106DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews