We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Casitas Akumal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Casitas Akumal
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place was perfect for a low-key beach vacation with access to all sorts of activities... Clean, friendly, attentive and original. We had an absolutely wonderful time and will be back soon. If you're looking for the all-inclusive overdone resort feel, this place isn't for you, but if you want to feel like you're in Mexico, surrounded by Mayan culture and stunning beaches, Las Casitas is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed with our children and grandchildren at Las Casitas for a week earlier this month. We bought food for our breakfasts and lunches and ate dinner out. The beach out front was beautiful and was soft sand, with a lot of fish swimming near the reefs. Not only was the beach out front great, but there was a beach right next door that was roped off (to keep boats out- a big safety feature) where we snorkeled and saw the sea turtles.

We rented a large casita (there were six of us), and it was on two levels- the lower level had the kitchen and living room and the upper level had two bedrooms, each with its own private bathroom. The master bedroom had a balcony and a beautiful view, overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The other bedroom had two double beds. This arrangement worked out well for us.

We really enjoyed the quiet of Akumal and the privacy of the beach. The Casitas are located at the North end of the Bay of Akumal, and are within walking distance of the small shops in the town. (For a better buy on groceries, there is a bridge across the highway into the original town of Akumal that has better prices, though not a great selection.) There is a much bigger store, like a Walmart, down south on Highway 307, opposite the road to Coba -signs on the east side of the highway point to a "supermarket." The supermarket part has a great selection of groceries, some wines and liquors, and the prices are MUCH lower than in any of the shops in Akumal. It also has a bunch of ATM machines.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beachfront. We stayed in room #17 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeepleWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Very nice houses for 4 in a wonderful beach. Each one with a different style (since the owners are actually different persons) a patio, a garden and a path to the sea and the coral. Everything is fine, but the casitas themselves are getting old and need some renewals (we stayed at the 9th and the 2nd). Mosquitos are the annoying but under control. The most beautiful reef for snorkelling is at 100 meters, so be prepared to walk a little to be in the best spot.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungry Horse, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We love Las Casitas, have stayed once and are going back. Wonderful little casitas, beach is great for small kids and the house had everything we could need. Very low key place, private and affordable. Would never think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TishElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This little slice of heavenly beach has been a favorite of ours for at least 10 years. The casitas are spacious and include full kitchens. They are kept very clean by the efficient and friendly staff. The private beach is just steps away where you can relax on the chairs or take advantage of the sea kayaks available for use. If you didn't bring your mask and snorkel, rent one at the Akumal Dive Center just down the beach and take in the cannons near the point and swim in the bay with the turtles.
If you don't want to use the kitchen in the casita, there are several great dining options within walking distance. The drinks and food at Lol-Ha Beach Bar are yummy and best consumed at their beach side tables. I've never been disappointed by the seafood or libations at La Cueva del Pescador and Turtle Bay Cafe is a great choice for breakfast.

Room Tip: I prefer the one story units with the palapas for outside dining. We've most recently stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LDDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Level Contributor
575 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Located a short jaunt down the beach from Akumal is this beautiful little resort. We had a unit on the second floor with an expansive palapa covered patio looking out on the the Caribbean blue sea. The unit was perfect, larger than we needed with a king bed looking out on the sea. A huge spacious living area with fully functional kitchen. It is a perfect place for a few a few nights or a longer stay. The units were cleaned daily and were spotless. The internet service which in Mexico can be a bit spotty was excellent. We walked to the town of Akumal along the beach many times during the day. Choosing to drive there at night. We will return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 9 days in mid-November. It was suggested by a friend who has been staying here almost every year for over 20 years. I cannot thank her enough. I have been looking for a laid back place, directly on the water, where you can lay in the sun or take a few steps into the ocean without tripping over anyone to get there. This was the place. Bring your snorkle gear or rent it next door. You walk into the Carribean right there at your casita and within a few yards there are coral reefs with all sorts of colorful fish and also cannons from 18th century shipwrecks. A bit further out and you are swimming with turtles. We never failed to see at least 6-10 each day. We even saw ells and the Spotted Eagle Ray. The location absolutely cannot be beat. Walking distance to several small thatched roof restaurants and bars that serve up excellent cuisine. The casitas are 2 bedroom, 2 bath and our AC would freeze you out if you wished. Maid service every day (she would take the better part of an hour on our place) which included washing the dishes. We had a couple of very minor problems, while we were there. We called the front office and maintenance was there with 5 minutes, literally. I simply cannot say enough about every aspect of this place. This will become an annual pilgrimage for us. Do not miss out. THIS IS THE PLACE !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wkfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#16 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Akumal

Property: Las Casitas Akumal
Address: Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished homes, nestled among lush private gardens overlooking the calm turquoise waters of Akumal Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Casitas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing