We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great resort & great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great resort & great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came to this resort for the first time this March and were very pleased. It is a beautiful resort with amazing staff. The rooms are very spacious, modern and very well kept but not all rooms have a view of the ocean. Only a few have the ocean view, and all of those are all more money. The resort is extremely clean and filled with helpful, friendly staff. All staff members truly want everyone to have a good time and will do anything to make sure that happens. Miguel is wonderful at his job and made us feel comfortable and welcome and also made our vacation a great experience. There is plenty of bars, restaurants, buffets, as well as a “healthy bar” which is a bar full of healthy smoothies, and an ice cream bar and coffee shop. There is also a lazy river and tons of activities and games throughout the day. All in all this was a great vacation, great resort, great service and great staff. We will for sure come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBaker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,893
    3,067
    1,260
    386
    287
See reviews for
3,245
4,426
125
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,414)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just got back from 7 days at this resort. A la carte restaurants were excellent and theme night provided interesting variety for the buffet. We were impressed with the friendliness of staff and with how clean the resort is. The beach was nice. I went snorkling almost every day from the beach and saw turtles every time. I have been to several all inclusive resorts and this was definately one of the best.

Room Tip: This is a big resort. Try for a room in the 17,18 or 1900 series to be more central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L1S2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been to the Sirenis a few times, and it never disappoints us. We traveled twice as a couple, once with our three children. 17, 18 and 19 (trip in June 2011), and then again as a couple last year. We are planning another trip this year, and it looks like the prices from Vancouver, Canada will be a bit lower this June 2013. Travel is more expensive than usual at the moment, regardless of resort or location.
Things to do:
If you like to snorkel, the Sirenis is a great destination. Akumal Beach is a short bus ride (20-30 pesos) away. Taxis, are of course, always available for the timid or lazy. Snorkeling at the resort can be amazing, especially for those who are new to snorkelling. Large, colourful fish can be found in water less than knee deep, at the resort's beach. Limestone rocks and crushed coral beach sand make the beach at the resort different than some others. This is not a mile-long flat expanse of beachfront. Rather, it is a couple of smaller beaches, protected by limestone formations and reef. (And a lovely Mayan ruin). Bring your own snorkel gear.
Playa Del Carmen is a delightful little village with traditional local, and "American" Shopping. Some stores offer favourable rates for American money, and some are better with Pesos. Canadian money is best exchanged in your airport or at a currency exchange in Playa Del Carmen. Don't go to the first exchange booths you see, the rates usually get better if you continue to wander past the first shops. The resorts (Sirenis included) exchange C$ and US$ for pesos, but their rates aren't as good. Happy Hour in "Playa" will get you 4 beer for 6$ or less, if you get thirsty while shopping. While we are on the topic of beer, the Sirenis resort serves Corona on tap. While it isn't my favourite beer of all time, it is better than the brands that many other resorts serve on tap. This is important if you are going to have several during your stay. Bad beer gets tiring very quickly for us, but the Corona (with lime for me) works okay in the tropics. As for the shopping, your 5 star resort wristband will make it hard to haggle for souveniers, so wear a long sleeve shirt to hide your obvious wealth status wristband, or, like us, happily pay a bit too much.
Chitzen Itza is one of the biggest attractions, and should be on your bucket list, if it isn't already. If you have some young and active explore types, then go to Koba, I have gone three times and having a snack atop the pyramid at Koba will fill you with awe. You can have the bell Captain arrange to hire a taxi and driver for the day for you, and it is much, much better than one of the "packaged tours". Stop at Tulum ruins and Tulm beach on your way back from Coba and you get three stops in one day. The taxi driver will happily take you anywhere you want to go, and if you are travel savvy and speak Spanish, you can negotiate a better rate for yourself, but the Bell Captain deal will ensure that no sketchy things will happen to you, as the taxi's rely on good will with the resorts.
Like many resorts, the buffet food is not 5 star, but it is, at times excellent, and seldom bad. There are so many choices in the buffet selections that everyone manages to find something. If you can talk your concierge into a extra theme restaurant, these are better, and some are excellent. I think you get two (maybe three?) per week. We have managed to get longer than a week in our recent visits, and this gets you more "a la carte's) We love the Italian and the Mexican, and we had a very good meal at the steakhouse, the one time we went to it. The Japanese does a "Kobe's" kind of meal and show. Young and old alike will enjoy the food (very fresh and good variety) and the entertainment from the chef. My partner is a vegetarian, and we have been extremely pleased with the effort that the restaurants will make, to provide her with something special. Having a vegetarian member in our group will explain why we have been to the steakhouse only once :)
If you choose to drink while you are there, I highly recommend the tequila bar that is in the downstairs south side of the lobby. The caliber of the employees that the Sirenis hires and retains is very, very good. Please tip well, and tell them I say "Hi".
Tipping:
Although tipping is "included" in your resort stay, please be generous with the staff that make your stay special. Very little of the tourist dollars make it onto their paycheques. The fridge is stocked by a different person, than the room cleaning staff, so a buck or two in the fridge helps. Like cruise ships and other resorts, the housekeeping staff at the Sirenis leave "towel buddies". Silly as it is, we look forward to the latest daily creation. We have had some amazing creations. Perhaps it helps that we leave our room staff's tips on top of the towel creation. Safes that you program yourself are included in every room. Use them for your valuables every time you travel to any location, in any counrty as it helps keep the career thieves out of the resorts. We have never, ever had anything go missing in the Sirenis, (and I have left a few easy to steal things lying around, as a way to check) In past trips elsewhere, I have had a credit card skimmed near LAX, and have had my room broken into twice in LA near Disneyland, so if you are worried about crime, avoid Los Angeles. Go to the Sirenis instead.

Room Tip: We have requested rooms that are near the "lazy river" (Rio Lento). When you are wet, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevinS1or39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a really nice resort and the design of hotel is quite modern and obviously was much nicer when it was first built.
I went down with my wife, two elderly parents and 2 year old child for two weeks - so that's a risk in itself wherever you go.
Rooms were spacious and clean and we had no issues.
This is a big resort and so I had to rely on the golf carts to get my parents to the restaurants and beach and not so readily available due to the busy time of year and definitely not for lack of effort. The guys running the carts were very generous and were more than willing to help.

Food was fairly good especially the grilled fish or meats. Beach food was a nice treat as well. Italian and Japenese restaurnats are good as well.

Beach is visually beautiful but beware of coral at any point in the sand cause I stubbed my toes at least 4 times during my trip and it was quite painful. Lots of rocks when you enter the water but smooth sand after that.

Pools are very nice but activities are mediocre at best. Not that engaging and at one event they had a soccer competition with the nets set up on either end of the pool, right in front of the people so my poor dad ended up getting a ball right in the eye and just an apology. A few other people ended up with balls in their back and I'm sure they weren't too happy either.
Lazy river was a treat and great idea.

Rooms were extremely noisy and considering we were positioned close to the entrance, we heard all the drunks screaming in the middle of the night. Hotel should consider putting up signs just to remind these incosiderate low-lives that they're not at home. Probably one of the noisiest hotels I've ever been at.

Restaurant crew overall was very good and especially the Bayou by the pool. Thanks Francisco for the great service.

Shows were mediocre and not much effort from the crew except for the Circus theme and traditional Mexican show which was not part of the crew show.

Room Tip: Stay away from 2005-2006. These are at the entrance and you hear absolutley everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurizio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Maurizio L, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback, I really appreciate it as it is a source for continuous improvement for us.
Regarding to the issue with the noise, we have always a security guard checking all the buildings to avoid any bad behaviour of any guest that could be disturbing the holidays of clients that want to sleep, it is clear that they cannot cover the hole area at the same time but if any guest dial "0" and reported to the front desk, we send inmediately our security staff to make sure nobody is making noice.
Nevertheless, it is nice and very appreciated to see that you can isolate the good from the bad, and you had an overall good experience..
Best regards, Daniel – Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Being a sceptic I realised we were travelling to a third world country and wasn't expecting too much. I was over impressed. Amazing place, enormous, friendly, accommodating, futuristic, beautiful and the food was fantastico!! The things that I wished I knew was the fact that February/ March is the middle of winter, even in Mexico, so the 21C weather reports for the evenings were a lot colder with the breeze from the sea, 12/14C a few more long sleeved clothes would have been good. There were hardly any bugs, insects, mozzies, considering you're in the middle of a jungle. I only used repellent for the first couple of days and didn't get any bites in the whole two weeks. The Mexican sun is lethal, I don't know why but it burnt more than anywhere else I've been in the world so high protection worked. A 100 $1 bills stands you in good stead for tipping, or $20 Mexican peso. The Collectivo bus service was brilliant, out on the highway you could get up and down the coast for under £2 anywhere. It was safe and the Mexican people were really helpful. The medical room on the complex was brilliant, the gym, empty and adequate air con and a good supply of free weights. There was some great bargains in Player del Carmen and whatever you do if you like beaches, get down to Akumal beach. cost £1 on the collective bus, spacious, palm trees, turtles, stingrays and over 70 different fish. I would have taken my own snorkel, mask and flippers in hindsight but all in, it was 5 star, beautiful people, wonderful beaches, fantastic sun, magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up the better, second floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1963jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Ok the good stuff 1st - We had a fab holiday at this hotel, great choice of food, endless supply of drinks & good entertainment. All areas were very clean and well maintained. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff, apart from one very grumpy breakfast waiter (not going to name & shame you-you know who you are!!)

This is a perfect place to stay with a family group as there is something for all ages from toddlers through to grandparents. We stayed as a couple so might have preferred somewhere smaller and more intimate, especially in the evenings as all the communal bar areas are vast and feel quite busy. Having said that we still had a wonderful holiday, lots of good memories.

We also went on several trips booked through Tara the lovely Thomson rep, definitely recommend the dolphin swim, one of the best days out ever! One of our trips was cancelled and unfortunately we were not informed of this until we inquired as to why we had not been picked up, so communication could have been better.

We had a lovely room, very spacious and we were glad we hadn't paid for an upgrade to a seaview as we had a good view of the gardens & pool and sun on the balcony in the afternoon. The bedlinen, towels & robes had seen better days but they were clean & changed frequently and this is only a small criticism and in no way affected the overall enjoyment of our holiday.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris7ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Chris7ed,
Thank you for posting your experience with us. I am very glad that you had an excellent vacation, and being a family-friendly resort it makes us proud to read such review. Hoping to see you again. Best, Daniel – Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family stayed at Grand Sirenis from Feb7-21st. It was our first trip to Mexico and we had great time. Our travel agency rated the resort as 4 stars and we agree with that (not 5 star).

Check in was ok (arrived at 6 pm). We were offered a ground floor room in building 15, but I asked for a upper floor room and we got a second floor room in building 14. The room smelled very musty and I almost went right back to lobby to change room, but we were hungry and we decided to leave AC on and went to eat dinner first. Wnen we came back, the smell was much better, so we ended up staying in that room. (We left one key card in the slot and kept the AC on 24/7.)

Maids did excellet work cleaning the room every day. We even got some towel animals. Our son's favorite one was elephant. We also got occasional turndown service, which was nice! Fridge was restocked fine. One day when we came back from a full day tour and were exhausted, we didn't have water in the fridge, but our concierge MIguel took care of it and we got water in less than 30 min.

Building 14 concierge Edgar, Miguel and one other person (don't remember name) were great! They got us all dinner reservations we wanted with no problems. They also arranged the pick up of our luggage when we left, and the pick up was right on time!

Food: Buffer restaurants wer ok. We usually ate breakfast in the main buffet, and it was very good. For lunch we often went to small buffet by the pool (El Rancho). It was not as good as main buffet, but we always found something to eat. We also tried beach snack bar and their wings and tacos were great! Also beach barbecue was good. They even got great paella with huge shrimps! The only problem at the beach is a lack of tables and chairs to sit down, so eating lunch was sometimes challenging. We had 6 a la carte dinners. We all had different favorites. I enjoyed Japanese, my husband's favorite was Mexican (best steak ever!) and our son's favorite was Cajun. We also went to Italian, Brazilian and steak house and they were good too. Dinners in main buffet were also fine and we liked the theme nights. Faustino was our favorite waiter in main buffet! He is so nice and always happy! We always tried to find a table at his area. We ate all kinds of food and none of us got sick! We did use hand sanitizer every time we started eating (had own small bottle with us), so maybe that helped. We used it even more after I noticed that some pepole go to toilet and don't wash their hands after that, and head straight to the buffet to take food...

Some people have complained about stolen things, so I have to mention that I forgot my RayBan sunglasses to El Rancho buffet when we had lunch and I thought they were gone, but waiters had fortunately found them and when my husband went back there, he got my sunglasses back!

Beach and pools: We enjoyed beach vey much! Good beach for snorkeling was one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel and we were not disappointed! It was great to just walk in the water and see tons of fish, coral and turtles! It was also good place for our son to learn snorkeling. Pools were also great. Water was a bit cold, but in the afternoon it was better. We mainly stayed at the quiet pool so we had smoothie bar, coffee shop and lazy river all nearby! Lazy river was great, did that at least once a day! Esperanza at coffee shop made great coffees! We also had great waitresses by the pool and beach, unfortunately I don't remember their names, but they worked very hard and were always nice and smiling!

The resort had tons of activities from spanish lessons to archery, so there was always something to do. We also did tours to Chitzen Itza, Coba, Tulum and Sian Kaan. They were all great (some were through our travel agency and some were booked via internet).

Would we go back to Grand Sirenis? Probably yes (great snorkeling, great staff).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pailak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
5.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
24.0 mi away
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Suite...
#77 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 6,720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing