We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coba Mayan Ruins, Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coba Ruins

Coba Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Cobá Ruins Morning Tour from Tulum or Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Coba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coba (pronounced cō-bǝ) is an ancient Maya city on the Yucatán Peninsula, located in what is now northeastern Quintana Roo, Mexico. The site is the nexus of the largest network of stone causeways of the ancient Mayan world, and it contains many engraved and sculpted stelae that document ceremonial life and important events of the Late Classic Period (AD 600-900) of Mesoamerican civilization.[1] The adjacent modern village bearing the same name, reported a population of 1,278 inhabitants in the 2010 Mexican federal census.[2]
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coba Mayan Ruins, Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

It's a must!. All Mayan ruin cities have their own personality and Coba is not an exception. What is special about this one. Is that is the tallest ruin in the Riviera Maya and you can climb it!. The view is incredible and so worth it when your at the top. You have to experience it yourself. For a great experience these are a must. Sun block,mosquito repellent, drinking water and a camera. Inside the park get a guide & a taxi bicycle. The ruins are in the jungle and are far apart from each other, it is a big city. You can rent a bike but it gets hot. You will be glad you took the taxi bicycle. The ruins don't have placards explaining what you are looking at. That is why I recommend getting the guide. Remember you can bargain with the tour guide. So get ready for some great pictures!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank foxiecorvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,117
    1,484
    195
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jungle meets the Mayans.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited coba through a Thomson organised trip. The ruins were amazing. The site is vast with so much to see. We were fortunate enough to be able to still climb the pyramid, according to out rep it will be viewing only within a month. If u are going to climb it before the closure be aware it is very very steep, and if you suffer with any sort of anxiety climbing may not be advised. There is a out a three mile walk up to the ruins take the bicycle taxi it's about 150 pesos for two... It's fun and saves your legs. Beautiful surroundings and amazing ruins a must see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Snicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you only have time to visit one site Coba is the place to go! The site is large but has beautiful shady paths for walking between the buildings and you can rent bikes or have a ride in the bike taxis. It is worth a whole day tour and go early in the moring because these are the ONLY ruins in the area you can still climb. It is very steep but well worth the trip, my 7 year old Son still cant quit talking about how cool it was.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyCastelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glad we did this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a day trip for us and we are so glad we did it! We rented bikes and hired 2 men to take us to the ruin you can actually climb (well worth it). Watch your money and make sure you get the correct change in return. It was beautiful and so fun to climb! Well worth the steep climb up for the breathtaking views!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited COBA by recommendation. Otherwise, we would not have gone here. We are so glad we did! It is a wonderful site. The park is very large and you are allowed to go up the pyramids where in Tulum and Chichen Itza you are not.

Site is much bigger than we would have expected.

Go first thing in the morning. Not only will you avoid crowds but being there early in the morning under the morning mist is spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coba Ruins also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing