We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, relaxing Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dana P
Gadsden, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing Paradise!”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful area, beautiful home! You will feel relaxed and yet exhilarated in this paradise! So much to do and enjoy in the surrounding area, as well as great snorkeling & kayaking right from the beach at the villa!! Wonderful gated community -- always have felt completely safe!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy -- and having our own pool and beach area!
Liked least: a few mosquitoes in the evening -- not too bad.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris v
Dickinson, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for Family with Adult Married Children”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everyone in our group enjoyed Akumal Breakers. Although every couple had their own automobile, there was a place for everyone to park. With four couples and one child, we were all very comfortable in the house. Location of the house made it very convenient to get to Tulum, Coba, downtown Akumal, and even Playa de Carmen. Mirna and Luis did a great job in working around all of our schedules as far as sleeping and eating habits in the house. We always had the right amount of towels and water on hand. The house even had things like coffee, powdered creamer, sugar, spices, and so many more items that we never thought of, and this made it easy for us to cook many of our own meals. The beach and water were just steps away from the house and most of us took advantage of it every day. During our stay we were lucky enough to see baby turtles being introduced back into the water. We would definitely go back to Akumal and stay at Akumal Breakers.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieRose...
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Akumal Breakers is a stunner!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and three other couples vacationed at Akumal Breakers over Thanksgiving 2013. We are a group that travels together often, often in Mexico. We stayed 7 days and were thoroughly delighted with the home and with the caretakers, Mirna and Luis. Mirna cooked breakfast for us three times and Luis cooked arracherra for us twice - they are excellent chefs and were gracious and giving throughout our stay.

The house is stunning, the pictures do not do it justice. Akumal Breakers includes all the amenities you could ask for, including oils and spices, coffee, coolers for the beach, pool and beach floats, books to peruse, an outdoor grill, AppleTV (which was somewhat spotty, but we rolled with it), and of course, reliable and robust air conditioning. The beds are quite firm, and that seems to be standard as we've encountered that at other villas and nice hotels in the Yucatan.

The beach in front of the house was the best around, and the snorkeling was fun for our group (a mixture of seasoned and first-time snorkelers). We made use of the kayaks and walked to town by way of the beach a few times. I wouldn't recommend walking back in the dark, but a taxi from town to the house was only about $20 USD.

The town is small and quaint. We loved Lol-Ha, La Buena Vida and Turtle Bay. La Cueva del Pescador offers the freshest fish and the most amazing margarita pitchers. My grilled octopus there was divine.

I look fondly at my photos from Breakers, and hope to return one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartakus...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After a long journey from Boston we were thrilled to finally get to Akumal. We were not disappointed once we arrived. This home is in a safe gated community that is home to the best beaches around. You honestly dont really have to leave the house. The pool and the beach are literally your backyard. The house was spotless, the caretakers were very nice and the owners could not have been any nicer. I highly recommend this vacation rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate R
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing family vacation”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family had a wonderful time vacationing at Akumal Breakers. The home is in an ideal location on the beach with a nice sandy stretch right in front of the house. I noticed that other spots on the beach had a lot of coral chunks that you had to get through to get into the water. There is coral here, but only after you get in…..My kids were able to bring their beach toys right down to the beach and build sand castles, while I read my book in the hammock (in the shade)

The pool is small, but plenty for my 3 kids (ages 8,6, and 5). It was the first and last thing they did everyday. They loved it.

There are many lovely sitting areas in the outdoor space to enjoy including a great dining table that is covered and next to the pool, lounge chairs by the pool, 3 hammocks, a cocktail table out near the beach and a row of adriondack chairs right at the edge of the beach.

There was a constant breeze blowing through the house which was my favorite part of the entire trip. Very warm, but with the breeze and all of the shade it was easy to stay comfortable with all of the windows open.

Myrna and Luis were fantastic and the home is maintained in very nice condition (and very clean) We would definitely go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor space
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishtowan...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven :)”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our group of 8 friends loved this place! This is a great location if you want peace and quiet, although you can certainly walk or cab to Akumal. But why would you? Mirna and Luis take great care of the house inside and out, and we used their chef service several times, the food was great. The pool was kept clean, the sand raked daily, the beach right outside your door! We walked both directions along the beach and decided we had the best spot. And definitely indulge in massages from Mirna and Luis as well, very professional and so relaxing.
This was truly a wonderful spot for our group and we hope to return someday!

One tip: we found the groceries in Akumal a little limited and for sure more expensive. Next time we would do most of our shopping in Cancun beforehand. The takeout pizza that we could order delivered to the villa ( can't remember the restaurant ) was very good.

Ps. Loved the outdoor shower!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in a few Villas in the Mayan and I have to say this one is one of the best. Staff were very attentive and helpfull. Myrna cooked some meals for us and her Tortilla soup was the best we ever had!
The Villa is very well equipped and very tastefully decorated.
The pool and beach were both great to. Would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing