We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. There was so much to do on the resort that we didn't have to leave the resort for activities. The lazy river was a lot of fun. It's a very family friendly resort. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Highly recommend this hotel especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,744
    2,945
    1,207
    376
    276
See reviews for
3,082
4,279
124
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,356)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just got back from a family vacation at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya and we all had a wonderful time. The hotel is really huge as everyone says on their reviews, try spending one day walking around and you will be amazed how many beautiful spots you can find. However, all the areas are always clean and spotless. The staff spend a lot of time cleaning the floors, glasses, pools, etc. Also, the gardens and really nice with a lot of flowers and exotic palms varieties. If you look in the hotel map, there is a botanic garden with great trees and flowers.

We stayed in the Muuyal block (1800-1884) which I recommend to everyone. It is very close to the beach, pool, buffet restaurant, a la carte restaurants, theater, lobbies, etc. You can get to any place without walking big distances or waiting for the shuttle car. The rooms are really spacious. You could get one with king side bed or with one with two double beds. Each room has a four piece washroom with a really nice bathtub and lots of space. I read on some reviews that you had to pay for the safe but we used it and were not charge a cent for it. During the night time, the 18 block is very quiet

The food at the buffet is very good, there is plenty to choose from. There is always a chef grilling any meat you want. Vegetables and fruit are always fresh. The service and attention is really good. A big thank you to Ronnie during the breakfast and lunch time and Hipolito during the dinner time for their services. They always made sure we had drinks on our table and our empty plates were always gone by the time we got back to our table. Since we were staying for only one week, we could only choose three a la carte restaurants. We had great dinners at the Stake House, the Italian and Brasilian restaurant being the Italian our favorite. It has a delicious salad and appetizer station. The snack bars are really good too. We usually had lunch in the one around the pool.

We were a bit disappointed with the entertainment of the hotel. The nightly shows were not up to the standards we have seen in others part of the Riviera Maya and Cuba. The music was too loud and the dancers not as talented as we have seen in other resorts. We also wished we could enjoy more mariachis and traditional Mexican music. However, Beto and Chucho do a great job around the pool. From 10:00 am to 5:00 pm they have everyone going and participating with all the pool games and water aerobics. Big thanks to them for the amazing job they do.

The service around the hotel is top notch. All the staff is really polite and always looking after all the clients. They are always walking around the pool, beach, lobbies taking drink orders and bringing them to you with a big smile on their face. Please tip them, they work really hard and deserve some appreciation. The a la carte restaurants are booked through the concierge of each building, they are also friendly. However, be aware that they will offer you a special breakfast to see the premium rooms of the hotel and you could win a week vacation, this is a trap to sell you time share.

The beach is really beautiful, it has a lot big rocks creating 4-5 mini beaches. It is also perfect for pictures. There are plenty of chairs and palapas to enjoy the nice weather. There is also a Mayan ruin in the beach which you can easily get to it and even go inside. The pools are also really big with plenty of chairs. All the palapas have signs saying that it is forbidden to reserve chairs but nobody respect those signs. A big thank you to Frankie, one of the pool bartenders, he would make you really good drinks. Ask him for a tequila boom boom or a golden margarita. The lazy river is really nice, just be careful with the edges, the cement is a bit rough.

The hotel has a lot of wild animals walking around. The staff encourage you to feed them. They are all very friendly. My favorite are the coates, everyday you can find them between Block 18 and 17 around 4:30 to 5:30 pm. They are a huge family and very friendly. They love bananas and bread. Also, the iguanas love to eat hot-dogs or sausages. There is also a female raccoon around the pool, she is friendly and has a small family to take care of. Around the hotel you can see a lot colorful butterflies and birds. There is also another small animal that looks like a small pig with no tail, they call it ceneque and love bread and bananas too.

Overall, we had an amazing week and we would love to come back. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing time.

Room Tip: Try staying in the Muuya block (1800-1884) and if you get a higher floor you would have a great time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orestes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just returned from Grand Sirenis in Akumal and, once again, the vacation was incredible! The resent is stunningly beautiful and everyone from the resort is great! I can't say enough good things about this resort. This was our third stay at Grand Sirenis and I can say with certainty that we will have many more. Great food, great service (especially DiDi (Anna), entertainment......all combined to make Grand Sirenis our favorite vacation destination!

Room Tip: Get in the 19 building on the second or third floor. Stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizCalNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a 7 day getaway at the Grand Sirenis. The report is beautiful. The layout is spacious and even though the place is soooooo huge, it hardly ever feels crowded. Service at the restaurants and lounges was good, not the fastest but the servers were excellent and very pleasant. Say no to the time share proposal from the start and they leave you alone for the rest of the week. The major disappointments, the bathroom wasn't that clean. My wife tidied up a bit. There was footprints on our wall... Footprints? Also,there is no privacy in the bathrooms. Zip.... Hopefully you want to see your roommate naked. It's going to happen a lot. I draw the line at the toilet. Hang a towel over the door to give you a little more privacy. The other thing, the food. It was warm. Not hot but warm. Keep in mind, they are feeding a lot of people but I like hot food. I wouldn't go back. I would choose a smaller resort.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello Ed R,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Grand Sirenis. It enlivens me to read your good comments about our staff as we put a lot of effort and resources to achieve so.
I really appreciate your tips as they are the best tool for us to keep improving the service we provide, and I take the chance to show you my apologies if you didn’t get a perfect service at all times.

In the meantime I encourage you to contact me for your future stay to make sure we succeed your expectations.

Again, thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts with us and the rest of the travellers. The Grand Sirenis Management wishes you happy holidays and hopes to see you again soon.

Jorge Viñuela
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at the Sirenis last week with two girlfriends. One had been there before in June and recommended we go because of the great quality/price. The hotel is beautiful, modern, the rooms as well. Not thrilled with the semi-open bathroom concept, but it was ok. We liked the easy restaurant booking process with concierge tables every two buildings.

The pools are really nice. The 'party' pool has tons of chairs, but the 'quiet' pool next too the beach has too few. There were many chairs at the beach and finding a spot in the shade was not too difficult. The beach area is very secluded (only this resort), but you can tell it's man-made, as the surface is hard and there are a lot of rocks to get into the water. Great for snorkeling, when the waves aren't a problem. We even saw a lot of fish just dipping our feet into the water. We were not with kids, but they seemed to have a great kids' club and a lazy river around the pool.

We went to the spa one morning for the general experience and a massage. The massage was average, but the jet pools and mist showers were great. The nicest spa I've ever been to.

My only disappointment was the food. Considering the high quality feel of the hotel, I was expecting more. I didn't find the food appetizing. The taste was fine. The best part was being able to have chicken, arachera or t-bone steaks cooked for you on the grill at any meal. We went to 3 À la carte restaurants. The Japanese was ok. A lot of very fried foods and the main grilled food tasted a bit burnt. The Mexican restaurant was good. The appetizer buffet was the best part. The steak house was ok. I had filet mignon and it was over-cooked.

It is also very far from the airport (1h20) and Playa del Carmen ($25 taxi ride).

I preferred this hotel to the Xcaret, because of the better beach area, but preferred the Iberostar Tucan overall. Smaller resort with better food, and 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Although it is more expensive. I think this resort is very good for the price and would recommend it, unless the food is very important to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We loved many aspects of this hotel including the a la carte restaurants (Japanese being our favorite), swimming with the sea turtles' right off the resort's beach, the fun entertainment crew
(Archie, Beto...) great service on the beach and at the buffets, the coffee shop, lazy river and ice cream bar... Fantastic!!

Our experience however was dulled by a strong musty odor in our room that despite our best efforts to have resolved was not other than on the one day when bleach was applied to the air conditioning system. A dehumidifier placed in the room also helped slightly. The bleach however presented a new health challenge for one of us in the room with asthma and the musty smell returned again by the next evening. In talking with others around the resort it seems that there are some rooms that are greatly affected whereas the majority are just fine?? I am not speaking of the slight odor sometimes caused by high humidity and dampness this was a harsh overwhelming musty smell.

A room change was offered to us on our last evening at the resort. Two lovely fruit plate's and champagne were given to us as well as my sister in another room when Fernando (reception) was informed of our disappointment by Daniela (concierge-most excellent) who followed up for us. Unfortunately this was after 2 prior attempts to have the situation resolved with other front desk staff members. My sister's room was excellent! It was explained that sometimes the rooms on our side of the building are musty as they receive much less direct sunlight? This explanation indicated an awareness of the problem...a room change granted at the start may have given the resort two more likely to return guests happy to provide recommendations!!

Would have given this resort an excellent review and recommendation had we not run into this issue which was serious enough to be a health concern. Hopefully the Grand Sirenis will find away to resolve this issue for future guests.

Room Tip: Our room 1323 had a strong musty/moldy smell that was unable to be resolved. Bed linens, pillows pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieCalgary_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We love this resort and so we took 3 other couples along - and they all enjoyed it immensely. The restaurants, beaches, pools, bars, disco and staff are first class. But most of all we were impressed by the nightly shows - the entertainment was really good. We know the Mayan Riviera quite well so we showed our friends Akumal: swimming with the turtles and lunch at La Cueva Del Pescador, Tulum: visiting the ruins & beaches - a must see for photographers & Playa Del Carmen: for shopping, lunches at La Cueva Del Chango, El Fogon & La Trattoria Del Centro, drinks on the beach at Wah Wah's.

Room Tip: We always ask for a corner suite (as we don't like sharing balconies) away from the pool & b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
5.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
4.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
24.0 mi away
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Suite...
#77 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 6,375 reviews
2.9 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing