We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited this hotel with my wife on honeymoon.

We had a great time, met some fantastic people and all the staff where fantastic.

Alberto and Amalcar are two fantastic bar men and made us very welcome every time we where at the bar. 5/5

Abraham at the front desk was also fantastic. Any problems we had he sorted them for us. 5/5

Rigo and Fernando the bell boys are brilliant. They sorted our bags, give us advice on day trips and lifted us at our room regularly and took us where ever we needed to go at the hotel resort. 5/5

The only complaint I would have with this place would be the food in the buffet. Everything tasted the same, the butter was sour, and well the sausages and bacon I only had to look at it and I was nearly sick over the food. If your looking an English or irish fry don't expect to get it here. I lived on pancakes for 10 days with no butter on them.

The restaurants where good especially Japanese. The steak house and French restaurant is quite good too. The Brazilian could of been better. The meat was quite raw and the man who welcomes everyone at the door could of been a bit more pleasant. I forgot my restaurant ticket and he looked at me as if I had two heads when I told him. The couple behind us also commented on him.

The spa is amazing. We just went to hydro pools and steam and sauna rooms and it was great.

Overall it is a good place and you will have a good holiday. The staff are fantastic and I would go back.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    937
    350
    124
    110
See reviews for
970
1,207
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked the holiday via Thomson and was told we would fly on the new Dreamliner. We upgraded our seats to premium for the extra room due to my husbands mobility issues so he would be more comfortable on the 10 hour flight and really looked forward to the holiday. When we arrived at the airport there wasn't a Dreamliner insight!!!! So we didn't have the luxury or extra space we paid for or were promised. I am very disappointed with Thomson and recommend you double check all Thomson promises for the Dreamliner flights as apparently they are not available from all airports yet. Think this should have been explained at booking to us as we would have chosen a different airport to to fly from!!!!

After this disappointing start to our holiday, a 10 hour flight and an hour and twenty minute transfer on the coach from Cancan airport I couldn't wait to get to the hotel and hoped it would be as good as the brochure pictures. We'll I can safely say we were not disappointed. As soon as we got off the coach to check in we were handed a glass of chilled fruit juice, which was greatly appreciated after the long journey. Check-in was swift and painless and the staff very helpful explaining the hotel layout and all the usual things a new guest needs to know. The bell boys then took us and our luggage to our rooms. The bell boys couldn't do enough for us they were so helpful and became good friends of ours during our stay. Without Rigo, Ever, Rosalio and Edgar we would have struggled to get around at this hotel. The complex is huge. Bigger than we realised when we booked the trip. And as my husband can't walk any great distances If the bell boys hadn't been there we really would have struggled to get about. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Having said that nothing was too much trouble for any of the hotel staff. Natalia and Jonathan were on concierge and we're also superb. Helping with anything and everything they could.

Our room was spacious and clean, however we did have one of the rooms with the hole in the bathroom wall. This didn't bother us as a couple but might be difficult for families sharing a room. I'm sure if this was a problem to you the hotel would move your room as they can't do enough for you as a guest. The ground staff also worked tirelessly to keep the gardens looking immaculate.

The food was good. Lots of choice at the buffet with themed food nights like Oriental on a Sunday and also Mexican. We tried the Brazilian, Steakhouse and Mediterranean al a carte. Noa the chef at the steakhouse was brilliant and we had our steaks cooked to perfection.

My only critique of this hotel is the lack of sun loungers with shade around the quiet pool. Although there are signs up everywhere saying you can't reserve sun loungers this still happens and unless you are up and out before dawn you struggle to get anything poolside and may find it easier to go to the beach instead. No matter if you are poolside or on the beach the waitresses are very attentive and we never found ourselves without refreshments. Do not feed the iguanas or raccoons! It's obvious that previous guests have. My daughters were surrounded by 11 iguanas at one point while trying to eat their chips a lunchtime. They don't keep there distance either they charge at you and even jump all over the sun-beds to get at the food.

Just a couple of words of caution. The marble floors in the lobby's are highly polished and there for very slippery. We did see a couple of people fall during our stay. Also avoid using the USD ATM on site. It's nothing to do with the hotel and the charges are horrendous for withdrawing money. There is a $5.85 charge for using the machine which I consider reasonable but the the next screen says you will also be charged 10% of your withdrawal in currency fees. so we would have been charged $56.00 for withdrawing $500. Shocking! Don't take prepaid currency cards they are a waste of time given the ATM charges take lots of pesos.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious but I'd recommend a room on the second floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall, the resort is beautiful and we had a really nice time. But unfortunately, this is only a 5* resort experience if you have the money to be able to afford the experiences. Also, here are a few hints or tips that i think would make your holiday easier/better:
- If you haven't already booked your holiday to the Grand Sirenis, when you do, request a room on a higher floor. The hotel blocks are built around a jungle area where lots of little critters and animals live and often make their way into the hotel blocks.While having a better view on the top floor, you also have less ants crawling into your room.
- If you order room service, of which, unless you have paid to be in the premium travellers club, there is a very restricted menu, no matter how much you order, the waiting time for your food will always be 45 minutes to an hour. After having a stomach upset for 3 days and finally deciding to eat something small, i ordered 1 margherita pizza and i was left waiting for 75 minutes. Also, most of the travellers who ordered room service put theirs trays outside their rooms at night to be taken away. Again, doing this has attracted the animals into the hotel blocks to eat the remaining food on the plates. so unless you want a raccoon scratching at your hotel room door because they want more food the night after youve ordered room service and left the trays outside, i would recommend leaving the trays inside your room until you leave for the day the next morning and then put your trays outside. Because of all the people bustling about at different times in the morning there are far fewer animals about at this time. plus this helps answer the hotels request for you not to feed the animals around the resort as they are meant to be the pest control.
- On your first morning, if you are travelling from the UK with first choice or thomson, you are asked to join them in a welcome meeting to give you all the information you will need to enjoy your holiday, such as trips and the local area. The thomson reps did a great job in our welcome meeting and provided us with lots of helpful information. But obviously, they lead you to believe that the excursions that thomson provided were a damn sight better than any others provided by the companies within the resort because of their "value added" feature. Having not much money but wanting to go out on a trip, we booked on to their cheapest trip and went snorkelling to see the turtles with "Underwater world". Our guide was lovely and very helpful, but it was dissapointing to overhear a conversation whilst at the beach a few days later between a hotel customer and a member of staff for a different snorkelling company walking around the resort trying to sell their own tickets on to a trip. I was very annoyed to hear that this company was offering the same amount of time for snorkelling and seeing the turtles, yet it was half the price and just out to sea from the beach at the resort. We didn't have to travel far, but the price was much more expensive and the only added feature to our trip was that we also got to snorkel in a freshwater cenote afterwards, but there wasnt much more to see anyway. So i would strongly recommend comparing all trips before assuming that one, or specifically the thomson was the best. Also, the thomson reps didnt exactly know the cost of the departure tax and from booking our holiday through to leaving cancun airport back to manchester we were told 4 different prices.
- If you feel like you still need the internet while being on holiday, there is wi-fi available in the resort. however, you have to pay for it, and i dont think it was cheap. plus the signal is not always great and so you dont always get it. if you only want to check in once in a while to see whats going on with the world, the thomson reps allow you to use their ipads if they are free instead of paying for the internet.
- The a la carte restaurants are only open for service in the evenings and they can get booked up pretty quickly, so i would arrange with you concierge quickly once you arrive which restaurants you want to go to. The French restaurant costs extra if you want to go there, but the others are all included. We tried the mexican, japanese, steakhouse and brazilian restaurant. All were good, except the braziliant restaurant just appeared boring and dull and the front of house waiter had a face like he wanted us out of the door before we'd even got in it. Also, our food was slightly undercooked in the steakhouse restaurant, so when they ask you how you want it, order it a bit stronger than you want it so it comes out perfect. We asked for our food to be cooked medium-rare and medium-well and they came out rare and medium-rare. I would also advise you to spread out your restaurant bookings as you only get a set allowance of reservations. we didnt start going to the restaurants until our second week and by the end of the first we were getting very very bored of the food within the buffet as apart from breakfast, every mealtime had exactly the same food and it wasnt exactly delicious.
- Finally, we would have loved to visit the spa, but it was just too much money for us to afford. so if you want to go, make sure you keep AT LEAST 2000 pesos separate for a couples trip to the spa.
It probably sounds like a massive rant, but some of these things would have been really helpful to know before we went as not knowing just caused annoyment. The resort is beautiful, if you like getting involved in the games and activities the reps are quite funny, and everyone is very friendly and helpful, especially the bar staff. if you order a drink and stay seated at the bar they will more than like refill your drinks before your halfway finished! we became one bar mans little guinea pigs as he made up drinks and gave them to us through out the night! even without having much money, you can have a great time at this hotel, and as the season gets busier im sure it would be even more amazing than our trip was.

Room Tip: Request a high room. It provides for a better view over the trees, plus less ants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Danni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We booked this resort with Thomson and travelled on 20th July 2014.
I don't usually write reviews but having read most of the reviews on here prior to my arrival and freaked myself out a bit. I would like to come on and give a bit more of information on my stay.

Service - Was good, from the moment you land at cancun there are people there who want to help you, most Mexicans are working for tips as this is a good source of income, however they will give you the best possible service to earn that tip before expecting it. The bar staff are very quick considering how many people is at each bar each evening and what I like is that most of the time you are near the pool or beach, or even watching entertainment, the waitresses come to you so you dont have to get up to the bar.
Restaurant service was pretty standard. Most staff are very attentive learning your drinks after the first round and keeping them coming.

Value:
We paid £1080 pp for two weeks all inclusive inc flights. Very good value for money.

Sleep quality
The beds are a bit firm, and the pillows are a bit hard, but it didn't affect me in sleeping, one thing that did really bug me was the bed sheet, it was too small and didn't tuck in around the mattress so you woke up in the middle of the night and you found yourself laying on a bare mattress that god knows how many other people have slept on YUCK!

Cleanliness
Everywhere in this resort is really clean, like hospital clean. Considering the size of the resort and how many people that are there, that is really impressive.
The maids didn't clean our room until the afternoon's though, which was rather annoying when we had come back in out of the sun.

Location
It is around a 2 hour transfer from cancun airport, and that is thankfully that when we arrived went directly to our resort because it was the closest. On our return it took closer to 3 hours as we had to do 3 pickups. Travelling to cancun takes approximately 1.5 hours so no good if you want to see cancun as well. Playa del carmen is 20 minutes and most of the parks (xcaret/xel-ha) etc can be reached in 30 minutes.

Rooms
Are large, with bed and seating area, desk and balcony
we had a large spa tub in our room that looked lovely until we filled it up and a clump of hair blew out of one of the jets. The staff wasn't to know i suppose, the tub looked very clean before we filled it up so it obviously had been cleaned.
WARNING, you have to pay 750 pesos for the safe.

Beverage selection
EXCELLENT. premium spirits available if you ask the bartender for the exact brand(jim bean) for example he will give you it, the cocktails had a huge menu and we really enjoyed the baileys.

Food
There are 8 A la Carte available they are: Steakhouse, Cajun, Mexican, Japanese, French, Mediterranean, Brazilian, Italian.
We ate in the Steakhouse,cajun,mexican, japanese and brazilian. All of which are excellent.

the buffet restaurant has theme nights three times a week (italian, oriental and mexican) and there is always choice there when you eat.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a very large resort with lots of space and different areas to spend your time. The bedrooms are very comfortable, large, clean and the AC works extremely well. Mini bar restocked daily which is included in the all inclusive. However, the bathroom is more or less in the bedroom. Although a separate room, it is not sealed but separated by a piece of frosted (in our case but some I think nothing!) glass which is fixed at a few points. The toilet and shower doors are also open top and bottom. Unless you are sharing with someone you know extremely well I think this would be embarrassing.

There are several pools. However the two with swim up bars play VERY loud music until 5pm each day with a DJ chatting as well. The smaller, quieter areas get full very early.

The beach is a great alternative. Lots of well spaced out sun beds, good natural umbrellas and excellent waitress service from the two bars. Lunch there also good, BBQ, salads, chips etc.

Breakfast very good with a wide selection and served until 11.30. On our last morning there was cauliflower cheese!!!! Not recommended when you're thinking about a long flight home!

There are a number of al a carte restaurants to choose from. Our favourite was the Japanese and our least favourite the Mexican. The Italian we visited twice and on both occasions they got my order wrong and on our second visit we felt very rushed, they brought our main course whilst we were still eating our starter and our pudding before we were ready as well.

You have to pre book these and are limited to three a week. We had heard that you have to pay for drinks in these but this is only the case if you don't want the house wine, local beer or selection of soft drinks offered. The other general restaurants are ok. Very noisy sometimes and with a random selection of things which can be a bit overwhelming. However service was good, tables nicely laid and everything clean and nicely presented.

We tried room service once, included in all inclusive and it was terrible.

The coffee shop is good, has a few tables outside and stays open into the evening. Ice cream parlour also good and a great place to cool down!

The two bars are totally lacking in atmosphere. It's like sitting in an aircraft hanger. There is no outside seating to eat or drink in the evening apart from a handful of tables on the terrace.

The reception staff were very helpful and all other staff very friendly and polite. We overslept and missed our first morning 'welcome meeting' and subsequently never saw a rep the whole two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this holiday in May for a holiday starting 15th June, from Gatwick, for 2 weeks. We carefully watched the prices and paid just £1821 including credit card charges for a 2 week holiday that was all inclusive. We were lucky because Thomson also made a mistake on their site about the amount of available a la carte's (now changed) so we managed to get unlimited a la carte restaurants and in total we visited the a la carte restaurants 12 times and the buffet twice. Buffet was good and if you can't find something you like then their is something wrong with you.
One of the interesting things you find is how the quality of the a la carte restaurants can change depending on the quality of the waiters and chef's who are working on that particular night, this can affect how quickly the food comes out and as to whether the order is well prepared.
Many people have criticised the Italian restaurant but we found that the quality to be consistently the best, lasagne and cannelloni were brilliant but the second time we visited the food was not presented as well but still good quality. Good waiter each time, friendly and chatty made the evening special.
Brazilian was great, 8 courses but don't eat too much at the start as the Brazilian steak at the end was superb. Mediterranean was our favourite on the first visit but awful on the second. If you do go have the salt fish which is lit up at the end before being presented. Steak House was typically American, thin steaks but the fillet was tasty, don't sit in front of the cooking area as you will be smoked out. Japanese, Mexican and Cajun were all disappointing.
Beach area was wonderful, pools great, shame the quiet pool didn't have enough seats around it as the pool itself was the best in the resort. For lunch the Barbecue was excellent or the Tulum restaurant gave a really good choice.
Rooms were good, no problem with the bed, stayed in room 2238, third floor. Watch out for price of wifi (didn't like having to pay for it) only took it for the second week and it cost 455 pesos whereas 2 weeks was 560 pesos, never told this at reception or Thomson meeting.
Every comment I made was minor, the only thing I found irritating was the wild animals who in the evenings would scavenge the room service trays that were left outside the rooms and never collected. Not nice to be met by a weird racoon eating a pork chop in the corridor outside your room at 11pm at night.
There is no time share just a special area for special people that you pay extra for the privilege, they called it 50th anniversary, don't bother.
Overall it was a good 4 star beach holiday, 5 star has to be really special and this wasn't. Most alcohol was weak so don't expect to get drunk easily, tip for good service, we found most were happy with 50 or 100 pesos, don't be a dollar tipper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Richarddgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Date Stayed: 13/06/14 - 27/06/14
Traveled with: First Choice all inclusive
People: me (22yrs old) Girlfriend (21yrs old)
Occasion: Girlfriends 21st Birthday
Room: 2614 Cajun Block, King Size Bed, Sea View
Airport Transfer Arriving: 1hr 15mins (First off)
Airport Transfer departing: 2 hours (First on, then there were 5 more pickups)
Weather: 30+ everyday with about a hours rain over a 2 week period (4 sets of 15 min rain)

I will try to cover everything that happened on this holiday but please read this review if you have any doubts.

Anyway we arrived at Cancun airport and had to queue for about 45 mins to get past passport control. We were like last off the plane though but we soon forgot about that once we got on our bus. We were approached by a guy in a blue shirt who claimed he worked for first choice and assisted us with our cases and then prompted us for a tip when we got to the bus. If you don't want this awkward situation just keep hold of your case and don't allow them to help you.

We arrived at our hotel to a nice cold fruit drink and check in was easy. We upgraded our ground floor room with 2 double beds to a 1st floor sea view room with a king size bed for £12 a night extra which was £172 in total. It was definitely worth it! a bellboy then took us to our room with our luggage.

GENERAL
The hotel is BIG and yes there is a lot of walking but for all those who like to watch their weight. I ate pretty much a fry up most mornings, a big lunch (1 or 2 plates) and normally 2 plates for dinner and desert. I came home to find i had lost weight! Probably all the walking and sweating in the heat. We enjoyed the walking around and yes there are buggys which offer you a lift but we didn't take them once :P The hotel is very clean and all the staff are lovely. We didn't tip once all holiday and we were treated very well. The ground keeping staff and cleaning staff keep the hotel very clean and we always say "Hola" when we walk past.

ROOM
We upgraded to room 2614 which was first floor, sea view and king size bed. We didn't have any major problems. The toilet flusher broke a few times but i found a way to fix it and the balcony door sealant one side there was a gap which let wind in during windy nights (only 1) but this wasn't a big deal. The air conditioning we left on auto all day everyday and was EXTREMELY pleasant to come back to the room and walk into. The bed was fine and massive! The Shower was awesome. The hot tub was good. Very happy with our room.

FOOD
The first morning we booked our inclusive restaurants, we could only book 3 as the next slots don't open until each Wednesday i believe. We booked Cajun, Steak house and Mexican. Then when the next slots opened again, we booked Brazilian, Italian and Mediterranean. In order i would say, Brazilian, Cajun, Steak House, Mediterranean, Italian and then Mexican. Mexican is not special and i wish we would have booked the Japanese instead or gone to the Brazilian twice. The quality of food is fairly similar to the main buffet but its nice to be wined and dined some nights and dress up a bit more so take advantage of these. The main buffet is fine, most days there was more than enough to keep us happy. Any negative reviews about the food please ignore. there were around 20 hot food choices everyday along with 2 chefs cooking fresh meat, fish and pasta. There were some repetitions but that was good as it allowed us to have some favorites again. What do people expect when they are catering for all these different nationalities and probably near a 1000 people every meal time. along with hot food there is always a salad bar, soups, fruit, deserts and loads more. Seriously a very good variety. There is a beach bar which does BBQ food like, burgers, hot dogs, pork chops, paella. And the main bar at the beach does Tacos, chips, Nuggets and nachos. This runs from 11-5 i think and bbq is like 12-4 or something along those hours. Lunch is quite similar to dinner most days so good choice again.

DRINK
Drinks were really good. I tried many of the cocktails in the evenings which was fun. I drunk alot during the day to keep hydrated. Water, Diet coke and the occasional cerveza, there's LOADS to choose from. I'm not a big drinker during the day, i save that for the evenings.

POOLS
There are 3 pools and a lazy river. We spent most of the time at the beach as we didn't fly all the way to mexico to sit by the pool. We did spend a few days by the pool closest to the beach which is really nice and 1 or 2 days by the activity pool located near the Cajun restaurant. The pools get really warm and aren't refreshing which is a negative but not much they can do about that. The showers are refreshing. the 2 activity pools have pool bars which are always busy and nice to have a drink in the pool. As always you may struggle to get a sunbed after about 8:30am ish! We sometimes took our towels to breakfast and placed on the beds. Don't worry about all the reviews saying you have to be up at like 6 :P those people are crazy. My advise would be: if you want to stay by the pool, take towels to breakfast and place before you go and if you don't find a place go to the beach! Its WAY better. The lazy river is a must daily. Its very relaxing and take a drink round with you. Perfect!

BEACH
The beach is awesome! We spent the majority of our holiday here. You can always find a sunbed, but if you want shade, the umbrellas serve the same scenario as the pools. Reserve them before breakfast. The beach isn't your typical Mexican beach but it is beautiful. I appreciate a nice view and turquoise clear water and unlike some people who say the beach isn't nice... they are snobs. The waitresses are brilliant and always bring you drinks (Don't worry about tips, we didn't tip as we spent alot of money on excursions and still got the same service all holiday, just be polite to them, they work hard!) As for the snorkeling... WOW. We went to Xel-Ha and i would say the snorkeling at the hotel is on par with Xel-Ha if not better. Every day i went out i saw tons of fish and i always saw a turtle or 2. Even a couple of sting rays one day. They are mostly in the section of beach furthest away from the bar (or, the left beach when you look out to sea). The space between the people in the sea and the coral, so like as soon as you cant stand, if you swim from side to side you will nearly always see a turtle and then you can follow them to your hearts content. I had a go pro and got some awesome videos. They have a flag system at the hotel and half the time we were there it was red flag (not the best for snorkeling) and the other half was yellow flag (perfect for snorkeling). Note in red flag they don't allow you to use their snorkeling equipment. We did take our own gear out and it was totally worth it. The sea is rocky in some areas but there's always a place to walk in which is sand. I also played volleyball most days which was fun until people started taking it so seriously.

EXCURSIONS
We booked "Jungle Tulum", Xcaret and Xel-Ha. All were amazing days out. Jungle Tulum consisted of zip lining through the jungle, rapelling into a cenote, snorkelling into a cenote, zip lining into a cave of water, lunch, jeep ride to and from bus which was an experiance and then a short drive to Tulum which was a really good day! Xcaret was awesome, there are some really cool animals to look at, as well as floating/snorkelling down underground rivers! We had lunch watching some leopards! Xel-ha was AMAZING! We swam with dolphins, and for those who have been to discovery cove in Orlando, America. Xel-ha is 50 times better! You get so much more interaction with the dolphins including a foot push, kissing, dancing and loads more. The park itself is massive and we enjoyed the whole day!

ENTERTAINMENT
We only watched the Lion King show which was alright. I spoke to one of the guys who works for the animation team and says he works from 9-5 and then 6-11 for 6 days a week. So give these guys a break, they try really hard and it was nice to sit down with a drink and watch this show. Apparently some friends told us there was a circus act there one night which we missed and apparently was awesome. I also watched some of the world cup games in the theater which was good.

OTHER USEFUL POINTS
- The hotel is swarmed with Americans/Canadians. And im sorry for all those Americans and Canadians who are really polite and nice but alot of them were damn right rude. The hotel is the majority couples and you will meet some really nice people.
- Dont worry about tipping for towel animals in your room, we got 5 over the space of 2 weeks which was cool :)
- Safe does cost something like £3 a day but its worth it. We had Phones, Cameras, Mac Book Pro, Go Pro, Beats, Cash, Jewelry so its worth to keep them all safe.
- Ice cream shop is brilliant :)
- We didn't get approached for the mythical time share presentation.
- Men do need trousers for the extra restaurants (not the buffet)
- Don't play football in the heat (i got sunstroke :P)
- Wifi is an extra but first choice rep Antonio allowed us to borrow his iPad now and again to check emails and other things which was nice

All in all the hotel is a brilliant place to stay :) In my opinion the only reason why some people say it doesnt deserve 5 star is because they have stayed in nice 5 star hotels. So have I. Not all 5 star hotels are the same quality. This place deserves 5 Star due to their location, size, choice of food, friendliness and choice of things to do.

Please go stay there you wont be dissapointed. Message me for any questions.

Room Tip: Cajun Block 26, Room 2614, King Size Bed, Sea View :) I assumed 27,28 and 29 would be a bit better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
58 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.0 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing