We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Sirenis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Got back on Tuesday and I just have to say WOW!
We had a fabulous week! Where do I start??!

The hotel is so impressive. Lovely white low-rise buildings which glow at night. Huge modern lobbys, very spacious. Check-in went smoothly, champagne on arrival & we upgraded to building 19, top floor ocean view.

The rooms are so lovely and big. Jucuzzi bath was brilliant & bathrobes & slippers provided.
Being honeymooners, we had champagne, tequila & fruit delivered on our first night. The next morning we had fresh juice, fruit & muffins/pastries delivered to us for breakfast & also a basket of bath lotions. We were feeling very spoilt!

The food was great! Much better than I expected, as it was my first all inclusive. I didn't expect as much choice as there was....I had a full plate everyday with all different foods!!!
We tried the Japanese which was FAB! Lots of fun & the food was delicious too. It was a great experience & the chef was so good at it!
Next we did the Mediterranean which was very nice but nothing special.
We then did Italian which was great.
Cocktails were so yummy!

The staff made this holiday even more special. Fernando the bellboy is a legend! Great guy, always giving us a lift back to our room, always smiling.
Everywhere you go, you get a smile and a "Hola!". They really couldn't do enough for you. Always checking everything's ok with your holiday.

The pools were great, we spent half our time in the lazy river with a cocktail in hand! The resort was at 30% occupancy which meant it was so peaceful & we had the lazy river & lagoon pool to ourselves most of the time!!!
The beach was also lovely, a little rough on your feet at times but sandy and soft in other places.

I tried the spa. I had a "lomi lomi massage" on the beach which was so relaxing & great value too.
We watched two of the shows. The tribute act which was a lot of fun & also the circus which was very impressive!
The only thing we didn't really check out was the disco.

All in all, we had an amazing honeymoon & made an excellent choice with the Grand Sirenis. We absolutely loved being there & can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Samcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,722 - 10,728 of 14,626 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2009

I'll start off by telling you the worst part of the trip....the ride from the airport. The hotel will tell you that it is an hour ride....but it took us 2+ hours from the airport. We did, however, book transportation that had to drop off other people, so that added a significant amount of time to our ride. I would HIGHLY recommend getting your own private transfer, especially going TO the resort. The hotels are not just "right off the highway" so it took a good amount of time to drop others off, then get back onto the road going in the right direction (had to backtrack to get to turnaround points) and it wasted a huge amount of time.

Ok now the hotel....some places it is labeled as a 5 star resort, I wouldn't give it 5 stars, but it was close, and it was about 3 years old, and starting to show some wear. Alot of things in our room needed to be fixed, however, we didn't mind so much, we aren't too picky. The room itself was pretty awesome, huge, and clean. We had a king bed room, so there was a big hole in the wall leading to the bathroom (it was designed that way). I heard that the double bed rooms have frosted glass blocking the hole in the wall. My husband and I just made a joke about it, it was pretty funny.
Our room was on the first floor, next to concierge desk (every building had its own desk to make dinner reservations and such, so it was convenient). However, there was a ton of noise. I really didn't get too much sleep, but I just caught up on sleep on the beach. I don't know if we had alot of noise because of the fact that we were on first floor, but I would think it would of been noisy regardless of where our room was since there were always people walking through the buildings. Also, on a side note, I have to ask....why is it so hard for people to just close their hotel doors normally, without slamming them shut, in the middle of the night and in the mornings? I always try to be courteous of others and close the door quietly.
Anyway, we also did not have any view from our balcony. Only two buildings there had an ocean view, however, you had to pay extra for that, which they tried to sell you at check-in. It was another $250 dollars for our 5 night stay. We would of done it, but we were there for a quick cheap getaway, so we didn't care, and we really were never in our room anyway.

The hotel itself is HUGE!! Lots of walking. However, only half of the hotel was open, since there was just a lack of travelers. I think the hotel was only at 20 percent capacity, which was great, since we practically had the beach and pools to ourselves. The restaurants were only open on certain nights due to the fact that there werent enough people in the hotel to fill them each night. I have to say though, that if that hotel was filled to capacity, it would not be as enjoyable, and would probably be really crowded.

Most of the people traveling were from England, and we met alot of nice couples there during our stay.

The food was great! Again, I'm not a picky eater, however, you have to expect that you are in another country, and it will be a little different than what you are used to. Overall, the buffet was really good, and the restaurants were good as well. We ate at the Japanese retaurant, and the cook was an excellent performer. The Italian restaurant was just ok, but not bad. We ate lunch at the poolside buffet which always had typical American food like cheeseburgers, fries, hotdogs, nachos....etc. Breakfast and dinner buffets were good and large selection.

The staff was GREAT! I did not encounter one miserable person. They tried their hardest to make everything perfect. They were constantly maintaining the hotel grounds, pools, everything. They are very hard workers. The all inclusive includes tips, however we would always tip for their great service, and they were always most grateful for the tips. If you saw how hard they worked you would tip too!

The hotel had a very interesting "decorative" scheme....I guess ultra modern? it is not something I would do to my own home, however it was pretty neat to look at. Just a little bit of a change from your typical hotel experience.

The beach was great! It would be small if the hotel was filled to capacity, however, it wasn't and I spent alot of my time snorkeling right off the beach. Bring your own snorkel equipment as they will loan it to you for an hour, but then they charge you per hour after that. The beach was a little rocky, but I just brought my Crocs and wore them in the water and they were perfect. my husband always took bread from the buffet to feed the fish and they would eat right out of his hand. As a matter of fact, alot of people did that, and the fish were so used to being fed that the minute you entered the water the fish would surround you, begging for food like a dog. it was pretty funny.
I did the parasailing and the sea turtle snorkel for an extra charge and I had a great time. I also went to Xel-Ha, which is another one of my favorites and very close to the hotel as well.

They had nightly entertainment in their open air theater, which was pretty cool, I just didn't care to watch, but I am just not a theater type person. Many others enjoyed it.

Overall I had a great time! Never saw a drop of rain the whole time I was there. It was HOT! But I stayed in the water the whole time or in the shade. I would recommend this place to anyone. I was able to go to this resort for less than what it would of cost me to go to the New Jersey shore, which is what I was going to do, until I found this resort.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SLaurenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We just returned from a 6 nite stay at the Gran Sirenis and were so pleasantly surprised. We got such an unbelievable deal on this trip, I was a little concerned at what we might find, even though I had checked out the reviews. We were so pleasantly surprised. The resort is beautiful, although only 1/2 the resort was open. There was lots of things to do, great snorkeling, wonderful pools, beach volleyball, always an activity going on. The food in the buffet was good with great variety, although the mexican dishes seemed a bit bland to me, but I like spicy, unamericanized mexican. The specialty restaurants were good. We went to the Japanese (very fun, but was surprised the food was made with alot of garlic) and the mediterrian, got sea bass which was very good. Spent went one day to Akumal by "collectivo", bus you catch at the highway, very cheap, but pay attention to where you want to get off, because they only stop when you ask them too. Also spent one day at Playa del Carmen, again took the collectivo $3 each, instead of $25 cab ride. I would certainly go back to this resort again, which I normally don't do. Any questions, just ask and I'll see if I can answer. Can send email to tll@jenkinsfenstermaker.com

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tlsportsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

we have just returned fron 14 days at this superb hotel. it was our 4TH visit to the carribean and this was by far the best. we have been to cuba x 2 , dominican and now mexico. we booked via charlotte and donna at the travel councillors [--] and once again they came up trumps. on arrival we were stunned by the sheer size and quality of the grand sirenis. the staff started off with a great welcome and from there it just got better. our luggage was taken away as soon as we arrived to a champagne welcome and rapid booking in session. once this was complete we were taken via buggy to our rooms that were 1138 & 1144. they were large , clean cool and well equiped. jacuzzi, power shower,tv, satelite,iron ,board and free bar. after showering we went for a bite to eat . on our way we were greeted by our concierge ENRIQUE '. he was absolutely brilliant. if there is anyone better than this guy , they must be something special. the bars , restaurants and facillities were all as advertised and much better than we expected even for a 4 star as it was listed. this place is a 5 star at least, no doubt about it.as the holiday progresses we experienced great service and respect , friendliness and proffessionalism from everyone employed there. the two teenagers loved the nightclub . we had 6 a la carte meals while we were there the cajun, brazillian, italian, japanese x 2, steakhouse all free and all exceptional. the staff ! well what can we say. the sports and entertainment team were just awesome. they started by the pool at around 10:00 am and they were still going at 3:00am the following day in the club. ellie,victor ,nico,sol,hector whitney were all so full of enthusiasm and energy. CARLOS ! your tequilla voleyball was not to be missed .after the first couple of days we waited anxiously for it to take place. a special mention must go to little DANNI .she was like a little ray of sunshine everyday in the towel bar. i hope you stay and progress within the team as you really are a treasure and desrve success. in the evening all the team mingled with the guests before the show, making them feel so wanted that you just could not miss them on stage. there was not one show that was anything short of top notch. fantastic. how they performed in that heat was unbelievable and totally professional. right up to the moment we left our stay was excellent. nothing was too much trouble and no matter where we ventured and whatever time all the staff asked if everything was all right and if there was anymore they could do for us. we tried to find fault in the end to see their reactions , unfortunately we could find anything. the position of our rep ALFIE must be a great job to have in an establishment where all is great. despite that you do a great job and we just loved the trip to COCO BONGO wirth all the reps. i would reccomend this expeience to anyone going to sirenis. P.S. ( i hope you kept the rose paige gave you ) 4TH sept arrived and we had to return home. it is the first time my family have all said they wanted to stay in 16 years of going away. the flights with thomas cook were uneventful which of course meens all went well. the only improvement to the flights in our opinion would be not to charge for pre booking seats , therefore speeding up check in and reducing long waits before departures as every passenger would have allocated seats with there travelling partners. the legroom on the aircraft was surprisingly ample and after such a long flight no stiffness. SO ALL IN ALL thanks again to CHARLOTTE, DONNA as you now have a lot to live up to . we will be booking somewhere soon. as i said at the start ENRIQUE you are the best take care and hope to see you all again .

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pingmyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Returned from a relaxing stay on the 24th Sep 2009. Although the hotel itself was only 40% open we really enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent and the staff where great, evening entertainment was fantastic. The hotel is really modern; the rooms are massive and very clean with a Jacuzzi in the bath room.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Mexico, I have travelled to many destinations (all inclusive) and I really can't believe that some people have written bad reviews and I would love to see a resort that ticks all of their boxes because in my mind their fantasy does not exist.

If you have booked this lovely place you will not be disappointed. I hope you have a lovely time xxx

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thegreattraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Had a wonderful stay at Grand Sirenis everything about this hotel is great. A must for us is the restaurants all being air conditioned, including the buffet restaurant. All the food was superb, no complaints whatsoever. We stopped in block 17 which was easily accessible to the fun pool and having a concierge in each block is something we have never had before and was an added bonus. The resort was so clean and the staff were always helpful. Although the Mayan Beach side of the resort was closed (some 450 rooms empty) you would not have realised this as the hotel was quiet a way away, it just made the resort feel very relaxed and not too busy. Can't comment on how the resort if both hotels were full to capacity, the beach and pools would cope but not too sure whether the theatre, bars and restaurants would. The entertainment team were very good and kept you busy all day if you wanted. Overall a superb time and a holiday we won't forget.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
8  Thank Marge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Sorry this review is long and detailed. I just wanted to add some things that I had questions about before going. It is based on the discussion of two couples in our late 20s, who travelled to the Grand Sirenis together pre-H1N1. We booked a great deal with Transat Holidays. This was our 1st all-inclusive but have stayed in a few timeshare resorts in other areas of Mexico. This is the other couple’s 2nd all-inclusive in the Mayan Riviera.

Arrival/Check-in
Good flight, arrived 10 min earlier than scheduled. Immigration and customs took about 1hr as there were quite a few planes arriving at same time.
Opted to take the offered shuttle bus instead of a private transfer from airport to resort because we landed at ~10:00am and knew our rooms wouldn’t be ready anyway if we arrived earlier. Ignored the timeshare people inside the airport and headed straight outside. We were able to find the Transat reps right away as they were holding signs but once they tell you to get on bus #31 it was confusing as there were 100 buses and not clearly marked. Anyways, we found the bus. It was about 1.5 hours to the resort (which is about normal). We were the first ones on the bus to be dropped off and traffic/ construction were a little crazy at that time of day. No worries, we had a couple Coronas ($3) and water ($2), which they offered, and enjoyed the scenery along the way.
When we arrived at the resort they set our luggage aside, in the lobby, in groups based on your tour bus. Well the lobby was already full of bags so ours were left outside in the sun. I was able to find some shade so some of my contents wouldn’t melt. There is staff watching these bags at all times. Check-in was quick and they told us our room #s but they wouldn’t be ready until 3:00, which was to be expected. They also told us the resort was at 100% capacity. Before we decided to get lunch and explore, we decided to find our concierge and book our a la cartes, which just required our room #.

Rooms
We checked on our rooms at 2:30 and they were ready. The Bell Boy took us and our bags on a golf-cart to our rooms right away. Booking with Transat we knew that our rooms would be on the Mayan Beach side of the resort. I had emailed the resort 1 week prior and requested rooms in buildings 29 or 28, close together or connecting with king beds. We ended up with both rooms in building 29 “Naab“ (smaller of the 2) on the main floor across the hall from each other with king beds. One room with pool view, one room with partial ocean view (lots of foliage/rocks but still able to see some of the ocean/boats as the balconies are not right on the ground… did not pay for ocean view and they tried to upgrade us to the other building 29 on top floor for ~$45 pppn.) Both rooms had hole in the wall, which we were expecting and wasn’t a problem for us. I heard that the rooms with 2 beds have the hole covered with frosted glass. It was a massive size room, comfortable beds, apparently smoking as there were ashtrays but did not smell at all. The safe and fridge worked good in our room. Our friends had problems with their fridge not being cold and the power going out on 3-4 occasions usually around 4:00 - 5:00pm when we would go back to our rooms to get ready for supper. They just told the concierge about it and a maintenance man was there within 5-10 min to flip the breaker. When they finally complained about their fridge it was fixed right away as well. They also had the “musty” smell in their room when they first arrived but as soon as the air was turned on, it was gone. I don’t know if this is because they were close to the pool b/c our room was fine. It didn’t really bother them…it’s Mexico, to be expected. Being on the main floor it was quite loud during the day with all the carts and people walking through. The buildings are open air design and tend to echo! At night it’s a little quieter, less traffic other than the odd time when people would come home from the disco at 3:00 am yelling and slamming doors. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, just in case.

Resort/Grounds
The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Lots of iguanas and other creatures (watch the paths as they tend to sneak out in front of you). Large resort, but not too large if you stick to the side where your room is. 10-15 min max walking from room to lobby/buffet from the Mayan Beach side. We mainly enjoyed the facilities on our side of the resort but they let you have use of the entire place. The pool in the shape of a “C” is a little quieter than the main activity pool and we were able to find chairs here anytime of the day. No swim up bar but good pool side service. We enjoyed the entertainment at the main pool at 3:30 pm every day and great service at the swim up bar, drinks were not as strong here I found. Yes the pools are cold but very refreshing. The lazy river was fun as well with tubes available most of the time, no more than 2 min wait. It’s too bad the pools are closed by 6:00pm and there is no hot tub. The beach was gorgeous. We were unable to find chairs the first day by 10:00am so we played the towel game like everyone else (only leaving our towel there for 1.5 hrs max) the rest of the week with no problems. Service on the beach was pretty good considering the resort was at capacity (just order 2 at a time or bring Bubbakegs lol). There are 2 beach bars that were good as well. The one with the taco stand (south) is where we ate lunch most of the time. Great tacos/ sandwiches/ salads/ chips & fresh salsa. The water is rocky in some spots, not all, so bring water shoes just in case. Snorkelling at the resort was great! The water was relatively calm in the mornings becoming more rocky by about 2:00 pm. Lots of pretty little fish right off shore and close to the rocks in the middle of the beach with the ruins on top of it. We didn’t go out very far but over heard that people saw larger fish, turtles and rays further out.

Food
For our a la cartes we were able to book 2 out of 3 top choices. We got into the Japanese, Brazilian, and wanted Cajun but was only available the same night as the Japanese and went with the Mediterranean.
Japanese - great show/conversation with other guests around the grill, good food
Brazilian - Lots o meat!! Wonderful food! Great service!
Mediterranean - Subjective. Not a seafood lover (went cause everyone else wanted to) Appetizer buffet was all seafood, which the others said some items were still frozen. I tried the garlic chicken, just OK. My husband said the Sole fish was good and our friend said the lamb was good as well. The flan for dessert was amazing.
The main buffets - We tried both buffets on either side, on different nights and found they are the exact same. Lots and lots of good food, some items were questionable but there is something for everyone. Became repetitive, but is to be expected for a buffet. They had 3 theme nights - Oriental on mon. (which we missed); Mexican on wed - which was the best buffet so don’t book you’re a la cartes this night if you can help it; Italian on fri - didn’t think this buffet was any different than normal. The breakfast at the main buffet was the best. We had breakfast twice at the snack bar by our pool, which was good, but not as much variety. Never went to this snack bar during the day (closes at 4:00) but was told it was decent for quick snack type finger foods, etc.
Coffee Bar - Great coffee’s, cappuccinos, mochaccinos, etc. There is not a list of what is offered, so you just tell them what you want. They also have a shelf with liquors that you can chose to have a shot in your drink if you wish. I had Kaluha or Bailey’s most of the time.
Ice Cream bar - yummmmmy hard/ soft ice cream. Many flavours of hard, only vanilla of soft. This place closes at 5:00 so if you go close to this time there isn’t a lot left and soft serve is gone.

Activities/ Entertainment
Never partook in any of the activities offered by the resort but it looked like there were plenty of things to do and people were having fun. You can tell the staff work very hard and long hours to make these things enjoyable.
We went to the nightly show in the amphitheatre twice. The Lion King was great, especially for the kids who were involved. Our friends have seen it on Broadway and said it was quite comparable. We also went to the Mayan Culture night which was very interesting as well. Some nights they have vendors set up at the top of the theatre, which I thought was good because you could look if you wanted to instead of them hassling you on the beach, which GS does not allow.
Never ended up going to the disco and didn’t hear much about it either, except at 3:00 am when people were coming home.

All in all we had a wonderful trip and greatly enjoyed the Grand Sirenis!! We will definitely recommend it to anyone, and will likely be back soon!

Please feel free to message me with questions. We also spent time in Playa del Carmen and Akumal and did the “Tulum Extreme” excursion. All were fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank labp2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
148.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
23.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
148.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
7.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,755 reviews
22.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
13,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $174 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing