We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Blanca Condominiums
Nearby Hotels
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$340
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$159
$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
21
8
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
8
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 31 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in unit #10. It was nice and clean and the grounds are well kept. The beach is just gorgeous and there were plenty of chairs and shade if you wanted it. The breezes off the ocean flowed through the room so that we didn't need to use the air conditioner. We bought simple items for breakfast and lunch and then went out for dinner. This worked great for us. There is a little shop across the street that has liquors, snacks, and basic supplies such as tortillas, etc. We normally really love a balcony--but the price was so right that we could live without one. We rented bicycles for several days but I wouldn't recommend riding them at night. The street is bumpy and not well lite in some areas. After being in this area, I feel that this complex is better managed than some others. They always had people grooming the grounds and the room service was prompt and competent. There is a nice parking area and you can go up on the roof to view the bay or the jungle. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovesabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Casita # 9 (on the ground floor) was the perfect studio for our 8 day cenote and cave diving trip. The place is kept spotlessly clean, with fresh flowers on the table every day. The maid was so discreet we never actually saw her, but she did an impeccable job. From your bed you can actually open your eyes in the morning and look right at the beach, palm trees and waves crashing ashore, even if you're about 40 yards away. There is an outdoor shower right out front and a small outdoor area with a plastic table and four chairs that came in very handy for drying our dive gear (which is why we picked the ground floor unit and not the upper floor one that does not have outside space). The Playa Blanca Condos are very conveniently located within walking distance of quite a few good eating establishments (we heartily recommend La Cueva del Pescador and La Lunita), food shopping, souvenir shopping and three dive shops. Aditionally, you're right in the middle of the action when it comes to Cenote diving, which is why we were there. Hop in your car and you're four minutes away from Zero Gravity where you can rent your doubles and refill them for the duration of your stay.

We would recommend this unit to a couple who spend their time in some activity like diving and who prefer to spend their money on their hobby rather than luxurious amenitites they wouldn't have time to take advantage of anyway because they'd never be in the room! This is not a place to lounge around in. We would not recommend this place to more than a family of two with one small child. Although it is tastefully furnished, with a full (even if small) kitchen and a very nice Talavera-tiled bathroom (shower-only, no tub), it would get overcrowded with more people than that.

All in all, this is a great place for the active, budget-minded traveller who wants to be right on the beach without paying "right-on-the-beach" prices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andreea_C_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Penthouse unit #8 (found on VRBO.com/276236) was gorgeous. Right in the center of Half Moon Bay. It was bright, beautiful and breezy. Check in was easy, we stopped at the La Bahia office a few buildings to the north to pick up our keys and sign some paperwork. The condo was comfortable (if you don't plan to lounge on the couches to long :-)) and well appointed with lots of attention to detail. The views are fantastic and the balcony is large yet very private. The owners had recently purchased a great gas grill and it was very convenient to make several meals. I ordered groceries for delivery from www.rivieramayagroceries.com and everything was delivered and ready for us when we arrived. This is a service definitely worth it's price and I highly recommend it. We rented bicycles from Vista Del Mar as they are very convenient and a fun way to get around HMB. One did keep losing it's chain though, so my husband turned it in for a different one. We rode our bikes to Yal Ku to snorkel, we arrived right at 9 am and the water was crystal clear. We rode our bikes to the Collectivo stand and took two trips - one to Puerto Adventuras and another to Tulum beach - fantastic views and a must see. The day before we left, we rode them to Akumal Bay to swim with the turtles. We also swam with a few rays too - it is what the word awesome was created to describe. The locals are so friendly and gracious that we never want to go home. We ate at La Buena Vida, La Cueva del Pescador and Lol Ha - Lol Ha's view is my favorite and the fish tacos are so yummy! The unit has pretty good wi-fi - they were working on it a little to improve the signal in some units, but was always fast and available when I wanted it. The satellite TV was not the best, but we didn't really come to watch TV. There were lots of great movies (and for kids too) if the signal was out. There is a rooftop terrace that is ideal for watching the sunrise, sunset or star gazing. The owners have a deep love for the area and were able to give us hints and information to enhance our stay. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cinderellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The upper unit of the Playa Blanca Casitas (room 10) in Akumal was extremely comfortable and homey. Between the fully furnished kitchen and the convenience to the beach, it's a great place to stay. It is very clean and the housekeeping staff is impeccable as far as keeping it up while you are there. Additionally, the grounds are maintained immaculately, and you always see someone tending to the gardens. As I was a solo traveler, internet connection was really important and I didn't have a single problem with that...even with Hurricane Ernesto to deal with! The managers are extremely diligent in making sure everything is taken care of and are always in touch with you via e-mail. This was a last-minute reservation while I was in Tulum and they were very accommodating.

The two casitas are in a separate building from the rest of the condos. They sit a little back from the beach, but it’s a very short walk and you can see the beach from them. I rented a bicycle while I was there because it is a lengthy walk into the town area. Half Moon Bay is a rocky beach and it’s not real conducive to swimming. If you swim in this area, you should wear some kind of water shoes. The beach at Akumal Bay is much more swimmer-friendly.

The restaurants in Akumal are somewhat pricey, as well as the little tiendas where you can buy supplies for eating in, so be prepared for that. If you’re renting a car, you may want to buy supplies before you get to Akumal. In fact, if I ever stayed there again, I would definitely rent a car so that I could visit nearby areas. Other than snorkeling, scuba diving and relaxing, there really isn’t much else to do right in the town of Akumal.

I was, however, fortunate to see the migration of baby sea turtles to the ocean, which was an unexpected treat. The people there are very protective of sea turtles and the hatching process, so you will see areas marked off on the beach where turtles have laid their eggs.

The two things I was slightly disappointed in with the casita was that there was no outside balcony area and no cable TV. There is a large window that looks towards the ocean, but it would have been nice to be able to sit outside while in the room. By the way, the casita on the lower floor does have an outside patio area. The ad for the casita stated that they had a TV and DVD player, so I automatically assumed they had cable, which was my error. So if you’re expecting to have cable, be aware that they do not. Despite these two items, I would highly recommend Playa Blanca Casitas for a relaxing stay in Akumal.

Room Tip: If you want an outside balcony area, choose any room other than unit 10.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isladeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The family was thrilled, after roughing it for a while, to hold up here for several days. The unit was spacious , clean , quiet, and very comfortable. It was close to Tulum, which was a treasure ( ruins outlined by turquoise ocean).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews