We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”
Review of TRS Yucatan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRS Yucatan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our first stay at the Royal Suites was in January 2011, our second trip was December 2013. Great to see that nothing had changed as far as their standards for excellence in service, hospitality and comfort. We absolutely love it there. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the resort is amazing and you get treated like royalty - I can't say enough about how excellent the staff are to deal with. I also love the wildlife and natural feel of the resort. I don't understand why other reviewers would ever be dissatisfied with the food, we are picky eaters and we loved it. We have stayed at other "mega" resorts in the Riviera Maya where the food was awful, the Royal Suites has by far the best tasting food. Also, their beach is one of the biggest compared to other resorts, and there were always plentiful beach chairs, which I loved because there is nothing worse than having to scramble for chairs. The nightly entertainment was top notch, loved the comedy acts and the dancers. The only thing I'd suggest as an improvement would be to possibly expand the VIP area on the beach as it was hard to find a beach bed there at times, and (more importantly) the beach in front of the VIP area was extremely rocky with lots of other debris that had washed up on shore, to enter the water on this part of the beach in front of the VIP area you have to walk over sharp rocks which is very unpleasant - this wasn't the case in 2011. Otherwise, this place is paradise for us and we will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the main floor and the 3rd floor, there are no bad rooms. However there are no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Seirios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Gerente at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Seirios,

We appreciate you taking the time to review The Royal Suites Yucatán.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and would like to thank you for your comments on the hotel and the staff.We will consider all your remarks.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Aurora Cruz Luévano
Gerente de Royal Suites / Royal Suites Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I vacationed at this resort in November 2012 for two weeks and had an amazing time. We returned this year for New Years Eve for two weeks and I must say things changed. The one bedroom suite was beautiful and very clean, however, in order to use the hairdryer in the evening we had to shut off the air in both rooms and most lights in order for the power not to go out. This continued throughout our stay even though the problem was reported to guest services. The food has changed dramatically since last year and we were very disappointed with their offerings in El Jardin, which was a favourite restaurant last year. The last meal we had there was burnt and dried out beef medallions and coconut shrimp. We are not fussy eaters, but it was awful and we could not eat the beef at all. Our other issue was that the beach was never groomed and there was a lot of seaweed, which is to be expected, but also debris of many different types that have washed up ashore and had not been cleaned up for some time. This was not the case last year. The other big issue was that there were never enough beach lounges for people. Many times people were on their towels on the sand as there were no loungers. I don't care if you have paid $1000 or $5000, everyone should have a place to sit at the beach. Guests were entering the Royal Suites area and removing beach chairs in order to have somewhere to sit at the beach, and I don't blame them. The Royal Section was lovely but on more than one occasion people from other parts of the resort were using the facility which meant that there was not enough seating for Royal guests. Personally, we like to sit at the beach and rarely used the Royal Section.
On a positive note, the new lobby and lounge area in the Royal Suites is beautiful and the service is wonderful. Filiberto makes the best drinks and is such a gentleman. The maître d in El Jardin was also a very gracious gentleman and host and the service was very good.
New Year's Eve was a lot of fun and the entertainment at this resort is some of the best we have seen. However, with that being said, we decided to move to another resort for the remaining 8 days of our vacation, and had a wonderful time. We were very sad to see the decline in the resort and for that reason we will not return. Royal Suites was a beautiful piece of heaven and can be again if management takes the time to address some of these issues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank miss d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Manager at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear cyndysue,

First and foremost, thank you for your comments about your holidays in our resort and for taking the time to share your observations. About the situations that you said in your trip report, I would like to mention that it is important for us as a hotel to know how and where we fall short and what we need to do to better meet our guests’ expectations.

We are working every day in order to improve our services and we really appreciate all comments that help us to be a better hotel.




Thanks again and please, feel free to contact us if you decide to visit us again, so we can do our best to take care about your reservation and I’m sure you will appreciate the improvements in our service.

Kindest regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the royal suites from 1/2/14 to 1/9/14 we had a mayan suite and are children had a jr. suite at the white sands side of the resort our children are 22 and 19 upon arrival and check in our kids room was a single room king we went to the front desk and they said the hotel was full and we could not change rooms for a couple of days upon insisting they finnally changed their room to 2 doubles. They really enjoyed their room and the entire stay. At the royal suites it is just that you are treated like royalty the people there bend over backwards fo you and take care of your every need . You have your own pool lobby bar and restuarant they are a lot like the other parts of the resort but they are not as crowded and a lot more quite which is what we wanted . the grounds are very well maintained and the wildlife is amazing. we really liked the way the resort was designed with the ecology in mind the mangroves were beautiful. The reason I don't give them 5 stars is the food. All the restuarants seem to be the same there are a lot of them and they do have differant theme nights but all the food seems the same the food is ok but not over the top the presentation although was beatiful and the service was excellent just after a few days the same food gets old i geuss thats 1 of the draw backs of an all inclusive. on the other hand the bars were great great bartenders everywhere.
all and all we had a great time . Hey it's Mexico how could you not have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Gerente at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Robert P,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Suites Yucatán.
We have taken note of all your comments and they help us to further improve our services.
We are at your complete disposal and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Aurora Cruz Luévano
Gerente de Royal Suites / Royal Suites Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been to this resort numerous times and I haven't submitted a report for each trip. We arrived on December 15 using Air transat. I have nothing good to say about their club class option, so I'll move on.
We were at the resort in May 2013 and the royal lobby was being rebuilt. The new lobby is stunning. There is so much more room and when checking in, you can sit at the check in desk to fill out your paperwork.
The new lobby has two decks now, the original one where the boat stops at and a new one that has about 12 tables with chairs. In the evenings, they have live music playing now. The staff are fantastic and friendly. Always checking with us to ensure our stay is enjoyable.
The royal restaurant is a nice option for dinner. No reservation needed but still able to order from a menu.
This was the first time we spent Christmas at the resort. In the past we left before the big day.
The resort provided a program on all that would be offered during the days before Christmas, up to and including New Years. A very nice idea.
We decided that we will go again for Christmas,but add on New Years as well our next time.
If staying in Royal, you don't pay the $10 spa fee.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dog_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Gerente at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Dog_Lovers,

Thank you so much for your endearing comments. It means so much to us when you take your valuable time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. It is our goal to give exceptional customer care to our guests. I will pass your comments on to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Suites Yucatán.

Sincerely,
Aurora Cruz Luévano
Gerente de Royal Suites / Royal Suites Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I are travelling to The Royal Suites Yucatan and arriving on Jan. 29th. Due to allergies, I wanted to contact the resort with a few requests and it is also our "Delayed Honeymoon" so I wanted to make this trip extra special. The response time they replied to my email was unbelievable! They are preparing for a busy season but still took the time to shoot off an email to put my mind at ease! Thank you goes out to Marcelina Lopez Hernadez for her assistance!! Now even more excited for our trip (And I did not think that was possible!) I am sure I will be posting a positive review upon our return home from this "Heavenly Spot"

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Dave-PegClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Gerente at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Dave-PegClarke,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We will do our best to meet your expectations.If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely,

Aurora Cruz Luévano
Gerente de Royal Suites / Royal Suites Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Royal Suites is a small, exculsive part of a very large resort.
We had a Mayan Suite which was fantastic. The room was always spotless, as was all of the resort. Our suite was 7206 which was right beside the bridge so my only issue with the room location is that you had to listen to the train and golf carts go by until 2am - sometimes with rather loud people of them.
Use the spa area - it is ALWAYS empty!!! great place to start your day

CONS: We had requested a canoe 4 times while we were there (one of the perks of having a suite) but it never showed up which was disappointing as we were really looking forward to paddling a bit around the resort. The Ribs & More restaurant is not good - we are still trying to figure out what we were eating while we were there.

The sports centre is incredible. We took advantage of being a Royal Suites guest and booked our own archery time slot with two other couples we were travelling with.
The beach is large and very nice - it's great to have the Royal Suites section which is less crowded and provides shade and drink service.

Room Tip: Get a Mayan Suite 7207-7216 are very private (outdoor showers!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora C, Gerente at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Ackeith79,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at The Royal Suites Yucatán.
We have taken note of all your comments and they help us to further improve our services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Aurora Cruz Luévano
Gerente de Royal Suites / Royal Suites Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited Royal Suites Yucatan for the first time in February 2013. We were looking for an adults only all-inclusive with better than average rooms, service and food. This was our seventh trip to Riviera Maya and the fourth all-inclusive we’ve tried (others were Secrets Maroma Beach, Ocean Coral & Turquesa, and El Dorado Casitas Royale – our hands-down favorite). Thanks to Trip Advisor reviews, we knew that the Royal Suites was part of a larger, family friendly complex, which was fine, but we wanted a quieter place to which we could escape and find some peace and tranquility.

The entire complex is beautiful, well thought out and offers just about anything you might want. The staff throughout the resort, and especially at the Royal Suites, was amazing. Smiles all around, super friendly and very accommodating. We enjoyed breakfast most days at the Royal Suites restaurant and had dinner there several times. We very much enjoyed the many cats visiting diners on the terrace as well as the raccoons who were quite entertaining.

Other things we loved about the Royal Suites – the room was very nice, despite the fact that we booked the least swanky of the options at Royal Suites. It was quite large and the balcony/Jacuzzi was gigantic. We were very pleasantly surprised. We also loved the lounge chairs on the balcony and enjoyed sitting out there reading in the morning. Housekeeping did a great job and left us lots of towel and flower petal surprises throughout the week.

We had originally requested a room on a higher floor. We stopped at reception to ask whether it might be possible to relocate during our stay so that we could have a room on a higher floor. Although the Royal Suites were at or near capacity, they made an effort to accommodate us and contacted us with the offer of a new room. (We ended up declining because the process for switching rooms sounded a bit more complicated than we were up for, so we decided to stay where we were. But we were very grateful for the effort they made to find a different room for us.)

The golf cart shuttle service was really convenient and friendly. At most, we waited maybe 10 minutes even at the busiest times of the day. The free boat rides were a relaxing and fun way to view the the entire property and to get around between hotels.

We spent a lot of time at the saltwater pool, which has terraced levels leading down to the saltwater pool and the ocean. It was never crowded at the saltwater pool, despite being high season. The large beach beds in the Royal Suites beach area are nice, as is the nearby bar. We also took a Segway tour of the resort, which we highly recommend. It was fun learning how to use a Segway and then zipping around the resort’s various areas to explore all it had to offer. The spa is stunning and has a very relaxed feel.

We spent very little time at the Royal Suites pool, other than at the end of the day, because it seemed to fill up quickly in the morning and felt a little closed in to us. There is very little negative we can say about our stay, however, we have enjoyed the other adults-only all-inclusive resorts a little more because the other resorts seem to draw mostly couples, while the Royal Suites seems to attract larger groups of couples traveling together. Some of these groups had a “takeover” mentality of certain areas in the Royal Suites. They seemed to want to monopolize the lone bartenders on duty at the lobby and pool bars, the handful of outdoor tables overlooking the lagoon off the main lobby – and the pool area in general. They were boisterous and having a great time together, but if you were looking for a quiet, relaxing afternoon reading a book poolside with your spouse, you often weren’t going to find that. At least not during the week we were there. This is no reflection on the Royal Suites itself, just an observation about the difference between our experiences visiting all-inclusive resorts in the area.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Royal Suites. It is a beautiful place with great people working hard to make sure you love where you are vacationing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 4BigWeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
5.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Yucatan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Yucatan Hotel

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $305 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Yucatan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRS Yucatan consists of 454 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, two exclusive swimming pools, plus one salt water pool, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bars with premium beverages, 24 hrs room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pools sun beds and an exclusive restaurants. Designed for adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRS Yucatan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
TRS Yucatan Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing