We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$517
$504
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$149
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$373
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Que Onda(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15,385)
Filter reviews
15,385 results
Traveler rating
7,415
4,849
1,980
638
503
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,415
4,849
1,980
638
503
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy rivermayan beachhealth barice cream parlourel ranchohole in the walla la carte restaurantsfishfrosted glassthe lion kingtime sharewater circuitquiet poolbeach barmain buffetjuice barspider monkeys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,187 - 7,192 of 15,385 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach resort 09 - 16 Feb 2014. I say we stayed at the Mayan, but in truth only are room was on the Mayan side. This really is 2 resorts all wrapped up in one property, the Sirenis Mayan Beach and the Sirenis Riviera. Staying at one, you use all facilities. So if you find a trip to either of these resorts with different prices, book the cheaper one :) This was a last minute booking for us. I was a little concerned about the distance from the airport, but the supplied transfer was direct so it was just over 1 hour. This resort is HUGE and we did find that everything required a lot of walking. However, nothing was more than a 10 minute walk, 5 minutes if you found the shortcuts.

Check in was very quick and we were transferred to our room by the bellboy in the golf cart, getting a brief tour along the way which was nice. We stayed in 2321 which is the furthest away from everything, but really wasn't a concern. The room was spotless! The décor is quite dated, but the bed was very comfortable. We did have the bathroom with the cut out, but the toilet and shower were separated by frosted glass doors. I could see this being a problem if you have teens, or are with friends. Our room was always made up by 2:30pm, and always lots of fresh towels. My only real complaint about the room was, they tell you to be environmentally conscience and hang your towels if you want to reuse them. This didn't seem to be the case, as we were happy to comply and reuse our towels for more than one day, but they were always changed out daily. Note: buildings 28 and 29 face right onto the noisiest pool, so if you are looking for quiet during the day, these buildings are not for you.

We are not pool people, so didn't spend any time there. But there are certainly a number of pools to choose from. The Mayan pool was the noisiest, the Riveria was not bad, and the quite pool was the best for no noise. The Lazy River is nice, providing you don't do it when there are a lot of kids in there.

The beaches were fantastic for their small sizes. No need for water shoes as there are plenty of areas to get into the water with no rocks. The first beach (Mayan side) does have a portion of rocky entry but a fair bit of sandy entry as well. The second beach (Riviera side) is all sand; very easy to get in and out of water and plenty of great swimming areas. We found this side (Riviera) to be the quietest and always lots of lounge chairs. We would head out to the beach by 8am and never had a problem getting a palapa and chairs. As we walked past the pools we noted that there were plenty of empty loungers at that time as well. In between the two beaches is a small bay ideal for small children. Snorkeling off the shore was good. Saw plenty of fish and turtles without having to pay for a tour. Do bring your own gear if you have it! As others have mentioned, the resort does have some to borrow, but only for 1 hour a day. Wear good foot wear and go explore the shoreline in either direction.

The food we found was typical AI food....bland and cold. Breakfast was the best of the three meals. Having said that, you could always find something to eat....you won't starve. For lunches, check out the two snack bars...quieter and different selection. We did 3 al a'carte dinners; Cajun, Steak House and Italian. I really can't find anything good to say about them. I am not a picky eater by any means, but I just can't get past all the salt they use and all the wieners cut up to fill their dishes. Ice cream bar was great. I have to mention to any coffee lovers, the coffee in the buffet is undrinkable. BUT, do go to the coffee bar, great coffee!

Didn't have any problems with any bugs of any sort. Lots of wildlife to see, even monkeys. Didn't like the high pressure salesman at the "concierge" desk, and did our best to ignore it. We requested a 2 hr extension on our check out, for our convenience only. They charge 130 pesos per hour. But if you do not wish to do that, they have a nice shower/change facility in the lower level of the lobby. We were quoted $28 for a taxi one way to Playa del Carmen, so elected to catch the Collectivo out front. First time doing this and would highly recommend it. The ride took about 20 minutes and the cost was $12 return for 2 of us. The Collectivo drops you off 2 blocks from 5th avenue.

Canadians do not waste your time exchanging Can into US funds, just exchange your Canadian for pesos. At the time, the resort paid 10.25 pesos for $1can, but in Playa del Carmen I got 11.25 pesos for $1can.

This resort is a very good 3.5 star. All in all, we did have a good time at the resort and would return if we got a smoking good deal. Otherwise we will try something else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Brilliant hotel. Maybe on the big side but service was unequalled and cleanliness unparalleled.
The rooms were really spacious and it was always interesting tot see what animal our maid, Amparo Garcia, had twisted the towel into each day.
There is plenty to do - if that floats your boat - but also quiet parts to relax in. Having wild racoons come up for titbits while we were sunbathing was an unforgettable experience. The food was very varied in the main restaurants and the steak in the Brazilian restaurant was unbelievably tasty.
We also liked the fact that there was a very efficent concierge for every block so any problems, restaurant bookings etc could be dealt with in situ.
Would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the sea where great. Don't know about the ones nearer the main buildings.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I have just returned after a two week break staying at the Grand Sirenis. This was our first visit to Mexico and we were pretty impressed with the resort. Each block has its own concierge and all 3 of ours were very helpful particularly Zeus who went out of his way to ensure we had a comfortable stay.
The Grand Sirenis is a huge resort built in the jungle so there is a considerable amount of walking involved which infirm people may find difficult. There is a variety of interesting wildlife: iguanas, foxes, birds and at night, lots of raccoons who are on the lookout for food. A tray of leftover food was left outside after room service one evening, next morning there was not a single morsel of food on the tray – the racoons had enjoyed the leftovers.

We were on the second floor in block 27 which was close enough to the beach and pool but quiet at the same time. Our room was very spacious and very clean. The bed linen and towels were changed daily. The bed was comfortable and our request for different pillows was met immediately.


The food was good with different counters in the main restaurant serving Mexican food, vegetarian dishes, international foods, salads, soups, meats. For afters there was a selection of delicious fresh seasonal fruit, desserts and different cheeses. On site there was also an ice cream parlour which served delicious ice creams. The coffee shop served an assortment of teas and coffees till around 11pm and was definitely worth visiting after the beach or dinner.

There were 7 different speciality restaurants – Cajun, Mexican, Italian, Japanese (tepan yaki), French, Steak House, Brazilian – you can choose to eat at three à-la-carte restaurants per week. We ate at the Cajun, Italian, Mexican and Brazilian. The Brazilian was the best and Italian the worst for food. Service was great at all the restaurants. Although we did not eat at the Steak House, as do not eat beef, the reviews we heard from other guests was that it was very good. Ditto for the French and Japanese. There were shows at the theatre every night which were quite entertaining.
We loved spending time on the beach with an endless supply of drinks being provided by the ever cheerful staff who worked there. The juice bar serving 8 different types of fresh juice was another big hit with us – try the Oox and Chac. There are two beach eateries which means that one can have lunch etc. without leaving the beach although the selection of food served is considerably less than the other restaurants serving lunch. Snorkelling equipment is available for one hour daily at no cost – make use of it as the coral reef a few dozen meters from the shore is home to many species of beautiful fish. The lazy river was fun and an enjoyable experience and both the pools were nice and well maintained. The swim up bar was great fun particularly at around 4pm in the afternoon.
There were a few minor downsides which are worth a mention. There is a charge for the safe which we have not had to pay anywhere else in the world. Our safe was not working and it took about 2.5hours to fix for which we were compensated with a bottle of champagne. All our clothes, even the unworn ones, smelt musty.
Having read the other reviews, re: selling timeshares, our experience was that we were asked once on arrival to attend the breakfast meeting, but were not bothered again as we indicated that we were not interested.
All the hotel staff were helpful and courteous, and our representative Corrina was very helpful and overall we had a great 2 weeks and would consider returning to the resort in future. The resort has helped to forge a positive view of Mexico in our minds.

Room Tip: Our room was in block 27 and was near enough to the beach and swimming pool. Block 29 is the nearest to the beach and 3rd floor apartments have a view of the sea although we were on the second floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chalfont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

From the moment we arrived, tired and weary the hotel staff were excellent. We met the wonderful Esau who worked tirelessly to accomodate us. This follwed the bell boy Rhino who would always look out for us the whole trip and made sure our room was perfect for us. The holiday was outstanding, the weather this time of year is perfect, not cold, not daft hot either, just right. The beach is excellent, there is ample areas to swim, but its also perfect for snorkling and we even got to see sea turtles and sting rays in this area. The beach itself is split so you may relax, or play sports, its totally your choice. Also the beach has wonderful waiting staff such as the ever smiling Karen who go out their way to make you feel like royalty. The rooms themselves were great, im aware 5 star in new york, or London is a different class, but the rooms each had jacuzzi baths, ample space and a mini bar. We could not fault the endless cleaning we saw going on, from the steam cleaning of the lie lows EVERY night, the dredging of the pools, to the tiles and walls being cleaned and painted. The staff in general were outstanding, granted one or two may have had an off day but on the whole we were amazed at how much they went out their way and prided themselves on helping us. Everyone has a concierge service to book ala carte meals and look after them. We moved rooms during our stay and were blessed to meet 5 great ones. From alex and Marco in block 22 to Daniella and the new boy Voctor in 27. However far and above was Zeus who stayed late one night to ensure our meal on the beach was perfect. A gentleman and a true perfectionist, thank you. The buffet bar had a good selection of food, and an outstanding waiter in Fernado, but the only thing letting it down was the evening food which was below par for the standard set across the hotel. That said it was still good food, just occasionaly over salted in the evening and over busy.The pool areas are great also, pool 3 was a bit mental. lots of younger folk enjoying games and beers, while pool 2 is a great relaxing haven for all. Pool 1 was a more family orientated affair looked after at the time by Roberto on animations who was again another outstanding asset to the hotel. Our dog died while away and my wife was obviously upset. The animation team though turned her spirits around withing a day, they knew just when to lave her and how to pick her up. Jesus, Desiree, Daniella and Romerio were without doubts highlights of our time there. And the evening shows were also of a good standard, Alex the entertainment manager should be proud of his whole team who made us feel great the whole two weeks. I want to mention the dance team, Luis, Eva, Carlos and Ivis who have clearly worked hard to make an entertaining evening possible. Me and my wife spent the first week relaxing, and enjoying the downtime from work, and really woke up the second week. Im a sport billy so spent a lot of time playing vollyball on the beach, however the hotel caters for all sorts, and while we didnt bring children, the kids club looked great from what we saw, especially when they got involved in the hotels lion king production one evening. Great touch. I want to finish by mentioning Laura our rep, who was again a great help and made our holiday perefect. She was taken il before we could say thank you to her in person, but if she reads this again thank you! We never go to the same place twice, we like to travel the world see things, but the location of this hotel with easy collectivo access, coupled with the service and standards set by the hotel will nsure we will be back for more next winter. Thanks for a great trip and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richiebarcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Feb 10-17th. Myself and my 14yr old daughter were there for a Valentine's wedding. Read tons of reviews so will try to address the issues that concerned me prior to arriving and those that popped up while there.
Reception: the resort knew we were coming and yet it still took over an hour for approx 60 of us to be registered as they only had 2 desks open. The welcome drink was Tang....lame. I was willing to pay for the wifi for the week but the man on the reception desk would not sell it to me. Told me I had to return the next day. When I did...less than 2 minutes later I had the code. Not sure why he wanted to delay me, however, no biggie.
Room: 2909... Main floor. Was a bit musty upon entry however 10 mins with a/c running and problem was solved. Bed huge and fabulous....perfectly comfortable. Bottle of tequila in room, 2 beers and plenty of pop.no complaints. Yes, to the hole in the wall but for 2 girls travelling...not a big deal. I liked how close it was to the beach, pool and lazy river. No complaints. Thought I wanted an upper floor but was completely content on the ground level. That said, for future guests....tipsy or not...shhhhh as you go through the building. A little common courtesy would have been nice.
Grounds: beautiful and well maintained. Staff everywhere keeping it up. All friendly.
Staff: towel fellow by party pool is very creepy. Only person there who gave me a bad vibe. Jose in main lobby bar is fabulous and remembered my name/drink and my daughter every day. Reception staff are terrible. Very rude. Considering this is your first contact with the resort, they should alter this. I had 5 reasons to see them...not one came with a smile or a thank you from them. (Check in, wifi, wifi for another device, ask to pay extra for late check out, check out). Spa staff equally ignorant. Wedding party girls, approx 10 of us...told to shhhh. Also, gramma of bride fell on the slippery tile and was berated for doing so. Accused us of stealing a key to one of the locks on the lockers. Would never pay money for their services.
Beach: for our purposes excellent. My daughter was able to safely snorkel everyday. Mayan ruins were neat. Stubbed my toed good...look where you are walking..there are some rocks. Water was clear and clean. Staff maintain beach and waitresses do a great job. Lots of chairs...no need to reserve with towels unless you need up front for some reason. Lots of palapas. Some chairs broken and dingy..they need to upgrade these but they were comfy enough.
Activities: my daughter was crazy about Omar at archery. While not the friendliest fellow he does an amazing job teaching the sport. We did this everyday...also did the air gun shooting. Fun! Loud lobby: dancers! Cannot say enough for these employees..got my shy daughter up and doing the cha cha! They really know how to engage the guests.
A la carte's: we were fortunate and were able to book 3 different ones (some in our group had to choose repeats). Mexican was great...we missed our reservation for the steakhouse :(.... Japenese was a great show and tasted wonderful. The rehearsal dinner was at the Italian and not good at all!
Wedding: from my perspective it was great! It was over behind the disco so no stragglers wandering through. Very private. Dinner was there as well...great buffet...awesome service, some live music, some dj...all fabulous!
Buffet: breakfast was a hit! Lunch and dinner were so/so. Perfectly fine. No reason why you can't find something to eat.
Pools: spent all our time at beach but they looked fine.
Weather: spectacular! Maybe we were lucky...one cloudy day, rained at night a couple of times.
Excursions: did not do any. We were busy with wedding and did not feel the need to leave the resort.
Would we return: yes! Hopefully next winter with my husband. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews