We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had A Great Vacation”
Review of TRS Yucatan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRS Yucatan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a great place. So glad we upgraded to the Royal Suites. We had are own restaurant just for are area. You can have lobster every night if you want. Private lobby was very nice and Jose Luis (bartender) was the best. He always started the day for us with a great drink and smile. Would return in a minute. The size of the resort was a little larger then what we usually go to, but the chauffeur serives was great. great time, food, rooms and service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tcoop3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear tcoop3232,

Thank you for your comments and opinion about your stay with us. For us is very important to know the impressions of our visitors in order to enhance our performance day after day. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, as we work hard with the aim of creating amazing experiences to our guests.

Thanks again and for any further comment we remain at your service.

Kind regards,

Alejandro Martin
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our first stay and the Royal Suites or a Grand Palladium Resort. We enjoyed the adults only facility especially the accommodations (royal suite). We were in Bldg 71 3rd floor corner suite at the back. It was very quiet and right across from the pool. Did not even hear any noise from adjoining suites. Loved overlooking the river and Mangove forest. The birds sounds off either balcony were wonderful. Also appreciated the private pool. No problem finding deck chairs in the shade and never crowded. Loved the stone walkway to and along the beach. It seemed nobody else used this path!. Sandy part of beach was crowded, but quieter at either end. The Royal Suite exclusive area was disappointing since it was not right on the beach and the hedge around prevented any view of the water. More warnings are needed about the rocks in the water in some parts. They were hard to see. Wearing water shoes helped. Less reef offshore than we expected so you need to go elsewhere for good snorkelling. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Only disappointment was the food. El Jardin was great for breakfast and ok for dinner, but other restaurants (al la carte) were only average. Japanese was the best. Appreciate being told to make reservations. Without them expect long waits.

In summary, we would definitely considered coming back.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms at back of buildings are further from the road and pool so are very quiet. Corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Margaret R,


We would like to thank you for your feedback about your last holidays with us. For us is essential to know all the opinions from our guests and what we need to do to better meet their expectations, in fact we are already working in some of the observations you made.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Suites Yucatan during New Years, and wow what a party. Originally we booked the Whitesands but on arrival we were upgraded to the Royal Suites. The service was truly "Royal". Butler service, Chauffeur service, private beach with waiter, private pool with waiter. sunbeds at beach and pool, lobster meals at your beckoning.....just wow. We came back to the Grand Palladium resort in December after being here at the beginning of the year in January. The first visit was great so we thought "lets do it for News Years".
I have absolutely no complaints. Any time we travel and are made to feel comfortable and at home has to be a positive experience.

The New Years Eve party is definitely a worthwhile experience.....only if you like a good party and being happy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Allan S,


Thanks a lot for such a delightful review about your last holidays in our resort. Reading it made us feel happy for being part of the team that made possible to offer you a memorable vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Royal long enough to earn a "Gold Band" so obviously we enjoy it there. We just returned from a two week stay. As usual the weather was perfect. Our stay was pleasant, the rooms were clean and the staff went out of their way to accommodate you. My only negative is what I have said in previous reviews. There has been much said about the "dress code" for the specialty restaurants and the "El Jardin" but not much done about it. If you are going to have a dress code it should be enforced. We are not snobs but if you are going to have an elegant dining room such as the El Jardin you should require a collared shirt along with the long trousers, also a simple code for the ladies. We have repeatedly seen men in plain white t-shirts (underwear) with hats on being served and ladies with short- shorts on, and as long as I am venting I might as well include a gripe about glass bottles being served at the pool, we did witness one breakage next to the bar which was cleaned up very quickly....I expect some negative response about my gripes but if you are going to have an elegant venue such as the "Royal" then it should have some rules... I love this place, we have met many wonderful people there and will surely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank delbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear delbert,

Thank you for your good comments and for the feedback, as our commitment is to provide the best service and attention at all times to our guests, and the way we can do it is to know what our guests like and the things we can enhance.

We are happy to understand that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and please, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything further we can do from this end.

Kindest regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the royal suites in feb mar 2014 and I cant say enough positive things about this place! We had the best treatment and even had a bath with champagne and candles given to use compliments of the butler staff! The outdoor shower was so cool! I loved feeding the fish off the balcony and the food.....OMG I gained 10 lbs! LOL

Room Tip: stay in 7204 or 7214
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherieC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear CherieC82,

First and foremost, thank you for your good comments and feedback from your last stay with us. I feel glad to realize that you did have the wonderful vacations expected, very good choice to stay at the Royal Suite Yucatan .We are very grateful to have their wishes met.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Here now, massive complex. Royal suites is adult only with access to the other 4 hotels and amenities, including bars, pools, restaurants, entertainment etc.
Friendly staff, great food, clean, spacious, attention to detail.
Tips: use golf carts to travel between hotel grounds or take the boat! There is also a little train.
1 or 2 US Dollar tips go a long way with the staff here
Beach is sandy and not over crowded
Look out for special areas exclusively for Yucatan guests
Weather here is around 80 degrees (March)
Best building is 69 as quiet and right next to pool
Bit of a walk to the beach, but worth it, sandy and great for snorkelling

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank vixtiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Small private section of a very large resort. The private pool with waiter service is very relaxing with poolside beds. The Bartender Jose Luis in the hotel lobby builds great rapport and is a pleasure to be around.

Although the resort is very large, the private golf cart service makes it easy to get around. Especially to the private travel club beach, wear they serve you all your drinks in glasses and is close to the water sports.

The Royal suites allows you access to reserve at all a la carte restaurants which is great as they tend to get busy at 7:30. Your reservation will get you in right away, the food and service in most of these restaurants is unbeleivable.

Royal Suites give you access to a private restaurant "El Jardin", no reservation required but would not recommend eating at this restaurant every night. Food is great BUT service is TERRIBLE. We ate there 3 times. Each time the service was very SLOW, with at least a 30-40min wait between courses. Once I had to get up and go to the bar to fill both our wine and water glasses. The other a la cartes have much better service.

At check in they did ask us what we would like stocked in our mini bar by filling out a form, but found it was never stocked as per our request.

The spa was very nice and relaxing. However do not book the same treatment at the same time because you won't both get the same service. Ex. Wife and I got a body wrap, I got the room where I got a scrub and body wrap. However my wife go the scrub and just got it rinsed off.

If they do improve these things the resort would be perfect.

Lastly Room service included was phenomenal, ordering breakfast while getting ready for the beach is a great way to maximize your time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
5.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Yucatan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Yucatan Hotel

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $301 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Yucatan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRS Yucatan consists of 454 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, two exclusive swimming pools, plus one salt water pool, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bars with premium beverages, 24 hrs room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pools sun beds and an exclusive restaurants. Designed for adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRS Yucatan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
TRS Yucatan Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing