We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall very nice”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

There seems to be a real mix of reviews regarding this hotel. Having returned today i thought id write a few words while it's fresh. Firstly to address a few negatives that have been pointed out so far [which is obviously subjective due to individual experience].

STAFF
We found them to be excellent throughout. The desk staff were helpful, the concierges always happy and the restaurant/bar staff were by-and-large always happy and helpful (and we rarely tip). The entertainment team were always good fun and always tried to make the most of the terrible weather we had. They are also incredibly talented both with the amount of activities they run and the languages they speak. Particular shout-out to Omar who runs the sports events. Always helpful, polite and glad to see you. He remembered our names from just 1 trip to the archery and seemed genuinely pleased when we returned on numerous times.

ROOMS
Overall really nice. Clean, spacious and aircon to keep the temperature nice and cool. The bath and shower were great although the jets in our bath stopped working twice. Hovever both times it was fixed within the hour. The beds are huge and the seats comfy. The balconies are quite small and tend to stay wet once it's been raining. Also our clothes line fell off the wall. A couple of days a few items were not restocked in the mini-bar. We are a touch lax when it comes to security regularly leaving wallets/passports lying around. Still we never had anything go missing.

HOTEL
Due to the tiled floors and lack of all-weather flooring when it rains you need to be very careful. The theater is next to a pool of stagnent water meaning the mozzies were out in force. If you are watching a show i recommend long sleeves/trousers and bug spray. Also the only decent place to go for a drink in the evening is the lobby bar which gets noisy, hot and crowded. Then the positives; the grounds are gorgeous! You can walk around in the evening and everything is clean, tidy and well lit. The pools are spacious, warm and there is always a free sunbed somewhere. The wildlife was a real plus point for us. Bucketloads of iguanas, geckos and familes of racoons that scuttle around in the evening.

FOOD
We ate at a variety of the a la carte restaurants as you get 3 bookings per week. We never had a bad meal at any of them, would highly recommend the Japenese and Italian restaurants. The staff were very professional and very quick to refill your glass. The buffet restaurant does tend to be particularly busy at certain times, however the food is very varied and with plenty of choice for all. We particularly enjoyed the fresh pasta meals which were cooked to order.

We normall go to 3/4 star self catering hotels so compared to what we are used to this hotel was very good. Yes there are a few areas that could do with attention but where is ever going to be perfect ? Yes it's a long flight (and Thomas Cook A3303s have very narrow seats meaning you'll be fighting for the arm-rest) and yes the weather was terrible but we felt very welcomed by Mexico and would certainly return, both to Mexico and the Grand Sirenis. To us it felt like a 4/5 star resort but with a very relaxed and welcoming vibe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,630
    3,569
    1,463
    454
    320
See reviews for
3,831
5,120
145
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,793)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days and just love the service this hotel provided from staff, food,hotel facilities! Couldn't asked for more! Well except for the rainy days but still got the most out of it! Two thumbs up plus toes up!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday at The Gran Sirenis,it was rated a 5 star hotel but iI am afraid to say it only made a 3 star .
The hotel's maintenance is very poor with broken path tiles loose and uneven,making walking very dangerous in many area's.
Most of the hotel is open to the elements and this was a huge problem when we were there as we had 2 weeks of rain.the floor tiles are all shiny,and when wet were a slip hazard and we saw so many people fall over or wearing knee supports etc etc.The staff do there best to mop up as each shower came,but you took your life in your hands walking anywhere.The food was ok and was plentiful,and the staff were all friendly and pleasant. I have to name 2 waiters in the buffet restaurant who went above and beyond with there service and willing to please,ERIK MEZA AND HIS BROTHER FRANCISCO.the pools were lovely and kept clean,but the food hygiene in the beach snack bar was really bad,having witnessed a fly being taken out of a opened jar of onions and just thrown away leaving the jar on the counter.i think some of the issues here could be amended if there was more staff,as there seemed to be a shortage in most area's.bedrooms need an update and a decorate, as looking tired and old,no flat screen and furniture that looked like it was from the 70's

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie1234186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from grand sirenis,went for two weeks.hotel was very nice and the staff were great,working hard in all areas.my only real complaint is the evenings,there is only the lobby bars to have a drink,what they really need is some outside seating areas,with a bar,as it was very hot inside,and can get a bit boring after two weeks sitting in the same place night after night.( although we would have got a bit wet to say the least,as it rained for the two weeks we were there) not the hotels fault of course! The beach is nice,even though it is a bit rocky,not the type of Caribbean beach that I was expecting. Do go swimming with the dolphins at Delphinus as it is awesome,they are such intelligent creatures.would recommend doing a couple of trips at least to see the sights as you are very isolated if you don't. Overall we enjoyed our holiday at grand sirenis but not enough to want to return again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had a lovely time at the sirenis, the main restaurant got a little boring so I would recommend making use of the themed restaurants. Also don't get sucked into the hotel tour for your free spa voucher, they are just trying to get you to buy into the hotel time share. its a waste of half a day of your holiday !
Saying that though we did have a lovely time and I would go back, maybe not for a while tho, the rooms are good, entertainment was your usual stuff but Marco and his team did try.
We did a trip to Tulum by just getting a local bus from outside the hotel for a fraction of the costs that the reps and the hotel were selling at. Well worth a visit, would also recommend Xcarat for a day out, bit pricy but well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jac3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was pretty good. The room was excellent, very spacious and a lovely bathroom.
The pools were pretty big with a nice pool bar although don't get too excited about the lazy river!
The food was good with some varied choices in restaurants! Plus the fact that you can get food/drink almost 24 hours of the day is brilliant.... Not to mention the excellent cocktails!
Now for the negatives....the hotel was pretty much in the middle of nowhere and a resort nearer Cancun would be advised if staying for more than a week. The staff are friendly but they do try and push their premium timeshare far too much! The biggest negative for me was the wildlife, raccoons and lizards and other weird things all over the place which put me off relaxing!
As I say, overall was a great resort with plenty of entertainment but this is a 4* hotel.... Not a 5* star!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

just returned from the rainiest holiday I have ever experienced! (Not hotels fault). Hotel is rated 5 star but I would give it 3 plus? Having said that it is set in pretty grounds with its own wildlife! Sirenis is huge and personally too big for my taste but golf carts picked you up on request very helpful during a storm! It has 7 specialty restaurants my favourite being the japanese, the mexican was boring an disappointing.
Rooms were adequate but tired and dated.
Highlights included the spa which was fabulous and free because we had attended a presentation -- well worth it and the trip to coco bongo, a fabulous nightclub which you must do, although if you are over 40 go VIP. Also loved concierge service--very helpful
Improvements need to be made in entertainment which was poor and about 30 years out of date, also only catered for young guys during the day.
Big thank you to julien who let me set up banners and balloons in the restaurant and brought out the cake for my husbands 60th birthday and also to Laura and Elvinna who plied us with cocktails every evening, both lovely girl. Also didn,t like the premium special areas as I expect to use everything if I am paying for a 5 star hotel?
Suggestion--as reception is so stark a mexican mural or a few mayan pictureswould make it more welcoming?

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade? Don,t be on the ground floor during hurricane season?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
23.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,851 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,131 reviews
18.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,898 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing