We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Coba”
Review of Coba Ruins

Coba Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Cancun Combo: Xel-Ha and Coba Ruins in One Day from Cancun
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Coba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coba (pronounced cō-bǝ) is an ancient Maya city on the Yucatán Peninsula, located in what is now northeastern Quintana Roo, Mexico. The site is the nexus of the largest network of stone causeways of the ancient Mayan world, and it contains many engraved and sculpted stelae that document ceremonial life and important events of the Late Classic Period (AD 600-900) of Mesoamerican civilization.[1] The adjacent modern village bearing the same name, reported a population of 1,278 inhabitants in the 2010 Mexican federal census.[2]
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss Coba”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the only pyramid in the area you can climb which is amazing. Get a bike so you can ride from site to site and see as much as possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,229
    1,528
    196
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Brilliant! support the locals!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had such a great day in Coba. We rented bikes which were a great way of getting around and fun. The pyramid is awesome and though I haven't seen Chichen Itza, I have heard the experience at Coba is better. We then went to a fab cafe called con calma which had some really good vegetarian food amongst other things and some lovely juices. Our waiter showed us some additional experience s you can do here and we picked a Mayan pottery class which he showed us at our dinner table. Really good price and you can keep what you make afterwards. A wonderful day out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Crane_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mayan Ruins Experience!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friend and I just returned from the Cancun area. Our visit to Coba was very worthwhile. We spent hours walking around the jungle looking at the ruins. We saved the Pyramid for last...steep as it was, we started out slow, stopping to take a breather along the way. I announced that I wasn't going to make it...my girlfriend convinced me that if I didn't, I would regret it! Of course she is so right, soon, we reached the top. What a View! This is where a miracle happened...there she was, all skin and bones, tired, wet and shaking. This little dog. We made the decision to take her down, as we knew she couldn't do it on her own. At the bottom, several others gave her some food and water. She tried to go back up the pyramid, but we stopped her. That night, she had a bath, a meal and a warm soft place to sleep. The next morning, we took her to Playa Animal Services, in Playa Del Carmen to see the vet. They are currently treating her while she is in her 30 day quarantine...Soon she will be ready to Adopt. We named her Stella after the carved Stelae at the ruins site. (The site contains several large temple pyramids, the tallest, in what is known as the Nohoch Mul group of structures, being some 42 metres (138 ft) in height. Nohoch Mul is the tallest pyramid on the Yucatán peninsula.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Alltournative tour of Coba”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went on the all day tour of the Coba ruins, zip lining, kayaking, repelling and swimming in a cenote. We had a great day. Our tour guide was Riaz Escobebo he was fantastic. The day moved smoothly and all activities were great. We were even provided a delicious lunch at a local village prepared by local women. I highly recommend this tour to anyone from 5 to 60.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Excursion to do a little of everything”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A group of three of us took part in this excursion 2 weeks ago. We love it. For the price we did a little bit of everything causing us to plan our next adventure. We saw and climbed some ruins, zip lined, ate a nice Mayan meal learned about the culture from real natives and experienced our first "cenote". Our tour guide, "Memo" ( Guillermo) was the best. He was very informative, easy going, loved and respected amongst most of the people we met. He kept us all in good spirits and was very encouraging throughout our new experiences. I would highly recommend to anyone new to any of these adventures. They were fluent in many languages and provided professional photography.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank usbros01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coba Ruins also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing