We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, Great Property BUT some improvements a MUST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Resort, Great Property BUT some improvements a MUST!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A little late in writing this but didn't want to go without doing so.
We visited this resort Nov 14 through to Nov 28th 2012 as a family of four - Age 14 months, age 7, and 2 adults.
We used RCI to book and were treated with a few extra "Bonuses" as they were celebrating a milestone and wanted RCI members to experience a visit there as they would if they were a true member/owner of a timeshare of the Resort itself. We were given access to the member's lounge which gave us free internet access, free international from 8am to 11pm, we were also given an opportunity to book the ala cartes for every night that we were there provided the restaurant an time we wanted were available (having 2 young kid we wanted 6 or 6:30 pm so we were only able to get 10 out of the 14 nights as the rest were booked but we were good with that), we were also given access to free room service. All great perks. Check in was great.
Here is the catch - we were also assigned a personal concierge "Christian" he was fabulous and attentative until it came time for us to attend their "sales pitch" which happened between week one and week two of our stay. After we politely declined buying into their resort (why would we when we already own timeshare property just down the road, which is how we ended up there through RCI???) Christian was no where to be seen from or heard from again, and when we need his assistance with week two of our stay - we didn't get it. Apparently this is quite common practice for him and the staff was not surprised when we mentioned it (he reports to his wife so what does that tell you...lol).
About the resort:
*It is HUGE which is great if you love walking and exploring and are staying there for more than a week and want to try a variety of pools, spots on the beach, restaurants, etc. BUT it is not stroller or wheelchair friendly and the carts are hard to come by to take you from area to area so if you have young kids this may be difficult. I used a baby sling/carrier most of the time and the stroller only when I had to as we has to carry the stroller up/down stairs to get to certain areas of the resort without having to make huge detours or the pathways were to small to fit the stroller wheels through.
*Buffetts have limited number of Highchairs, so at the "peak" periods you may be out of luck in getting one and waiting or using your stroller
*A la carte's do not have a kids menu and never open on time (about 5-15 minutes late), and the Brazillian they serve the people in a mumble jumble order (they don't care that you have a screaming kid who is starving/you wait your turn depending on who your server is - and we usually got the new guy who was serving everybody last!)
*Find a server you like for breakfast and lunch and stick with them - one who will bring you cofee/tea, juice, highchair as soon as they see you so you are not waiting and tip him (I say him as 90% of the servers are male) $1 or $2 a day. You get what you want, and they are so happy with the $1 or $2, it's win win for all!!!
*Bar in the lobby is horrible for mixed drinks - never get the same drink twice
*Beach bar is great for drinks, but service can be slow so get 2 at the same time (bring your own cups and if you plan on drinking the shushy type or mixed drinks with a straw bring a cup that has one as it is hit and miss as to whether you will get one - they say they are not giving them to save the environment)
*BRING BEACH/WATER SHOES - Very rocky but the water is amazing and a must to go in just to see the swarms of mini fish. Grab some bread from the buffetts with you and feed the fish, they are faboulous to watch. If you have a snorkel mask you don't have to go far to see them at all and turtles can be seen as well.
* Pools are a little cool but not busy there are a few to choose from, shallower one's for the kids, swim up bars, etc.
* Lazy river is fun always tubes available
* No umbrella's available anywhere if it rains unless you want to buy one at the gift shop - we had a few 10-30 minutre showers and this is the 1st 5* resort that did not have umbrellas in the rooms
* People above us left their jacuzzi on/over flowed, we came back from dinner and our bed was soaked. Maid came took mattress pad and changed sheets and said she would bring mattress pad back the next day. We called Christian (our personal concierge) to let him know some of our clothing had also been made wet by this and got no response. We were later told that this happens often (people leaving tubs on) and that the normal procedure is a to give those inconvienced free laundry service if clothes/etc. are damaged or offer of free spa services - we were given neither (Thanks Christian NOT) - We had to hand wash the laundry in the tub and hang to dry on the balcony to get rid of the smell left by the water smell from the leak.
* My Daughter went to the kids club once for a couple hours and painted - she was not impressed. The staff attending the kids try, but don't have kids of their own and sometimes seem lost and bored as to what to do with them especially if they only have 1 or two there.
* Same goes with the Mini Disco at night, our kids lovedthe dancing, but it was hit and miss with the staff running it. Some of them were there to flaunt their own dancing skills and costumes and did not get down to the kids levels or even touch the kids/try and get them to participate, while others went out of their way to make it fun and interactive.
* Night time shows were good/not great - ran late so my husband and 7 year old saw them and my 7 year old often ended up falling asleep part way through.
* rooms were clean, no bugs -always had clean towels and towel art. There version of a crib is a playpen which I found odd for a 5*. Mini bar was stocked with pop, beer and 2 small bottles of water and 1 large bottle of water. We requested 2 larger bottles of water as we were using formula and needed it for the baby - this had to be approved daily by mgmt and became a pain.
* Racoons on property will come up to open food onthe beach so if you leave to go for a swim/walk do not leave your plates or snacks out - they are friendly enough but not very clean
* You have to get up early to get a shaded area/chairs on the beach and mark them
* Gift shop is expensive so bring the required stuff with you (lotions, tylenol, etc.)
* Cab ride into town is about $25 USD - if you are going to buy booze, remember you can't buy booze on sundays after 2pm in town unless you are going to somewhere like walmart/the street vendorsaren't allowed to sell it
*Spa is expensive but wonderful
*timeshare presentation will last 3 hours or more (not 90 min like they say)- do not go unless you have the time to waste or you have the intention of perhaps buying into it, it is not worth the $100 gift cert. for the gift shop/spa!
*Mediterrian Rest. is FABULOUS!!!!
*Italian Rest. not so much
* Japanese a Must see - great show and great food :)

Room Tip: Ask for 2 or 3 floor Building 28 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeekerBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    965
    360
    128
    113
See reviews for
1,015
1,246
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived 01-13-13- the room was not ready when we arrived but was about a hour after. Check-in was easy and was offered the ocean view upgrade but for the price of almost $250 per person for the week we passed. Seems a little step for a look at the ocean which you can see from the beach that is about a 5 minute walk. The resort was very clean and always saw someone cleaning the ground or doing maintenance. The room was very large but not the most conventional design. The bed is very hard and pillows are very flat but did receive more when i called the concierge. The main issue with the room is that there is no divider between the bathroom and the rest of the room. You could look from the toilet all the way to the balcony, but had a door you could shut but still had a giant opening in the wall. The pools were very nice and kept clean and the swim up bars were fantastic. Drinks we for sure made with cheaper alcohol and all tasted different from bar to bar. The noise at night is one of the major issues we had. At all hours of the night even at 3:00 in the morning you could hear people yelling and screaming, as well as doors slamming shut. This was almost a nightly occurrence and did not help when you were trying to sleep. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful but some of the security staff could smile and say hello once and awhile. The major issue with the resort by far is the food, it was awful. The a la cart's were nothing to brag about at all and the daily food was all plain. Most of the time the hot food was cold and tasted old, while the cold food was at least kept cold. There is plenty of wildlife at the resort and are very friendly and nothing to be scared off. Overall compared to other resorts that claim to be 5 star, they far exceed what our experience was like at this resort. If we ever return back to Mexico we will not stay at this resort again, but would recommend it if the price is low enough.

Room Tip: Stay in the 2000 block. Close to the pool and main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Came home from an amazing week at the grand Sirenis! Everything was fantastic from the food to the service to the grounds! We were very pleased with the amount of effort every staff member took to make our trip special. Before we left we read quite a few reviews, even the bad ones, so we knew what to expect when we got there. I know that one place will not please everyone, and maybe we aren't as picky as others but if you are looking to relax and have a good time this place will do both. There is a lot of walking at this resort, but when you eat the amounts we did you don't mind a little walking. The Grand Sirenis is very well maintained, the grounds are clean and there wasn't a day went by that we didn't see someone raking, sweeping or mopping the main walking areas. The waitresses that brought us our drinks on the beach made our day. You could hear them coming as they were dancing and singing, so happy. From the architecture to the landscaping to the quality of food and service this is truly a 5 star. Overall, very satisfied with our stay at the Grand Sirenis.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmayanbeach, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi Erik K, thank you for sending your feedback! It is great to read that your trip was special to you, and that your expectations were fulfilled, as well as that your time was both relaxing and fun. I hope to see you walking around the beautiful grounds of the resort soon. Best regards, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've just returned from my first holiday in Mexico; we stayed at the Grand Sirenis which is one of the cheapest all-inclusive resorts. The service was excellent; the staff are really friendly. A special mention for Jorge (el capitano) and Eva. We spoke to several people who didn't think that the food was very good; personally I thought the standard and variety was excellent. I definitely recommend the Brazilian a la carte. The only downside is the distance from Cancun Airport; I'd recommend booking a taxi with your tour operator rather than a bulk standard transfer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnmasoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'll start off by saying this place is big I got lost the first morning I ventured out,got a little turned around and went the wrong way.After the first day not a problem.The beaches were great did lots some snorkeling saw plenty of fish and some turtles right off the beach (There not as rocky as other people are saying).Rooms were quite big jetted tub and a great shower lots of hot water and pressure (In mexico thats a good thing) beds were a little hard, pillows a little flat but I find that every where we go(We have been to Mexico aroud 30 times from Mexico city to Cabo), Sound travels in all these hotels since they are all tile and concrete and nothing to absorb the sounds which I find in all the hotels down here so expect some noise at night.Not a pool person but there are plenty of pools on the property and pool bars. There are two bars near the beaches and a great snack bar that had great food and every day at lunch they set up bbqs and cooked burgers, hot dogs, chicken wings, pork chops ect... The buffets were better than I would have expected( By far the best buffets I have been to in Mexico) I had T bone steaks every night cooked any way you like them, kitchen manager was always out asking if you needed anything and was more than happy to get it for you. All of the staff were great We never had any problems while we were there. If you want to go to Akumal beach to snorkel all you do is walk out to the main road(about 10 min) there will be a van on the other side of the road he will take you there for 20 Pesos drop you off on the side of the road and you walk over the pedestian walkway and go straight for 10 min. There are a couple of stores there for snacks, pop, beer. and a resturaunt.Same to return. T go to Playa same idea get on the van he will take you to Playa for 40 Pesos (About 30 minutes)and drop you off just remember what st he dropped you off and go back there.
All in all a great resort, but as in all things not everyone likes the same things and some are harder to please then theres the ones that will never be pleased.
Would I go back? you bet I would.
Go with an open mind,don't expect to much and smile,treat people good and you will have a great time.
To all the staff, Thank you for everything,and we will see you again.
Mike and Diana from Calgary,Canada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigboyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived Tuesday, Jan 8/13 - the room was nice and big with a large opening in the wall between the main room and the washroom. THE WASHROOM HAS NO PRIVACY!!! It has a jetted tub (fits 2 adults comfortabley), the sink area, a stand alone shower and then the toilet area that did have a frosted glass door, that leaves an opening to to both the ceiling and floor - the door does not close, just swings back and forth - NO PRIVACY!
I understand the humidity, but the room smells musty and mouldy as soon as you enter and there was mould on the tile in the shower and in most corners of the room. The linen all smelled and we had to use our bath towels to cover the pillows in order to be able to sleep on them.
The resort was nice and landscaped well. There were iguanas, the odd gecko, racoons and tons of different birds to be spotted at any given time.
It was quite windy our entire 7day trip - red flag the whole time. The main beach is somewhat rocky and a little hard to get out to the sandy spot when the waves were crashing in and out so hard. If you walk to the very far left/end of the beach, there were a couple of small bays that were much less rocky and also had decent snorkeling (would have been great if it hadn't been so windy), but we didn't find this spot till our last day.
The buffet meals were decent with pretty standard options.
Our first A'lacarte dinner is when things turned......I had the spinach stuffed chicken from the Bayou Restaurant and shared the large portion with my spouse as I couldn't finish it, and within 3 hours, I was violenting vomitting and within an hour after me starting, my spouse did too. We spent all night trying to "share" the one very non-private bathroom and it was horrific to say the least.
We visited the resort Doctor in the morning who would not confirm we had food poisoning but was more that willing to give us a shot and medication for it for $500 USD each (but without a diagnoisis).
We spoke to the Transat representative who completely brushed us off, literally picked up her book and walked away from us. A concierge did approach us and offered to send some toast to our room, which did show up about 2hrs later.
We suffered and stayed in bed for 3 of our 7day vacation. We talked to our own concierge at our room block and the front desk. Not once, was extra water sent up to us while we were dehydrating (they only supply 1 bottle and don't replace it until it is completely empty - don't expect to ever have 2 bottles of water at one time).
On our very last night, we did try the steakhouse and were very dissappointed when we were seated at the very back of the restaurant beside the trays of stacked dirty dishes with partially eaten food on them. We physically moved our chairs around to not have to face the trays and when I pointed it out to the server, he made no effort to move us to one of the other 9 or 10 empty tables that stayed empty our entire meal. Later that night, we did receive a call from someone saying the were aware of our "issue" and was there anything they could do to help us be more comfortable.....but we were leaving the next morning, too bad the call hadn't come 5 days earlier when we desperately needed toast/crackers and a ton more water!
The serving/room cleaing/bar fridge staff were all very polite, most didn't speak english, but they always acknowledge you with a smile and hola. We found if you ordered water while sitting on the beach, the servers just didn't come back.......they were good as long as you were ordering booze.
We were very dissapointed with the service and found the resort to be more of a 3 star destination, definetly not a 5 star. Oh and made the mistake on the morning of check out, to look under the bed to make sure we hadn't missed anything - GROSS!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in building 29. Upgraded to 3rd floor beachfront as we were staying 14 nights. ROOMS large and very well maintained. Each room had a jetted tub, shower, fridge and coffee pot, deck with table and chairs. Service requests answered promptly. Concierge in each unit made alacarte planning simple and all other needs met through this service. Room service available which was good hot food on a limited menu but still was a nice option. Took our own water shoes for BEACH as it has white sand shore but rocky areas in water. Rugged rocky bay made for great SNORKELING and we saw turtles and variety of fish. Great areas for beginner snorkelers but experienced can head out a bit farther to reef areas in bay. Lifeguards on duty during day and we actually saw them go into the water to assist someone who got out into the surf and seemed to be in trouble. Was good to see the service and medical personnel in the resort if you needed the services.
Beach bar had a taco bar and salad bar which we ate at every day. They provided a selection of burgers, hot dogs, fries, chicken wings in addition to fresh made tacos. Every day at 1 pm there is a beach BBQ with burgers and hot dogs available and a beach special meal every day including seafood paella or fajitas. Variety of beverages available. Service on the beach very good. Self serve ice and beverage machine made it easy to get a beverage at all times. Coffee shop made great iced cappuccinos and a variety of high quality beverages using fresh ground coffee beans. Small buffets in pool areas were open for breakfast and lunch and gave a convenient alternative to the two large buffets as they were central to most areas. Large buffets were adequate and we always found good salad fixings and the fresh fish and chicken cooking areas ensured fresh hot food. Patio on large buffet was nice to dine because was a bit quieter and I never missed a chance to enjoy the nice weather. There are a few small sundry stores Onsite that sell items you might need like sunscreen or toiletries. Good to have that option but can be pricey. Did not visit pool areas as we love the beach but the pools were very nicely set up. We did travel on the Lazy river tubes one afternoon and it was a great way to cool off and very popular with all ages. Chose this resort for the rugged beach, great snorkelling and large rooms. Was a great holiday at a great price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshineseeker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
148.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing