We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reef Condominiums
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
NoVa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our 1st trip to Akumal & won't be our last! We stayed in Unit B (1st floor,center unit) and enjoyed it very much.The unit is a nice size, plenty of room, with basic kitchen supplies. Snorkeling starts 10 steps from the unit, turtles, and a magical world under the sea. The staff (located at La Bahia) was very friendly and accommodating to any specific request we had. We did not wait 10 min for hot water, it was more like a 2 minute wait. The unit didn't have a hair dryer (to use on departure day ;) but the staff was able to provide one for use when requested. Beautiful location, very private will definitely stay again...next time we'll bring the kids!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoVaTrolleydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Spent a week here in February 2012 with my fiancée. Absolutely the best thing about the place is the location. I literally laid in bed and watched the sunrise over the ocean every morning.

I'll upload some picture of the place but it's pretty much as advertised. It was clean and well kept with the exception of the second toilet was on the fritz when we arrived. They fixed it while we were there so it should be good to go now. Speaking of which these, as in all of Akumal I think, are the don't flush the toliet paper variety. Good to know ahead of time if you aren't expecting that.

When we first checked in there was a form where you checked whether you wanted maid service in the morning or afternoon. Don't be fooled by this, she'll get there whenever she feels like it. She did a fine job though so no real complaints. When the bottled water ran low we did have to go down to the office to ask for more, and it did take a few trips before they actually brought some. Again, a small annoyance.

The kitchen is fine. The gas stove/oven is smallish by American standards but served us well enough. The automatic lighter was broken but they provided a lighter so it wasn't a problem. There was a nice assortment of pots and pans that were in good shape as well as plates, silverware and most other basic things you'll need to cook a good meal.

The WiFi is free and works good enough. Don't expect to be streaming any movies but it did work well enough for some video conferencing to home. The signal strength did vary considerably throughout the condo so pick your spot wisely (kitchen table or second bedroom were the best). It looks like the WiFi access point is on the second floor so the units on the 1st and 3rd floors might have more trouble.

The beach is great. It's on the fat part of the beach for the bay. It's not wide compared to other parts of the Riviera Mayan but since there is almost no one on it, there is plenty of room. There were two palapa's for the condo as well as maybe 10 beach chairs and there was never a time we couldn't get the spot we wanted. There was a problem with some kind of ocean plant washing up on the beach and hovering off shore for about 10-20 yards but that was only a bit of a problem getting in and out of the water. Once you made it past that the snorkeling in the bay is outstanding. Just a few yards off shore you can see a pretty nice variety of fish and coral, even spotted a small sea turtle. It's also shallow enough that you can stand, or at least bob off the bottom, for several hundred yards. You can spend of money at other places to have a worse experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor probably have the best WiFi. All room shave a great ocean view although I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianSchultze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We just arrived home last night, we are already planning a return visit. We were a little concerned with some of the mixed reviews. But this a a great value. The rooms met all our needs, we spent very little time in them. You can feel as if you are staying in a rain forrest walk a few steps and be on the ocean. I can't say enough about the staff, get to know them and they will do everything possible to make your stay the best ever. Many Many food options, buffets, fine dining, snack bars, and yes dont forget the ice cream bar, or the afternoon tea and coffee's. It is Mexico at its finest.

Room Tip: There is no elevator - so choose ground level if you have trouble with steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensellshouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is our first time staying at The Reef unit C. It's on the main level and has a patio w a small table. Also a full kitchen which was in working order (except for toaster oven which isn't fully functioning). Overall we enjoyed the condo. I can think of only 2 negatives: the shower takes 10 minutes to get hot water and it's very low water pressure. And the condo is dark because it's set back a little ways from the beach right next to La Bahia condos. They have beach chairs and a safe in the room. We always enjoy Akumal and we would stay at Reef C again. We saw sea turtles in the bay right in front of the condo.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicitica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORPUS CHRISTI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Loved it. Great local, reasonable rates. Friendly staff. The place was actually nicer that I thought it was gonna be. The only thing that's need improving are the beds. They are just really hard. Would go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The Reef Condominiums in Akumal is an excellent place to stay and enjoy sun, water and underwater life. The Penthouse is beautifully furnished, with everything you need while on vacation. Moreover, when not on the beach or in water, two huge terraces allow for having great time outside, with a gorgeous view of Half Moon Bay or a jungle. This is a dream place we would like to visit every year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piesek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodacre, California
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this pristine one bedroom unit for a week. Our friend stayed comfortably on the sofa bed by the sliding glass doors steps from the beach. The sounds of the Caribbean surf on the white sand and the sunrises were delightful. The condo is artfully decorated by the owner, Gloria, from her travels. Don't miss her Goddess mosaic in the bathroom. We shopped at the friendly pueblo nearby and the housekeeping staff cleaned up after us. Other evenings we enjoyed dining at local resaurants on the beach. The snorkeling and swimming with the fish turtles were a treat. We would return in a heart-beat and feel we were welcomed home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahlia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.0 mi away
Luna Azul Condominiums
Luna Azul Condominiums
#22 of 23 in Akumal
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Condominiums

Property: The Reef Condominiums
Address: Half Moon Bay | North Akumal, Akumal 77730, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront condominiums located on Half Moon Bay. Excellent snorkeling from own beach, and just a few blocks from Yal-Ku lagoon. Building has three 1-bedroom condos on patio level, two 2-bedroom units on 2nd floor, and one 2-bedroom penthouse unit on the 3rd floor. All have private balconies and/or patios, are fully furnished (including full kitchens—not "kitchenettes"), and include daily maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reef Condominiums Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing