We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mexican Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Mexican Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just came back from a fantastic holiday at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach. Hotel is absolutely beautiful, water was very warm, weather was amazing and beach is Fantastico, stuff is very friendly and always happy to serve you! I wish the service in Toronto was as great as in Mexico! Traveled with my boyfriend for a week and we both had an amazing time at Grand Sirenis. It is definitely a couples or family resort. There were hardly any singles and few people to mingle with.

HOTEL: The hotel is very modern and new, there is granite everywhere and you feel like you are just engulfed in luxury. We had a pool facing room on the 3rd floor. Never had any troubles with water pressure (as other people complained in their reviews). The only weird thing about the room is that there is a big opening the size of a window (just without glass) in the wall between the bathroom and the room. Prepare to feel closer to your partner than ever before :). People complained about the mattresses but we found them okay, they are definitely hard but not to the point of ruining your sleep. The maids came every day, changed the towels, made the bed, changed the water and other drinks in the fridge. Sometimes she even left us an extra bottle of water even though the one we had was almost full. A/C was working perfectly. There was no noise at any time of day or night. The only problem we had was that there was a water interruption during two nights of our stay. As we were explained the water pipe from the water source to the resort and a couple of other resorts in the area broke and the company who supplies water had to repair it. The water was up and running again at 9am the next morning.

FOOD: Food is good, there's lots of variety but as any buffet by the end of the trip you kind of get tired of it. We had three a la carte reservations and the concierge on the main floor of our building was so nice that he actually booked one more restaurant for us. We went to Mexican, Japanese, Cajun and the Steak House. Despite a couple of bad reviews about the Steak House, it was our favorite. Especially the pork ribs and the rib-eye steak! Cajun and Japanese were very good too, Mexican - nothing special. Breakfast is so much better at the main buffet. If you can make it there before 10am, it's worth going.

BEACH: Bring water shoes and sunscreen with high SPF factor (60 or higher)! We got burned the first day even though we were sitting under an umbrella and had sunscreen on (30 SPF), which was definitely not enough. There are two beach areas, one beach is bigger and closer to the beach bar and the lazy river. It's beautiful and the water was very warm. Bring your water shoes and the rocks in the water will not be a problem for you. The second beach is further away, but it has amazing snorkeling facilities as there is some kind of a riff in between the two rocks and there are tons of colourful FISH all around it. It's a paradise for people who love SNORKELING! We spent hours in the water just watching the fish, feeding and fallowing them around. There were a couple of days when the water was not clear but on the other days we fully enjoyed the underwater world and people who were feeding the fish in the shallow water could clearly see them without the masks. The other beach also has less rocks underwater so if you are concerned with hurting your feet - just swim in that area.

TOURS: Went snorkeling with Turtles for $40 which was offer on the beach. Very exciting!!! Saw four turtles and a couple of stingrays. They take you by a boat to Akumal, which is 5 min away and show you the places where turtles are. We had to fallow the guide all the time and he was bringing us from one turtle to the next and showing other different fish and different sea creatures.
Took a tour to the Mayan Jungle. It was pretty exciting. Went zip lining three times, snorkeling in the caves with stalactites and stalagmites, be cautious the water is very refreshing! One guy had a cramp the first minutes he was in the water and could not continue the excursion with us.
Went to Cozumel on our own. There was a tour offered on the beach for $110 and we spent $60 each including transportation, snorkeling tour on a glass boat and car rental for the day. First we took a collectivo (mini bus) to Playa Del Carmen, costs $3.50 and it is very safe. We never felt threatened or unwelcome during the whole trip. In Playa Del Carmen we met a very nice guy who offers services in Cozumel right at the collectivo stop. He offered us a snorkeling tour for $25 each and to rent a car for $40 for a day. Since we did not know the prices and how reliable it was we did not buy it, but later while we were shopping on the local market and were offered similar services, we actually learned that his prices were very good and only after long negotiations with another tour provider could we get the same price for car rental and snorkeling tour. The only problem was the actual car we rented as it was ancient as the Mayan ruins and we had a feeling it can fall apart any minute. The tour guy on the bus stop was offering a much better car for the same $40. Take your time to shop around and choose a car that you will actually enjoy driving.
Cozumel offers snorkeling tours and swimming with dolphins. We did not know that before we came there and unfortunately did not take enough money to do it. But it is definitely much cheaper than the same tours offered at the hotel and I wish we knew that beforehand.

ENTERTAINMENT: There was a show every night at the hotel theater. We only saw a couple of shows and they were pretty good for a resort. Lion King was very impressive with good costumes and great dancing. There is a disco at the resort, but since it was on the other side of the resort and started at 11:30pm we never made it there. The most fun was at one of the pools with loud music, games, water volleyball and swim up bar. There were some games at the beach too, but mostly atmosphere on the beach was pretty relaxing .

DRINKS: Drinks were not strong, but you can definitely ask the bartenders to give you a double or a triple. For me they were just fine for having fun and relaxing but not loosing control. There is service on the beach. The lady is always very nice and genuinely enjoys her work. It takes her about 15 min to bring a drink that you ordered so if you are being impatient it's easier to go to the beach bar yourself. Especially since it's so close.

TIPS: We tiped the maids, bartenders and servers in a la carte restaurants from time to time. Nothing crazy, just a dollar or two here and there. They definitely do not ask for tips and do not expect it, you just want to reward them for hard work and great service always with a smile.


In general, we had a blast at Grand Sirenis and would definitely recommend it to other couples! We have read good and bad reviews about the resort before we actually came there. I guess it has kind of lowered our expectations, but despite all the negativity we read from the other people's experiences, we did not come across the same issues and had a very good time. I guess a lot depends on the season and on the weather, which was fantastic! There were clouds but not a single rainy day!!! We were told that we got lucky, as August is usually the rainy season.

Room Tip: Makal Building is very close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V_T0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    896
    337
    121
    109
See reviews for
924
1,151
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned home from the grand sirenis this morning and thought I'll write a review while everything is all fresh in my head. I read a lot of reviews before I visited as I do take in all people say and I felt very excited by them as they were very good, unfortunately I didn't quite agree with everything that's been said. Firstly the rooms are great and very spacious, a few probs with toilet but fixed after the second time it was reported and we didn't even have a glass screen separating our bathroom but that wasn't a prob as I was with my husband. The restaurants are very good especially the brazilian, we were let down by the French one as they wouldn't let children under 12 in and because of this it was practically empty every night, plus thats the one you have to pay an extra £30 each for which isn't right seen as though you pay enough to go in the first place, but can understand as the menu is really good and very expensive food on offer. Around the pool was fine but quite loud and quizzes very repetitive so we knew the answers and weren't allowed to win a prize, we had to give others a chance! The grounds are lovely and very well kept and it's great ti see the iguanas wondering around! The beach is lovely if you go past the main bit and walk round to the left, the sand is softer and you can walk in the sea without hurting your feet, on the main bit of beach there is at least 3 meters of stones and rock before you reach the soft sand so we went further round and were happy. There are a lot of lovely four poster sun beds and thick cushioned chairs but don't be mislead it's not for the standard holiday maker only the premium guests and to make sure you don't use their better beds etc there are ropes around, even in the reception, there were better chairs they had their own outdoor sitting are and wifi area plus a posh games room that we weren't allowed to use which really angered me as it made me feel unworthy and second class, we paid nearly £6000 for our holiday and still felt as though we weren't good enough and a few people felt the same. The biggest flaw with the hotel is on a night, if you don't want to watch the shows in the boiling outdoor theatre with no aircon then your only option is to go and sit in the lobby bar which to me felt like I was waiting in an airport lounge, it's so big and loud and no where near enough seats to cater for the amount of people staying there, and no where to walk out on a night so you were stuck, when you did eventually spot someone leaving their seat it was a mad dash to get there first before someone else did, it really let it down and all the Brits agreed who we met there, there was another lovely stylish bar but only for the premium people!!! I know there isn't many positives but I do feel as though an honest review was needed as it hasn't been stated before in recent reviews and I booked my holiday believing how good the reviews were, so the good points were the spacious rooms, lovely beach, nice restaurants and of course the fab sunshine. Would I return? No. Would I recommend it? No. The nighttime was a huge letdown and in the end we went to bed early some nights as the drinks weren't that good, measures were far too strong. Mexico is wonderful but we've been spoilt at the riu tequila we visited last year at playa car, we should've just gone back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Layla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Let me begin by saying this Hotel is not 5 star, however I would say a good 4 star. We are 4 adults aged between 43-53, 2 couples. This resort is huge so whatever you do make sure you have everything in the bag you need for the beach! Rooms consist of either a super king bed or 2 double beds, the rooms do have the frosted glass partition between the bathroom and bedroom but wasnt a problem for us, however if our 20 year old daughter had been with us it would have been difficult. The food was excellent in the buffet restaurant albeit very repetitive. The A laCartes were very good, we tried the Steak House,Italian, Japanese, Mediterranean and Cajun. Our favourite was the Cajun, the steak was better than the steak house, our least favourite was the Japanese, where we seemed to be waiting forever for the cooking show to commence ( one couple walked out it was that long ) but what else were we doing? I have been to Mexico a number of times and have to say the beach was disappointing. It is made up of bays which are very picturesque, but there was nowhere to walk to and have a mooch. We enjoy a long walk in the morning and late afternoon, to get that important all over even tan. THe water was quite murky due to the topical storms in the gulf and my brother who spends all day more or less snorkelling was disappointed. Having said that on our last day he managed to see a massive stingray and the turtles, so he was happy! We sat on the beach at the furthest point away from the beach bar, the bar service was the best we have ever had, the waitresses Karen and Lupita were exceptional, no sooner had we finished one drink they were there again ready to take our next order. ( A massive thankyou ladies ).There are wild monkeys in the trees which back onto the rooms and we managed to watch them going berserk sqwaking and throwing balcony furniture about, great to see at a distance but a bit scary too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TILLY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I rarely leave a review but felt I should about this hotel. Returned today and were really disapointed with our stay. I had read all the reviews and thought the odd bad review was probably from very picky people.

Maintanence- The hotel grounds were immaculate and the beach lovely but the hotel had lots of problems that were not dealt with. The quiet pool is shallow by design but the water level was about a foot too low making the filter system useless and the pool to shallow to swim in really. The lazy river rarely had more than a foot of water and then was roped off completely with no explanation for the last two days of our stay. In our room (which could have been cleaner) we had a major leak the first night - to be fair they fixed it quickly. What is strange is when the maintanence is done in the hotel. We had one man beating the hell out of a floor light outside our room at 10pm to change a bulb, then no water one morning with absolutely no explanation. The concierge said they were 'cleaning the pipes' (a new one on me) and the water would be on soon. It came on at 11am having been off all morning.

Food - to be honest we have had much better buffet food in an all inclusisve. To be fair there was a reasonable selection but the quality could have been much better. The buffet restaurants are basically big halls with little/no atmoshere and it can be difficult to get drinks served. The gourmet restaurants are booked by the concierge and can be difficult to arrange but we never saw any of them anywhere near full. The purpose of the concierge is more to push the 'premier package'.

Premier package - REALLY annoying. We spent an hour and a half looking for sunbeds on our first day but couldnt find any on the beach or near any of the pools. However there are little roped off areas for 'premier' guests only that had loads of empty sunbeds. Sorry but these should have been opened for normal guests if there were not enough for everyone. The premier upgrade thing is really rubbed in your face and gets frustrating when so many of the facilities exclusively for them are near empty and everything else so packed.

If you are looking for a quiet vacation stay somewhere else. The whole hotel is packed with entertainment which is fine if thats what you want. Even the 'quiet pool' is really noisy being so close to the beach bar. All in all we have stayed in much better quality hotels at similar prices and were really disappointed considering its supposed to be one of First Choice's premier hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was at the Grand Sirenis in July 2012. I was traveling with 20 other friends and family and everyone had an amazing trip. Oscar at the entertainment pool kept all of us busy ( kids and adullts) We had great food at the lobby buffet and enjoyed each of the al-a-cartes we went to. Our rooms were clean and well kept up every day. Staff was very friendly. I don't have one complaint. Five of us in our party used the spa and had such a relaxing wonderful day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got home from a 2 week all inclusive holiday in mexico staying at the grand sirenis resort. This place is truly excellent,the complex its self cannot be faulted,the pool area's,beach,restaraunts,bars and rooms exceeded expectation. I would reccommend taking mexican peso's for money as it is hard to spend us dollars in the hotel, also men are not allowed to wear shorts in the al a carte restaurants which is not stated in the brochure, so i had to go and buy a pair on arrival.
I would definatly revisit this hotel if i was going back to mexico,all of the staff who work here are very freindly and cannot do enough for you,they realy do work hard. The bar man in the tequila bar area called Clemente is amazing,he remembers everybody who is staying there, is constantly smiling and works very hard, a credit to the hotel!!
We spent alot of time a round the pool down near the beach which is 1 of 3, they work hard to keep it clean and constantly come round collecting drink orders so you dont even have to venture to the bar if you dont want,we met some nice people around the pool and we all had the same thoughts of the hotel,i would definatly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned 24-8-12 after a weeks holiday at the Grand Sirenis and have been thoroughly impressed by most aspects of it. We had some reservations about the accommodation from other reviews due to the size of the resort and on our arrival our room was quite far from the main areas of the hotel. This however was resolved within 5 mins of arrival following a brief call to the reception desk. I have to say we were very impressed by their reaction when they said give us 20 mins to sort it out, but actually called back within minutes and re-allocated us a room much more suitable to our needs. We have not been to many hotels where staff had been so helpful to ensure that you get as close as possible to your requirements.

We are very often quite critical of holidays having paid alot of money to be there, however, can find very little worth mentioning that I feel I can even be critical about. The hotel caters for whatever type of holiday you want whether it be a busy activity pool holiday, quiet pool holiday or beach as it has different areas to allow people to enjoy in their own way. There was never a problem getting a sunbed, the hotel was full when we went and there were still plenty spare even after 9am!

The food at the hotel was above and beyond other holidays we have been on with 3 visits per week to any of the 7 al la carte restaurants, and we have to say having visited the Steak House, Mexican and Italian in our week found them to be really high quality and good service. We also have to give credit to the normal buffet restaurants which are very often quite poor in hotels we have visited, but this was certainly not the case here. The choices at the buffet were extensive and all of good quality, I would certainly recommend the hotel on the basis of its food alone.

We also have to mention the friendly staff, especially Clemente and his partner from the Tequila bar in the lobby. They were to say the least fantastic and a credit to the hotel in the way that they treated customers with a friendly and humorous manner whilst making sure that your drinks were varied and never empty. They work extremely long hours but their good humor never failed and we feel staff like this very often put the icing on the cake to a good holiday, which for certain they platinum plated ours!

Yes the jacuzzi bath is slow to fill, but my god just put it on when you get back to the room, enjoy a drink from the mini bar, watch a bit of tv and chill out while it fills, after all you are on holiday! Together with this the rooms are huge compared to other holidays of the same standard that we have been on, and the air conditioning works keeping the room cool. You do however need to keep the key in the slot to ensure it stays on and housekeeping do take it out, but the room is cool when you return and it only takes a couple of minutes to really chill back down once you put the key back in.

The spa has a well maintained gym which is free of charge, however anything beyond that has to be paid for with the prices being quite expensive. The only other drawback is its location, a long walk from the main hotel areas, use the shuttle golf buggies they come along every 20 mins..

In conclusion the pivotal point for us that recommends this hotel is the fact that we would most certainly consider booking another holiday here, something which we have never done or wanted to do in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room, in either block 18 or rooms 1000 to 1045 as these are the best placed, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJ711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
5.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 456
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing