We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved this resort - probably the nicest I've ever been to. We were there for a week & loved it!

It is spread out so be prepared to walk (good if you ate too much at the awesome buffet haha!)

3 great pools, lazy river is awesome!

Great experience with all the staff, all very friendly at the bars, concierge, etc & really attentive and quick when we asked for things in our rooms (like extra blankets, etc). The beds are little bit uncomfortable (or at least it was in our room).

Fun extras like coffee shop & ice cream parlour! (included in all inclusive)

The beach is very secluded and GREAT for snorkelling, but the resort isn't too far from fun excursions like Rio Secreto and the port for catamarans!

Would recommend this resort 100x over!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    898
    340
    122
    109
See reviews for
929
1,158
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just came home from this hotel on March 30, 2014. I went with a group of 6 women for a 40th birthday celebration. We found the hotel staff helpful and they mostly all spoke fluent english. We really enjoyed the main buffet. We booked the a la cartes right after we checked in and they were mainly booked up solid. We did get in for later times to the following restaurants: Mexican - good, Brazillian - really good, and Mediteranean - good. None were spectacular but they were good. Rooms are spacious and clean - we had the double beds and there was a privacy glass between the room and the bathroom. The other girls had king size bed (as this is all that was available) and there was no privacy glass. As in the other reviews, I did not find the furniture shabby but more retro chic. The hotel as a whole was in my mind a combination of retro meets modern/utilitarian. But I found the lobby and hotel facilities spacious and clean. Our friends on the 1st and 2nd floor found the hotel a bit noisy at night but I had brought earplugs and that solved that problem. We were on the third floor and we didn't find it very noisy. A lot of the reviews talk about how big the resort and I am normally geographically challenged, but I found that it the layout was easy to navigate. We spent a lot of time at the beach - we all loved the beach! We could always find chairs and it seemed big enough. A little bit of rocks going in but they quickly gave way to soft sand. We didn't go snorkeling but we did see turtles. I have been to four resorts in Riviera Maya and this was my favourite beach. We spent a day at the pool and did find it hard to get chairs. We made multi-trips around the lazy river - LOVED the lazy river - so much fun! The Bellboys were very helpful with arranging taxis to Playa and Diego even took the cart to pick up our friends in their room when they were late - thanks Diego! Although they had carts going round to shuttle people, it very rarely seemed to match up with when and where I was going - that's ok, I brought comfortable shoes. We tried the spa out one day and did the water spa circuit and massage. The water spa is a series of water massage, pools, saunas, etc. It was OK but I found that we were kind of left to our own devices with no instruction and it was kind of confusing. The massage was good and I would recommend. I have to say after reading some of the negative reviews on tripadvisor, I was very, very nervous about this resort but overall I would highly recommend this resort and I would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our second time in Mexico, first time at this resort. Grand Sirenis was absolutely amazing. We were there for a week with our family for our wedding, and then another week for our honeymoon in mid February.

Our wedding couldn’t have gone better – it was absolutely incredible. A special thank you to Tania, our wedding coordinator who worked so hard to make everything perfect. We had a bit of rain while we were safe inside eating dinner, and she was even able to coordinate around that. If I could rate her and our wedding experience on a scale of 1 to 10 it would be a 20. We couldn’t have been happier.

The concierge service at each building where the rooms are located are wonderful. You don’t have to walk back to the main lobby to do your reservations or anything, just see the concierge at your building. Special thank you to Eddie – he has an amazing personality and he works so hard to make sure your stay is perfect.

There were many pools, bars, lots of beach chairs available everywhere, wonderful food, outstanding service and staff. The beach was beautiful – the water was perfect. The scene itself was like it was out of a painting.

We did also check out the spa – affordable and amazing services for what you pay. There are also tons of activities like the lazy river, archery and more – its very kid friendly yet still romantic for couples.

The night entertainment was incredible – so enjoyable so definitely check out the shows. The singers, especially the 2 women are SOOOO good. They did themes each night – movies, music videos, musicals – you will not regret going – definitely check it out. They also had a kids performance before the later show – so adorable and looked like a great activity for the kids.
The restaurants were amazing – we especially loved the Italian and Brazilian. And the servers are so friendly and quick to help you with anything you need. They really took the experience to the next level.

All in all Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach was a spectacular place to have a wedding and the perfect environment for a honeymoon as well as a family vacation. Thank you Grand Sirenis!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I would suggest it to everyone. I really enjoyed the hospitality and everyone was really helpful and fully busy doing their best to accommodate guests. It was a great from start to finish with great food and very friendly staff. I would highly recommend this place for vacation or business trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is nice but they do not treat their non-members very well at all. Everything is all about the members. They want you to buy in but do not give you any incenitives before hand. Most of the staff are stand offish. Some are quite friendly but not many. They do not have a complimentary shuttle or free Wi-Fi unless you are a member. Never stayed anywhere that, that was the case. Will not stay there again or recommend to anyone. We were on the lower level and there was a leak in our bathroom from upstairs. I feel and luckily did not get hurt badly. Just sore but it could have been worse. It never got fixed during our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

In total honesty, most reviews have covered every aspect of this hotel but I would like to sum up a few key points which I think make this hotel spectacular and mention the few niggly negatives. We stayed in the Mayan side block. If you can ask for a room higher up, it will be quieter, as the hotel is laid out in such a way that even buggies can drive on the ground floors between blocks and as it is built of stone, it gets quite echo-ey.

The pluses:

- the rooms are very spacious as are the bathrooms.
- we had a room with a glass partition between the bathroom and bedroom which worked great
- water and soft drinks/beer replenished daily (and we are talking about a 5 litre bottle of water here.....)
- wonderful beach area which looks a lot smaller on the photographs but it is quite spread out.
- super snorkelling off the beach including resident turtles - you just need to know where to look for them but we went out "turtle-spotting" everyday and saw 2-3 turtles each time (the beach furthest away from the bbq area - just beyond where the boats are moored in the evenings).
- lovely Mayan ruin on a promontory on the beach.
- great service (bar one or two boys at the pedalo rental place who insisted on receiving tips, saying that tips are his friend! cheeky and totally not in keeping with the staff of the rest of the hotel, but it transpired that this is an external concessionary within the hotel).
- stunning and huge gardens, with lots of wildlife but nothing threatening etc.
- no mosquitoes! (maybe we were just lucky)
- fantastic lazy river (The only one in the hotels in the area, I believe)
- management willing to listen to customers (they have stand alone computers dotted around the lobby for you to write your comments).

Now to some of the negatives but dont let this put you off, it is to give a balanced view:
- lack of Mexican feel around the place (no hammocks etc)
- wrong maps handed out at the reception desk (apparently old and therefore, the timings are different) - check and ask if this is the latest version (kids club had totally rearranged its hours which had a negative impact one day on our plans)
- It does not say this anywhere but airgun shooting is only from 16 - my 11 year old boy was quite upset by this;
- I sent an email beforehand to the hotel (I believe it was to the HQ address but to the Mexican hotel) and never received any acknowledgement - poor PR
- do not count on sleeping on the sofa in the bedroom (for children for example) as it is next to useless as a bed; ask for a rollaway bed.
- pillows are thin and hard, if you have preferences, bring your own
- concierge people vary from fantastic (Teresa, Simon) to downright bored and awful (Adrian).
- Jacuzzi in the bathroom takes forever to fill up and awkward to find the hot water spot;
- boats are moored right by the beach at around 1600 where the best snorkelling is making the swimming area even smaller and polluting the beach with engine fumes!.
- food is OK (the best spread is at breakfast) and then lunch and dinner get very boring, limited and samey. The speciality restaurants are not much better. We tried 5 of them and did not enjoy any of the meals there. Some dishes are also very salty.
- lack of specific information re some shows such as no one knew what time the Mariachis would be playing and where (They play during the Mexican evening)

Overall a great resort, we had a wonderful time and found it very relaxing. There is a lot of walking to do but it means that you do not feel on top of each other.

Mexico is a great country and the people are fantastic! Go and enjoy!!

Room Tip: We had a great room in block 27. Great accessability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WiltshireTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Absolutely amazing week at Grand Sirenis!!!! We were in the 22 building and had no issues with it. Our concierge Marcas was amazing!!! The beach was excellent, we never went out and put towels down but always got chairs no matter what time we got there. We didn't spend much time at the pool as we had went for the beach but they were nice. The lazy river was a great addition to the resort, but be prepared to fall in!
All the staff were great, and work very hard!!!! We never had to wait for drinks at meal time or at any of the bars. The captain at the Italian restaurant went out of his way to help me as I am gluten free and he had them make me some gluten free bread. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Cajun restaurants and the food at all of them was great! The buffet was always good as well for breakfast and supper, lunch was always just something at the snack bar on the beach which was also good.
The entertainment team was amazing!! They are super friendly and go out of their way to help you. They are there all day doing the daytime activities, then all evening doing the nightly shows yet they are always friendly. Jesus was amazing!!!! Great employee!!!
The room was very nice! Beds a bit hard, but definitely not a deal breaker!!
We were through Transat and did their free trip to the jewellery store and this was the only negative experience we had as it was our last day and they gave our seats in the van away saying we could get the next one in 5 minutes. However that did not happen and we wasted an hour sitting on the steps waiting for a ride to Playa del Carmen. And when we got there they said the bus home was full and we would be taking the later one, which would have us waste our entire last beach day so we got fed up and walked to the end of 5th Avenue and took the public transit back. Which was great, cheap and quicker as it just stops on the highway and doesn't go in to all the resorts.
This was my 4th trip down south, first trip to Mexico and was the best vacation I have ever had! I will definitly be going back!!! Everything about this resort was excellent and the staff are soooooo great!!!
Thanks for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
4.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Number of rooms: 456
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing