We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I went to stay at this hotel when the power went off at the house we were renting. At check-in I was told since it was after 4pm I would have to pay for the room again and then get hotels.com or my credit card company to reimburse me. I showed her my reservation on my phone which not only showed I had already paid for the room but my confirmation number but again I was told I had to pay for the room. I asked for her Manager and he came over and told me the same thing and that it was not his problem that my power went off and he had no way to get proof of my reservation even though I had proof. He was the Supervisor so again I asked for a Manager and this is when my husband came from our car to see what was taking so long and he was told them same thing and the Manager told him if we have enough money to buy a room for 175 a night we had enough to pay it again. I have never been treated like this at a hotel and have always had my confirmation email accepted all over the world. I tried to email the company online and kept getting a problem with their server so not sure why I was getting that. To me if you run a hotel 24/7 365 days a year then you need a way to get confirmations around the clock as well and not have your reservations office leave at 4pm daily. I posted a picture of the hotel lobby since that was a far as we got, I refused to pay again for a room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank DonnaKronmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,246 - 7,252 of 14,846 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

this hotel is great food id say is very good not excellent but there you go,beds are massive rooms are great bath with jacuzzi is a bonus,,,beach is really nice snorkeling is a must bring you own as they are rubbish on the resort,,,jet-ski is @$65 per 30 mins which aint to bad....room service is free on most things i,e club sandwich etc ,,,,free mini bar etc,,,,
BAD POINTS,,,,excursions and massages are expensive its a little far from airport the hotel is too big for my liking but may suit others a lot of walking is involved so be prepared the drinks are water'd down FACT but there are some really nice free cocktails to be drunk the food gets repetative checking in can be a nightmare as its busy here its huge hotel,,,,,,,,,all in all its great holiday and lovely hotel with great people

Room Tip: stay next to main swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Grand Sirenis is now 8 years old. We know that because we came that first year... when they opened, Valerie and I have been back to visit 10 times since!!!!!!!!!! We visit Mexico 4 times a year. We do Cabo in March then we travel to Riviera Maya in Jan, Aug, and October. We always come back to Grand Sirenis at least once a year....We have tried Secrets, Occidental Grand Xcaret, Adventure Spa Palace/Hardrock, Iberostar, Crown Palace, Melia, Krystal, Omni, Dreams, RIU, and others and find Grand Sirenis to be one of the best VALUES FOR THE MONEY!!! Their theme restaurants are good and the buffet is better than most of the top chains. The nightly entertainment is fun with a different show each evening in a venue that is fabulous. A nice amphatheatre, beautiful glass block bar......tuesdays and saturdays the local craftspeople come in to the theatre and you can get some great deals [no tax, no cab ride into town] so barder away! You can parasail, deep sea dive, snorkle, sport fish right there on the property. So many of the big attractions in Riviera Maya are very close in proximity. Xcaret, Xel-Ha and Xplor are minutes away. The staff is wonderful at the Grand Sirenis. Conceires Andrea and Zeus made sure all went well and were available to answer any questions and to make your dinner reservations for you!!! You can make reservations for the whole week and pick your dinner times. The bar staff and waitresses are all very nice, Diedra and Azul and all the staff really went out of theire way for us....they wil for you too!!! Steve and Valerie Detroit

Room Tip: Consider joining their SPT club. The upgrades are very nice if you think you will be comming back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from Mexico. We had a wonderful time at the resort.
The staff across the board were all top class and very helpful. The resort pools and beach area catered for everybody's needs. Peace and quiet or fun and music.
The room was kept to very high standard of cleanliness. Basic but sufficient
The Lobby area staff were always at hand to serve you. Special mention for Laura who looked after us very .
The variety of food in the buffet restaurant again catered for all peoples tastes, the waiters worked very hard, well done to them all.
The themed restaurants were great, especially the Japanese and French, Julian's service was 5 star.
The staff around the pools were also hard workers and always at hand, as did the entertainment team. The entertainment in the evening wasn't always our cup of tea, but the team worked their socks off.
The resort over all supplied a very good holiday.
Special mention for Igancio, top guy.
Over all the Mexican staff were very friendly and accommodating. OK if you tip, it improves the service, but they are all worth it.
Plenty to do and see out side the resort locally. The historic ruins at Tullum, worth a morning out. The beech at Akumal, superb. Playa Del Carmen, worth an afternoon there, though you will get hassled constantly. The local mini bus service is safe and easy to use
You must go to Coco Bongo's a great night of entertainment for all ages.

Negatives - Noise late at night, idiots (Yanks and Canadians ) walking through the complex corridors screaming and shouting. Occasionally being told your preferred drink is unavailable.

Would we return... Definitely
First time to Mexico but we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerkiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was my husbands and my 5th time to the Mayan;we traveled with a group of ten and everyone of us had a bad time.Rooms-Ours had ants we were on the 3rd floor sons room ac broke and pipes burst in bathroom same with our friends next door 2 other couples safe wouldnt work and bathtubs didnt work Food I have much better at lesser resorts We went to the cajun and got ignored didnt get drinks messed up food orders I ordered pasta and it was hard cold had spam in it and burnt chicken finger pieces and the ala carte resturants didnt have a bathroom in them you had to leave the resturant and go to the coffee shop weird just save your money and go some place else there are better resorts

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rangersfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First impression of Grand Sirenis was disappointing as a lot of maintenance going on. Front entrance fountains drained & lobby very basic and non welcoming. Scaffolding up too so initial thought oh heck! However on realising the amount of ongoing maintenance required & recent storm damage, our view changed especially as the staff were amazing & couldn't do enough for us! The hotel resort looks particularly beautiful at night when all lit up & lots to do day and night. Restaurants & entertainment very good with lovely shops & a market couple of times a week. Thankfully not bombarded with timeshare touts which was a blessing! Beach and snorkelling fab and saw some beautiful fish, rays & cuttlefish. Iguanas, Coates & Racoons amazing but don't forget they are wild animals. Racoons particularly cute & loveable but can bite!! Pools and lazy river fun and choice of noisy or quiet areas available. Some noise at night due to echo in hotel areas mainly due to some ungracious visitors with no consideration for others! Felt sometimes needed more security or notices to make people aware through no fault of the hotel though. On comparison with previous hotel visited didn't feel it should be 5 star rated although the staff are brilliant! Some work is needed on paving area near corner on bridge as this was unsteady under foot & worse to see when dark. Some of the furniture was old I.e in coffee shop, arms on chairs loose & seating sunken. The Japanese, Brazillian & Italian restaurants were particularly good. The Thomson/First Choice reps Paoblo & Charlie were fabulous & took a lot of unnecessary flack. We felt sorry for them as they were trying their best & were so grateful to them particularly when friend's tooth broke & they sorted an emergency dentist out! Thank you to the hotel for a fabulous holiday & the reps & hope slight criticisms are constructive rather than hindering! Trips were great too, highly recommend Underwater trip to turtles & underground cenote, fat cat catamaran & Coba Mayan. Buses are cheap there & regular at 30/35 pesos each way if wanting to visit Tullum or Playa De Carmen under your own steam. Just be aware of the busy roads if crossing over as scary!! If go to Cocobongo nightclub definitely recommend paying for VIP as better to sit & get drinks, otherwise could be a long night standing in a crowded place! We couldn't get seats after being advised so we had to reluctantly cancel trip but will remember for next time! Mexico is just ace & hope to visit again for a hat-trick!

Room Tip: Ones overlooking beach would be better but generally rooms are fine. We were on low level handy for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

what agreat holiday
we visited 26th sept - 11th October
The room is great - Mexican style furniture- not old as suggested by others - if you want plastic then try a travelodge.
Big room,big bed , big bath use the shower connection to fill it - relax you are on holiday - if you want a quick dip then use the massive shower - water jets everywhere to clean out all the nooks and crannies
staff are all superb and the food is great - fresh tuna and salmon steaks cooked in front of you, pick your steak and they will cook just how you want it.
Cocktails in abundance lovely coffee shop reccomend iced coffee with baileys - in the afternoon grab a cupcake and feed the wild but tame mummy raccoon who ;lives in the bushes by the coffee shop
Go to the time share meeting - free ala carte breakfast mike was our guide we never felt pressured and in the end we just said no = used the hundred dollars against a spa day for both of us - fantastic, free bottle of Mescal waiting to be drunk
If you are following a juice diet - then guess what they have a juice bar and the best sandwiches are at the spa
We didn't do any trips because we have been to Mexico before but reports back from others who did said they were all good
We did eat lobster in a romantic meal on the beach
This hotel is super clean - if the room smells musty when you move in then put on the air con and leave it on. The blessed cool when you open the door is great
all in all thoroughly enjoyed and will go back
.

Room Tip: All rooms are junior suites unless you are going to spend time on your balcony looking at the sea th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FBBBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1 mi away
Camp Akumal
Camp Akumal
#4 of 25 in Akumal
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $192 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing