We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much plastic garbage and trash in the bay?!”
Review of Half Moon Bay

Ranked #11 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So much plastic garbage and trash in the bay?!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Half moon bay is just beautiful from my lovely condo window. Even from the beach you can see turtles and rays swimming withing 25 feet from the sand. Upon closer look, we realized that the beach was littered with small trash and plastic garbage. In the surf it was even worse, and we decided to collect clear and white plastic from the water. Not kidding, we removed two large bags of garbage, and didn't even make a dent in it. Much of the garbage is caught in the sea grass and apparently will float there for days unless a storm or tide moves it along in the bay or onto a beach. Once it is on the beach, it will be collected by condo/hotel staff, in time.

One of the condo staff stated that the trash comes in from Playa del Carmen and even from the condos, and restaurants near the lagoon. Very sad and wrong that so much effort is put into advertisements to view the bay, the turtles and reef, when no one is working on keeping the bay clean. I have never seen a more trashed out beach/bay than this one, and I grew up in New Jersey. It is not safe for the sea life, or people. The bags look like jelly fish at times. We were here for 2 weeks in April 2014 and it was pretty bad the entire time. More people need to comment and address this predicament.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    121
    38
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rocky, outshadowed by the other two bays.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

If Media Luna was anywhere else, it would have shone brightly as a diving stop. Once you get over the shore rocks, it is a easy swim to the reef, which has some fun sealife to see. You might see a turtle, or a ray.

However, being halfway between Yal-ku and the main Akumal beach, it seems a little less than.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scan1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful beach with lots of room”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We loved the sandy beach, the mix of people (families, couples, children) who were all quite pleasant and relaxed. The weather was a bit windy so we didn't get to snorkel every day. When we did snorkel, it was good viewing. The turtles were a pleasure to watch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Arty_woman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
435 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Snorkeling just as good as Akumal bay”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at a condo at Half Moon Bay, and walked a short distance on the beach towards Yal-ku to enter the water. We saw turtles, beautiful coral, and loads of fish without all the crowds. Much preferred to congested Akumal bay.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keosauqua, Iowa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in a condo in Playa Caribe. Good location, good snorkeling, especially in the lagoon on the north side. Stayed for a week and will certainly return!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JDG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing