We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Las Casitas Akumal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Casitas Akumal
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in number 10 and had a great time. The unit was clean and in a great location, where we just walked out our back door to the beach. The staff was very friendly and even delivered and lit a grill for use to use.

Room Tip: The higher the number the closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLG_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and i are back at Las Casitas Akumal Mx again and the place has all the charm it has always had. We would highly recomend trying Las Casitas out and can almost guarantee that you will be back again. We traveled all over the carribean and have yet to find a nucer place to be while it is freezing back home in Mn. Ther are fine restaurents here with great entertainment, the best snorkeling and diveing in the Rivera Maya.

Room Tip: All 2 bedroom with full kitchen and large living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank poolboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is the one place we return again and again. We've been four times, and my inlaws have been countless times (even on a list to call when one comes up for sale!) We've had many intimate family reunions at the Casitas, spent so much time at the palapa bar, and I have a seriously awesome collection of jewelry from the ! We seriously considered getting married on the beach here (opted for Italy), then met friends who were actually PLANNING to get married there, which fast-forwarded our friendship immediately (we attended)!

We have so many memories in Akumal, I really can't recommend it highly enough. Admittedly, I was disappointed to see it on TripAdvisor as I hoped it could stay our family secret. It's a dream. Our first choice for vacation, always.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hildigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Just arrived home from one of the best family holidays we have ever had. If you want a Las Vegas experience, there are plenty of crowded tacky places to stay in Cancun, but if you want a relaxed, convenient and peaceful kind of holiday, Las Casitas is the place. Everything went like clockwork due to the excellent staff, ready to help you out at any turn. Las Casitas arranged a mini bus for us (5 adults) to be taken from the Cancun airport to Las Casitas roundtrip. Our driver was Miguel and such a sweet man. He stopped at the Walmart for us to load up on groceries and in one hour we had 2 carts full and back on the road. Upon arrival at Las Casitas, staff came out of the woodwork and help us upload the van in 5 minutes! The maid service was daily and gave the villa a good cleaning each day, floors and all. Did all our dishes too! We stayed in Villa #16 on one end of a set of 4 townhouse like structures. It is an excellent location with views from both floors and a porch off the master bedroom. It was the perfect temperature in Dec 6-12, so we never had to use the air conditioning; ceiling fans were fine and we woke up each morning to the sound of tropical birds singing, lovely! Each day we snorkeled from our beach to the reef and got to see all kinds of sea life. Every day we saw sea turtles, stingray’s, octopus, parrot fish, surgeonfish, sargent majors, too many to list. We did all our dives from the Akumal Dive shop, just 100 yards from our door, we just walked down the beach each morning to our dive boat. Rented everything for the week of diving and very reasonable! We did at least one dive per day and the staff there were also wonderful! we walked on the beach. There were several good resturants to walk to and we never had to drive or take cabs to find good food. La Buena Vida was our favorite place to eat and happy hour 5-7, get Carlos for your waiter, he was great! Enjoy. PS: beds are hard, so if that is an issue for you, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Villa #16 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Instead of a typical hotel, imagine staying in your own private villa, kitchen, baths, a private "palapa" and lots of room. This is Las Casitas. Not for those who want an all inclusive with swimming pools and lively bars...
this place is private, quiet, sohpisticated, close to restaurants (LolHe, Turtle Bay and "Cueva" to mention some, The ambiance is RELAXING...from clothes to tempo. A gorgeous beach, a wonderful crystal clear bay that is shallow enough to be safe for kids, excellent snorkeling, world class SCUBA and plenty of excellent maid service and hotel amenities. Charter fishing trips are available, golf is just down the road, and the Casita's have a lighted tennis court set in the middle of the jungle, surrounded by flowers and birds. This place is absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: All the casitas face the sea. Casita 6,7, and 8 have the best views, althugh there are no "bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flipperdipper171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

LA CASITAS AKUMAL is a very beautiful place and It has the best beach that is protected by a reef where you can experience a great snorkeling.
The location is great and very safe and the casita stand about 15 meters from a cristal clear water. The staff is just the best , so friendly and helpfull. Many things to do and to see around and a lots of good restaurant just few walks from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannameyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Las Casitas from September 16th to September 23rd, 2011. (My husband and I and my 10 month old baby). We stayed at Las casitas #317. It was very clean and the location was excellent. The maid service was great-they kept the place very clean. The staff was very courteous and helpful. They will do the impossible to make you happy. This particular casita was decorated a bit strange in comparison to casitas #316 and #319. The mattress in the master bedroom bed was the worst ever! We asked for a foam mattress which we got but still, the bed was awful. Las casitas is not a luxurious kind of place. It is very basic, no TV, radio etc. If you are looking to relax, enjoy the beach, snorkeling, fishing, eating good food and drinking; then Las Casitas is for you. Its location is the best in Akumal. It is next to Lol-Ha Restaurant and very close to Turtle Bay Restaurant. Lol-Ha is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and happy hour starts at 5:30pm to 7:00pm. Its setting is nice and the bar is a lot of fun. Turtle Bay Restaurant has a great breakfast and the menu for lunch was great too although we never made it for lunch. Las Casitas is about a mile from La Buena Vida Restaurant which in my opinion is the best in the entire Akumal. This place was lots of fun and happy hour starts at 5:00 to 7:00pm. My husband and I enjoyed the simple life Akumal had to offer. We did not rent bicycles or golf carts because we enjoyed walking and strolling our baby around in Akumal but you can do so if you wish. The two little convenience stores are very close to Las Casitas as well. These stores had everything you would need such as snacks, drinks, gifts, fresh fruits, pastries, etc. I highly recommend Las Casitas if you are looking to relax in a simple environment, plus its beach is the best in Akumal. We spent about $200 to $300/day for two people. This included food, drinks and tips. Deep sea fishing is fun and it was $150 for three hours. They take you out by Tulum and Xel-Ha pyramids. You can eat whatever you catch at Lol-Ha Restaurant. The captain will clean the fish for you and you can tell the manager at Lol-Ha that you would like your catch prepared whichever way. They are very accommodating and will do anything to make you happy. We caught red and black snapper, grouper and barracuda. We gave the barracuda to the captain as I did not care to it and they were happy to take it home and make ceviche. The restaurant charges a small fee to prepare the fish but the price includes all of the side dishes. September is a good month to go to Akumal because it is very quite- no crowds; however, there were lots of bugs and mosquitoes because it is the rainy season although it doesn’t rain much at all. It was very humid and super hot, but we enjoyed it so much.

Room Tip: Ask for good matresses for your beds at Las Casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MProcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#16 of 23 in Akumal
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
62 reviews
4.0 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Akumal

Property: Las Casitas Akumal
Address: Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished homes, nestled among lush private gardens overlooking the calm turquoise waters of Akumal Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Casitas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing