We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet bay with good snorkeling”
Review of Half Moon Bay

Ranked #11 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet bay with good snorkeling”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a lovely quiet bay surrounded by condos. While there are rocks in the water and you can't enter without water shoes, it's a good place to snorkle. It's a very shallow bay, you can go out a few hundred feet and still stand up, with the water just reaching your thighs! If you go north/left and fairly far out, you'll be rewarded with huge brain coral, lovely purple fan coral and lots of fish! It's best to find a huge coral bed and just hang around. We saw an eagle ray, a huge angel fish, barracuda, and many, many varieties of smaller fish. Some were bright blue with little blue "diamonds" on them! We saw occasional schools of fish. One day we saw a turtle swim by near the shore, but the turtles don't seem to swim in this bay very often. Be sure to visit La Buena Vida restaurant and bar right on the beach. A fabulous location, great happy hour, interesting places to sit (swings, hammocks, bean bags, tables and even a crows nest!).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CelticChick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    123
    38
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quite bay with amazing view”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Whole family just spent last week enjoying some quite time on Half Moon Bay. Lovely location. Hardly anyone else on the bay. Rented a condo and it was the perfect get away for some family time. Highly recommend avoiding those huge all inclusives and see how laid back and un crowded Akumal is. Or maybe we don't so we can keep our secret place to ourselves !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“mediocre beach with fantastic snorkeling”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in a condo (Playa Caribe) right on HMB for 2 weeks. Really, it depends what you like whether you love this little beach or not. For snorkeling, it's awesome. There is so much to see out here, it's unreal. It can be fairly rough, so exercise caution if you are not a seasoned swimmer. A vest might be a good idea. Turtles, rays, moray eels...there's an abundance to find here, and the coral is huge and interesting.
As a beach for lounging, it's ok. Small and unclean in parts not directly in front of a hotel. There's a fair amount of garbage, glass and rocks washed up in areas not condo front. It was a little sad. Comfortable water entry is quite impossible without shoes. It could be done, but you would be taking a chance on slipping and cracking your head open on a rock or something. It's a pretty natural beach front and all those rocks and broken coral usually mean great snorkeling. If you want to lay around on sand and get in the water 10x a day when you are hot, I wouldn't suggest it, but if you want good snorkeling, go there!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Snorkel experience recommended”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Half Moon Bay will delight you with so much gorgeous coral, fish, turtles but several suggestions are in order :
Snorkeling is easiest and safest when the wind and waves are down. Getting in and out is tricky and backing into the water with fins can be a stumbling experience. We always go at high tide and find a steeper entry point- that way you enter sooner. There are urchins hiding under rocks quite close to shore. Once you are out - what a delight. Best coral ( without going all the way to the reef elkhorn coral) is on the north end opposite Yool Canal or LaSirena. Such beauty! There are only 2 fishing boats moored near Buena Vida and they do not venture over the coral. Much more boat traffic at Akumal Bay, but the trade off is that the entry is simple in Akumal.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ronnjonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Watch out for the motor boats”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We swam here when we visited the Akumal sea turtles. We been here before and it's stunning. The water is warm, full of sea life and well worth visiting.

My only concern about Half Moon Bay is that the motor boats zip around everywhere. Akual Beach does have a roped off area where you can see the turtles, but if you venture out beyond the rope, just be aware.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank wmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Bay also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing