We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth considering.”
Review of TRS Yucatan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRS Yucatan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Third time to the Grand Palladium but first time at The Royal Suites with numerous other trips to the Mayan Riviera including Iberostar Paraiso, Barceló Maya Palace, El Dorado Casitas etc. The Royal Suites ranks up there in the top 5.
The staff and overall service is deserving of special mention. Everyone is so helpful and go above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your stay.
The food was very good but not exceptional. As guests of the Royal Suites you are entitled to lobster ($0.00) at most restaurants. The chef was open to discussing how the lobster should be cooked (few minutes only).
The fridge was stacked daily and included in the room were a 750 ml bottle of Rum, Vodka, Whisky and Vodka (very smooth).
A most enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B4astop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Ian B,

Thanks a lot for such a delightful review about your last holidays in Royal Suit Yucatan . Reading it made us feel happy for being part of the team that made possible to offer you a memorable vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was our 4th visit to the resort and we had an excellent time! We keep returning because the staff is outstanding and work so very hard to make our experience one to remember. We love to see our amigos, Jose Luis, Pedro, Frank, Isreal, Alberto, Fillipo, William and so many others. We always always recommend the Palladium to anyone who asks about our Mexico trips. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Kelly L,

First and foremost, thank you for your good comments and feedback from your last stay with us. I feel glad to realize that you did have the wonderful vacations expected, specially being a repeater guest that enjoyed your previous visits.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from our second trip to The Royal Suites. Just as I remembered, excellent. Service was outstanding and always met with a happy smile and a "hola". Food was plentiful and hot at all the buffets. Room was excellent with a very comfortable bed. The mini bar fridge could have been colder but hey, that was the only issue with the accommodations. Just be prepared for "Mayan time" each minute equates to 10 and you will be fine, you are on holiday. I think we waited for the golf cart to pick us up from the Royal beach for over 45 minutes when we were told 10, we ended up taking the train, never did see the cart driver. Just remember if it is going to be 45 minutes tell us that don't say 10 minutes when it will take 10 times that. Overall met or exceeded my expectations. Love this place and will be going back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Lorna ,

First and foremost, thank you for believing in us and for making The Royal Suites your holiday’s destination, for us is really important to realize that our guests feel like home and become part of our Palladium family. We really appreciate your comments, especially because you know well the hotel and the service, so it shows us the improvement that we work for.

If there is anything further we can do, please, just let us know, and also please tell us when you would come again in order to make the proper arrangements and assure your vacations are fantastic.


Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a wonderful holiday. The room was great 7007 & 7008 adjoining. Filippo & Lucy at the royal bar were fantastic and his special cocktails are a must.

Frank, victor & Isreal are great fun and get you from A to B as soon as they can always with great humour.

The hotel is very clean and we had a great time. I do however agree with a previous comment about noisy people at the royal pool with their loud music, we also went away to the riveriva pool because of them, I would rather have the animation team music rather than crude Canadian stuff. But hey it is so big at this hotel you can find peace so we here, without causing a fuss. I guess they think they are on holiday so they can do what they want.

The food is great, and especially like el jardin, Italian, ribs, and steak house. The only place that none of us like was the Mediterranean.

Reception staff are really good, helpful and always smiling.

Many thanks for a great time, already looking to book for next year, just need to decide whether it is Mexico, Jamaica or punta Cana we go :)

Room Tip: Block 70 is quiet and not far to walk to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlywurlyMondsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear curlywurlyMondsee,

First and foremost, thank you for believing in us and for making The Royal Suites your holiday’s destination, for us is really important to realize that our guests feel like home and become part of our Palladium family. We really appreciate your comments, especially because you know well the hotel and the service, so it shows us the improvement that we work for.

If there is anything further we can do, please, just let us know, and also please tell us when you would come again in order to make the proper arrangements and assure your vacations are fantastic.


Kind regards,

David Calvo
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at the RSY from Jan 28/14-Feb 4/14. Where to start.....this resort was amazing. If you want to go and be pampered this is the place for you. We had a private transfer with Hotel Beds, the driver was great, within 5 minutes we had our Corona and we were on our way to the resort. Check in was fast and we were welcomed with a drink and a face cloth. We stayed in a junior suite on the 3rd floor, yes there are stairs but the view at night from the jacuzzi with a bottle of champagne is so worth it!
This complex is HUGE! We spent the first 3 days just wandering around trying to figure out the lay of the land, good thing there are so many bars lol. We never spent time at the RSY pool, just a little too quiet for us. The colonial pool is definately where all the action is. We loved Los Rocas and want to spend time there in November when we return.
We love the new travel club lounge and Ernesto and Veronica took great care of us!
I loved the fact that we could eat lobster very night and I think we did. We weren't really fond of the buffets, the food was often on the cool side. We ate at the Japanese restaurant, and we were the only ones seated at the grill, so our experience wasn't the best, the food wasn't to our liking. Next time we will try siting at a regular table and ordering off the menu. We loved the Brazillian restaurant, and Ribs and more was okay. We ate a lot of our meals at El Jardin and loved them. We also ate at Punta Emilia, nice ambiance by being right at the beach, lots of raccoons lol,the lobster was okay there.

Word of warning, if you aren't an animal lover then this resort may not be for you. There are LOTS of local wildlife that like to come to dinner with you, for the most part if you ignore them they will stay away. There were so many people feeding them that they keep coming back, I wish they would read the signs.....

The activities staff are very hard working people, they do their best to make sure you are having a great time. If you get the chance, do the Segway tour when you first arrive at the resort, it's a great way to learn where you are going.

If you have the opportunity to stay in the Royal suites it is for sure an experience not to miss. I don't have anything negative to say about it, what's not to love! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Kelly F,

First and foremost, thank you for your good comments and feedback from your last stay with us. I feel glad to realize that you did have the wonderful vacations expected.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just got back from another fantastic 2 week stay at GPRM. We had originally booked at the Riviera side but were graciously upgraded to the Royal Suites.

Weather throughout the stay was perfect which allowed for optimal use of the facilities, pools and beach. We just can’t say enough about the wonderful staff here. We have been to several other resorts in the area and I think that this is the only place where the names of the people really stick in our heads.

On a typical day we stroll past the salt water pool and make our way down to the Punta Emilia where Heri and Ronaldo got the food and beverages flowing. The view of the sea and light breeze coming into the palapa seating area is just a wonderful way to start off the day. In preparation of all of the caloric intake for the day we generally do a nice walk down the beach (the turtle sanctuary looks very impressive and some turtles had already put it to use while we were there), or do a nice walk taking in some of wildlife (love the flamingos, they are a really nice touch to the resort). After all of that strenuous exercise the decision as to where to spend the remainder of the day, by the beach, at the active Colonial pool where by the way the new children’s splashpad/slide area looks really nice, at the slightly quieter White Sands pool or one of the many quiet or adult’s only pools.

More often than not we either ended up spending or day with Carlos and his signature frozen concoctions at the Secret pool or Bernardo and Wiliam at the Royal Suites pool, we were very well taken care of and kept well “hydrated”.

We have never been to another resort with as many lunchtime options, from the 2 beach bars, small buffets located at each of the main pools and full buffets at each of the main sections all open for you to choose from . Then decision time comes again as to where to hang out, play some mini golf, participate in the various POP activities, do a Segway tour (which is a must), or head to the spa.

One of the reasons that we like this resort so much is the no reservation policy for the restaurants. You just show up when you want and if they have space they let you in right away if not they will give you a ticket with an approximate time and just head to the lobby for a bit by which time the live music has probably started. The longest that we had to wait was ½ an hour, every other night we had maybe a 5 minute wait at the bar located in the restaurant entrance area. We got to all of the restaurants except for the Rodizio as after a full day of grazing we didn’t think that we could eat that much meat. Food and service were excellent.

The after dinner entertainment including live music in the lobbies followed by the 2 lives shows each night is some of the best that we have experienced at an all inclusive. The Rock and Pirate shows were very well done and the night with the POP staff doing the show was surprisingly well done. My wife was just sad that they no longer have the Michael Jackson show. If the shows aren’t your thing, the sports bar had lots of NHL and NBA playoff games going.

Antonio at the Riviera bar kept things going at night, we felt sorry for him as several large very demanding groups kept him running off of his feet most nights.

The Royal Suites area was very nice, the newly renovated rooms are nicely appointed and we especially liked that the Jacuzzi tub was on the patio and that there were full lounge chairs out there versus the normal plastic chair that you get in the other sections. The beds were exceptionably comfortable and the free pillow menu offered a wide variety of quality pillows. Our room attendant Rosario did an excellent job of keeping the room clean and toiletries filled. My wife wants to know if she can teach me how to get the bed sheets tucked in that tight, lol.

Overall it was another very memorable experience at the Grand Palladium Riviera Maya and we thank everyone for their hospitality and cannot wait to return in October.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyLuck250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear LadyLuck250,

First and foremost, thank you for believing in us and for making The Royal Suites your holiday’s destination, for us is really important to realize that our guests feel like home and become part of our Palladium family. We really appreciate your comments,so it shows us the improvement that we work for.

If there is anything further we can do, please, just let us know, and also please tell us when you would come again in order to make the proper arrangements and assure your vacations are fantastic.
Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We escaped to paradise on Feb. 23, 2014 for ten days. We stayed in a junior Royal suite 7112. The room was perfect. We had a very restful and relaxing time at the GP Royal Yucatan. The wait staff was excellent and very friendly. We especially liked spending time in the evenings talking to Wiliam, the evening bartender at the pool bar. It is very peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Room 7112 is in the first villa over the bridge and directly across from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingfools_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear travellingfools_12,


Thanks a lot for such a delightful review about your last holidays in our resort. Reading it made us feel happy for being part of the team that made possible to offer you a memorable vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,


David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
5.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Yucatan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Yucatan Hotel

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $302 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Yucatan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRS Yucatan consists of 454 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, two exclusive swimming pools, plus one salt water pool, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bars with premium beverages, 24 hrs room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pools sun beds and an exclusive restaurants. Designed for adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRS Yucatan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
TRS Yucatan Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing