We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for two weeks early June
Food first class and bar service likewise Rooms clean and tidy and nothing too much for maid just ask and if possible it will be done asap
Noisy or peace and quite its all there ,just find the place that suits your taste Great hotel and planning to go back at end of year

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,483 - 7,489 of 14,846 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had the most amazing time! Really beautiful grounds and the pools are awesome. Amazing food and drinks. Need to find Lalo from the bar because he is seriously the best!!!!!!! Great entertainment by the pools beach and the late night shows are amazing. The entertainment staff were a lot of fun! Hope to go back:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniivdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Grand Sirenis is definitely an appealing all-inclusive resort. The menu varies daily and they incorporate theme nights for certain styles of food 3 or 4 times a week. The in-room mini bar provides beverages for late night also. Book your a-la-cartes early though because they fill up quick. The beach is child friendly and a lifeguard is on duty, as well as a flag system for water warnings. The pools and swim up bars are an alternative also. The weather in August is a bit rainy, but still very hot and the ocean is extremely warm at that time. There are many area attractions which the on-site coordinators can assist with planning, and shuttles (pay per use) or taxis as required. The best part for me was the on-site scuba shop (Under Water Technical World -not highly advertised). They could arrange ocean dives any day weather permitting, or Cozumel, and my favourite, cenote dives. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this resort for families, but be aware that the pools close in the evening at 7pm, although there are nightly entertainment shows starting around 8pm.

Room Tip: Rooms near the check in area are closer to all pools and buffets, but also older but still in good c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The resort is beautiful! The place to go if you are looking for a "spa" retreat! The spa is the focal point of the hotel. The beach is rocky and you defintely need shoes. The improvements can be made on having more "lounging" areas to just relax without having to sit in either a beach or pool chair. There are beautiful views on roof tops, just no seating which was really too bad. I also thought there were not enough washrooms especially by the buffets, only 2 stalls on each side of the buffet rooms. We did luck out on the weather! The rooms are very comfortable and the food was excellent variety! I would problably not go again unless was looking for a spa retreat.

Room Tip: building 1800 is excellent location for pool and beach access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorigood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel. We selected this hotel as it was cheaper than others and although I do agree with other reviews that it is not a 5* - I feel that it was excellent value for the money we spent.
The hotel grounds are huge but we liked this because it never felt crowded. We preferred the quiet pool as it was more relaxing and closer to the beach and kids club.
Our children enjoyed kids club and the activities. Rodolpho was brilliant - always smiling and waving and the kids liked him. The kids club would benefit from some more toys inside.
Loved the Japanese, Italian and Brazillian restaurant. Slightly disappointed with others - especially the Mexican. Found buffet food bland on occasion - but this is the case in most hotels. Breakfast was brilliant and lunch in beach bar ok. Beware if vegetarian as I ate cannelloni from the vegetarian section and it contained beef! Chef said sorry when I checked with him - but it was left in the vegetarian section of buffet. A la carte restaurants didn't all have a vegetarian option but were good at accommodating me and offering me something suitable.
Kids loved the wildlife - raccoons, iguanas and a huge black spider visible from the lazy river was a excuting for them!! :-). Unfortunately Mosquitos are everywhere and we all were bitten. I strongly recommend taking plug in repellent, buy the wrist bands and spray yourself each evening. We found best repellent was Avon dry spray oil - lots documented on Internet and smells much nicer than others!!
Consierges Alex and Jorge in the Acat block looked after us well throughout our stay and were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
We travelled in rainy season and unfortunately had 2 full days of rain.... The entertainment staff worked hard in the reception / bar area to entertain but there were not enough seats / tables. I think the hotel should utilise the theatre on days like this and open the bar there too. We spent most of the day entertaining ourselves with card games and I was
disappointed with the hotel for not having better rainy day activities.
Beach and sea - beautiful. Take bread to sea and feed the fish to the left of the beach - amazing!!!
A couple in our group suffered with stomach bugs and we heard of others too. Pack Imodium tablets and take care when selecting food in buffet. Also have the jabs before you travel - as this helps.
In summary - lovely hotel - good value for money and we had a brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Myself, My boyfriend and 2 friends stayed at this hotel from the 10th Aug for 2 weeks.

Flew with Thomas cook - Flights were ok but I think its disgusting that you pay a lot of money for a holiday and then they wanted an extra £100 so that we could all have a seat together, which we didnt pay as we got to sit close together on the way there but not on the way back.

Hotel & Room - The hotel itself was very nice and clean especially the toilets which I think is very important. It could get a little slippery at times but there was plenty of wet floor signs around and you just had to walk a little slower. Our rooms did have a little musty smell to it for the first few days but after that I couldnt smell it. A big thank you to Salvador for cleaning our room as he did such a good job and was always smiling which was nice :D

Food - I am a very fussy eater and I managed to find something to eat everyday however it was very repetative and after a week or so we were sick of eating the same food so we went to playa del carmen a few nights to eat. we tried the steakhouse, mexican and cajun restuarants.

Steakhouse was ok, Mexican was disgusting dont get the Turkey in the sauce (cant remember the name) I still feel sick now thinking about it and the cajun was nice. We decided not to try anymore as they were just like the buffet upstairs but you choose your main meal.

Beach was lovely there is a nice sandy bit to go in the water as I hate stones and plenty of fish if you take some bread or something they will take it out of your hand.

All the pools were lovely but it was hard to get a seat in the morning as lots of people towel reserve them but by the afternoon people had moved so we didnt find this a problem.

We did have a quick chat with our concierge but he tried to get us to do the Premier Club breakfast which we said yeah to but then we changed our mind and cancelled as we were not interested.

The Spa was nice we went when it was raining and as most of the pools our outside we didnt really find it enjoyable but the massage was nice.

Coffee shop had lovely Latte's :D

All the workers were very polite and worked extremley hard! we were forgotten about a couple of times in the main buffet place when ordering drinks etc but they were really busy so it didnt bother us too much.

Cocktails were nice, some were a little to creamy for me.

Pool bar was a nice but always very busy with some guests just perching themselves there all day.

The theatre at the hotel put good shows on we watched Grease, Lion King and the Rock show which were all good. We also went to the disco for a boogie :D

I did think that the shop at the hotel was a bit of a joke 1 day they excepted dollars and the next day they didnt!

oh and last but not least the wildlife - The scary racoons as I called them and the lizards but these were actually quite cute and were everywhere so you got used to them.

The reasons why I didnt give this hotel 5/5 is the Food.

Were not really into going bk to the same hotel each yr as we like to try different countries but we may well return to this hotel 1 day :D

Room Tip: We had rooms 2613 & 2615 these were not beach rooms but we were quite close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

what an amazing place we have just visited!! spent 2 weeks in this beautiful hotel. staff were amazing, hotel facilities were second to none, and the food was plentiful and very good.
cannot say more about the friendly staff, including ramon in the main restaurant, paulina working beside pool number 1 and cecelio and the pool cleaning team..
we loved our stay and would massively recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go.
only problem with the whole holiday was Thomson airlines.. but thats a different story.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are a little more expensive but the view is amazing.. especially the top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1 mi away
Camp Akumal
Camp Akumal
#4 of 25 in Akumal
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $192 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing