We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week wasn't enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A week wasn't enough!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ok so the hotel might not be 5* exactly, but I certainly didn't pay 5* prices! Overall the hotel was excellent and really gave us a brilliant holiday despite the rainy weather on some days.

The staff are what really make it special-bar staff like Samuel who was the fastest, friendliest cocktail maker I've ever met. Everyone was friendly but in a genuine way that made you feel relaxed and well looked after, it wasn't like 'try hard service'.

The range of things to do at the hotel was brilliant especially as some days the weather was really rainy-the entertainment team brought the ping pong table indoors for a competition, held salsa dance classes in the lobby etc. and if you prefer a chilled out poolside atmosphere rather than party music and games you can have that at the relaxing pool.

Was really impressed with the food-massive variety and really enjoyed the a la cartes we chose-Brazillian, Steakhouse and Japanese (the best).

Rooms were really big and overall comfortable but as people have mentioned, looking a little dated. Enjoyed having the minibar topped up for free everyday too!

I can't imagine how you could not have a wonderful holiday at this place, and would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    954
    355
    126
    111
See reviews for
994
1,229
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibbons
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great 1 week vacation with the family. The resort is situated right on a reef and we could use a snorkel/mask for 1 hour a day. The varieties of fish was amazing and we usually could find a sea turtle swimming around as well.
There is lots to do right on the resort - we did archery and air rifle target shooting under the supervision of their staff (Omar). Safe and fun. The lazy river was a nice way to cool down. The staff run all kinds of activities throughout the day and the evening programs in the theatre were entertaining.
The rooms were adequate although we did have some problems with the A/C. They were very responsive to our concerns.
The a la carte restaurants were excellent but the most popular (Japanese) had no availability during the week were there even though we booked the morning after we arrived. The Brazilian was my favorite and the waiter (Alverto) really helped to make it so - he was fun and very personable.
I thought it was a very good family resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was great, it's got all sorts of amenities, although the rooms could use a little upgrading. In general everything is great, the rooms we stayed in were great since we had an ocean view, very clean. The food was my main issue, the buffets are huge but the quality is not great, it's the same you'd find in a $10 buffet bar... not bad but not great either. Aside from that, the service is excellent, the bars are great and the staff is very helpful.
There are several specialty restaurants for dinner, the ones I liked best was japanese, mediterranean and brazilian. The beach is awesome, there are a few parts somewhat rocky, but just avoid them and you'll be OK (they're fairly visible). There's a large show every night, it's pretty fun to hang out while having a drink.

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a room on the back of the hotel on the beachfront, the view is great and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vhgonzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We've had wonderful 1 week AI vacation at the Mayan site.
Pros:
- The staff were polite, friendly and wonderful - concierge, cart drivers, cleaning staff, restaurant waitress, etc. They took good care of us and made sure we had the best holiday. Two thumbs up!
- Close proximity to various attractions: Coba ruin, Akumal turtle beach, Tulum ruin, many cenotes, Playa del Carmen
- Great variety of buffet & a la Carte restaurant (we tried Mexican which was so-so, Japanese teppanyaki was excellent despite some burnt veggies, Brazilian which had good choice of meat - would definitely recommend Japanese & Brazilian)
- Restaurant & bar have very long opening hours compared to other resorts that we've been too. Meaning you aren't restricted to just 2 hours breakfast or lunch or dinner time. Big plus for us! Try the taco bar by the beach. Amazing!
- The resort is clean and well-maintained, though could use some touch-up here & there to revitalize the look. But we always see the maintenance crew all the time, cleaning the pools, mowing the lawn.. Really beautiful ground.
- The sprawling resort respects the nature, thus we can see diverse variety of flora & fauna everywhere.
- Our room (located at Naab) is spacious, clean & has very good lay-out. Air con works well & very quiet - an oasis after a long day at the blazing heat of mayan riviera sun. Unfortunately, our room was on the first floor. A bit noisy with the whoozing sound from the cart outside and toooo many mosquitoes. Perhaps second or third floor room will remedy this problem.

Cons:
- Beach was too grainy & rocky. Awkward, narrow shape with big rocks formation on the left & right. Definitely needs to bring water shoes. However, the marine life is fantastic for beginner or young snorkelers (our 6 yo daughter enjoyed the snorkeling off the beach). Husband was not too keen with the limited option of water sports here. No kayaking, no wind surfing, and the dive was nothing compared to cozumel. So I guess it depends on what you're looking for in your vacation and this place might or might not be the right one for you.
- Mattress & pillow were horrible. I like my mattress hard at home, but this was plain outdated, and rock hard. The pillow didn't support my neck at all - had to use 2, but still uncomfortable. Definitely not a 5-stars quality. However, if you're willing to spend extra money, they have upgraded room which had luxurious mattress & pillow, and very, very beautiful furniture as well. Bottom line, they reserve their 5-stars quality room for upgrade clientele!

All in all, a beautiful resort with good value for your money. But definitely could use some upgrade for their standard room if they want to claim their 5-stars name.

Room Tip: If you're in the Mayan site, Naab would be good choice. Try 2nd or 3rd floor. If you've extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was lovely albeit not 5 star, but we did not expect it to be after reading others comments. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. You could not fault the choice of food available in the buffet and the majority of it was good. Our favourite restaurants were japanese and brazilian. The beach bar and beach were great, spend most of our time there! The hotel is in need of a bit of an update, bathrooms especially! Our room was always cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Our family have had a great time and would definitely recommend to familIes.

Room Tip: Always choose top floor as bottom ones are very damp smelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

the hotel is well laid out and the beach is beautifull, the rooms were large but could do with a bit of a revamp, i.e. new furniture would make the world of difference. The entertainment staff and bar staff/waiters were all excellent. Was not happy about having to pay for a safe and wifi but it is a necesity especially if you have bad weather which we did for the first couple of days. The food in the a la carte restaurants was good and the buffet was ok (not hot enough for my liking). The wildlife around the hotel grounds was amazing and the fishes swam around your legs in the sea. Overall a nice hotel but compared to five stars I have previously stayed in it did not come up to scratch. We met some amazing people though and had a totally awesome holiday.

Room Tip: we were in block 20 which was perfect location, close enough to everything but not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was the best holiday we have had. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are amazing, so polite and happy and must mention the special effort the animation staff put in especially Johnny and Jesus who go above and beyond. Also the pool bar staff who work so hard to make it a fantastic place to be. Cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
4.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing