We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked our holiday over 12 months in advance and read many reviews good and bad. We were 2 families with 3 children 2 x 17 year olds and a 1 x 15 year old. This holiday from start to finish was fabulous.
Flight - On time both ways an amazing amount of legroom, good films and food.
Hotel - We had three rooms booked and after all the reviews of smelly rooms and open planned bathrooms we were slightly concerned. The rooms were huge, the bathrooms caused no problems the toilet and showers had frosted glass doors so plenty of privacy.. Of the rooms only one smelt slightly damp but once aircon was on the smell went. It was very hot and humid and if you left the doors open the floors got wet quickly. This may well account for some of the worries about the damp smell.
Food - Was fabulous from the buffet to the beach bar to the Al a Carte restaurants the Japanese and Cajun were our favourites. The coffee shop and ice cream parlour were a great treat.
Drinks - Were brilliant the cocktails were fabulous i never got bored of the drinks as there was plenty to choose from.
Beach - Beautiful there was never a fight for beds as there was plenty available. Lupita was always there bringing us drinks all day she was missed on her day off. We had the privilege of seeing a turtle laying her eggs one night on a quiet part of the beach a part of the holiday i will never forget.
Staff - All the staff were lovely always smiling and wanting to help no-one expected tips, the Canadians continually tipped but i think they were aware that the Brits tipped now and again for what we considered good service. I cannot remember the names of the ladies who worked in the quiet Lobby bar but they were fabulous at looking after us.
Wildlife - Raccoon's and Iguanas and many other weird and wonderful animals made our holiday.
Trips - We went to Akumal beach twice as it was so beautiful. We swam with Rays and turtles and all for the price of a 30 peso each bus ride. We walked from the hotel about half a mile to the main road where for 30 pesos each the local bus will take you to Akumal beach you walk over the flyover and then about half mile walk to the beach. There was a lovely bar and the food was also reasonably priced and very nice. We managed to get a taxi back for 200 peso for the 7 of us. It did take a bit of negotiating but they weren't busy so we had a bit of negotiating power and we were willing to walk back to the main road to get a bus if all else failed. We also booked the Xel Ha with Thomas Cook it was a brilliant All Inclusive day out and well worth every penny for all ages. We also went to Coco Bongos VIP this is NOT to be missed if you can get to go its one of the best night out i have ever had.

All in all it was fab we will definitely go back. 5 Star it may not be but it's definitely a 4 plus. The staff though are 5 Star

Room Tip: Ignore the bad reviews and only read the good ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank angesmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,699 - 8,705 of 14,842 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Returned from the Grand Sirenis Resort 27th August what more could you say WOW!! room cleaned to a high standard by a maid called Ruby she look after us very well,mini bar stocked to full capacity every day.Food 100% location great Beach to die for plenty of entertainment and staff very helpful.The resort is keeped to a very high standard,the little Mexican waiters are always on the go they work very hard and get on with the job in hand the guys who work the bars are very freindly and get to know you very quick during the stay many thanks to Victor the cocktail mixer nothing was to much trouble and also waitress Fabi she realy goes out her way to make sure you always have a full glass well done.Over all people would always have a diffrent opinion but well done to the GRAND SIRENIS 10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went to Grand Serenis 10th-24th Sept. We were very happy with the hotel and service from the staff who were always happy to help with a smile. Weather was great for first 10 days but last 4 days we had rain and storms which spoilt it a bit.

All the restaurants on site were very good with plenty of choice. We went to the al la cartes (japanese, steakhouse and Brasilian) of which the first two were great (didn't enjoy the Brasilian). They made a fine change from the buffet and was an excuse to dress up a bit.

The nightly shows were very good and the best I,ve seen in a hotel but after they finished just after 10 there wasn't really anything to do other than drink at the bar which isn't all bad.

Always a sun bed available even later in the morning and some great wildlife to watch just walking about (lizards, eguanas, racoons).

The waitress service around the pools was great and we were given an endless supply of strawberry daqueris, beer or soft drinks without having to leave our sun lounger (Elizabeth at pool 3 was great and always a smile). The entertainment at pool 3 was great too, Rafa was very funny.

Only down point was getting a call from Thomas Cook the day before we flew out to tell us the lazy river was closed and also one of the pools. This gave us no time to change hotels. There was a fair bit of work being done around the resort which wasn't the best. We had to go to the main pool for the first couple of days which was a fair walk from our room. But pool 3 re opened and we started using that as it was much closer. The quiet pool then closed for work after that (which didn't effect us as we didn't use it).

Didn't go on any of the trips and just had a nice chilled out holiday.



All in all though we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st or second floor room to avoid bug visitors and to avoid a long walk try to get the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our first time in Mexico and we would go back to this resort in a heartbeat. The service was excellent, the food was pretty good and the facilities were constantly being cleaned. There was lots of room at the pool. We were never there early to reserve chairs and had no problem getting a good spot.

We had two small problems with our room, and they were fixed right away. Noise was never an issue at night, and we never had bug issues.

Yes, the time-share presentation was a bit of a nuisance, but it was worth the gifts we received.

The food was pretty good, lots of selection and very hot and fresh. The pools were amazing and the animation staff were very good, as was all the other service staff.

I do wish the resort was closer to Playa and the airport, but it was beautiful nonetheless.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We arrived on the 5th and left on the 6th, the room stank of mold it took your breath away.
The lazy river was closed and the main pool closed. Ice Cream /snack bar closed.
The pool which was open had dirty scum arround the edge and broken tiles.The sunbeds were filthy dirty needed a good clean. If you wanted a sunbed by the pool you need to be up a 7 am as the other pools closed.
The hotel was like a concrete jungle and very dirty.
The main lobby bar advertised intenational drinks, they made the drinks under the counter and gave us cheap vodka, even though we asked for smirnoff, we left the drinks and drank water.
The beach was like hard core no soft sand in sight, with the added attraction of lots of rubbish cerial boxes ect and again the beds were filthy.
The hotel manager told us that he had informed first choice about the closures of the Pools 1 week earlier, but first choice neglected to tell us, First Choice expecting us to accept these conditions.
First Choice then kindly offered us another hotel, then telling us we would then have to pay another 700.00 pounds for a cheaper hotel if we did not pay we would have been left in the Hell Hole Hotel. PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. there are lots of hotels in Mexico give this one a miss.

Room Tip: Do not book if you want a clean room
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
14  Thank fab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday, (1st to 15th Sept 2012) there were 5 of us and we needed 3 rooms. Asked for adjacent and we were delighted that we got 3 next to each other. Our rooms were huge and very clean. The bathrooms were brilliant. The food was excellent, The waiting staff were exceedingly friendly and attentive. The grounds were very well kept. The evening entertainment was thoroughly enjoyable. There was one small blip and that was we had no water in the hotel for about 8 hours. The whole area was out not just our hotel so it was not their fault. We spent our days on the lovely beach and we had a wonderful waitress called Lupita, she was an absolute diamond, friendly and charming. On the first week we went for a massage, which we enjoyed so much that we booked another one for the following week, the spa staff were brilliant. We would all definately go back there again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (3 floors) we would choose that floor again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrea_knox_hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived on the 5 th September changed hotels on the 6 th. first room the stench of damp met you, the second room was exactly the same, stunk to high heaven of damp, everywhere was sticky to the touch it was so unclean dead flies on the curtain shower fawcett on the bath broken and pouring water everywhere. Also the main faculties were shut, no main pool no lazy river we were told to be up at 7 or you have no chance of getting a sun bed. Really awful as were First Choice who basically charged us £500 to move to a cheaper hotel.
It was more like a shabby 2 star in benidorm.Awful!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Debharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1 mi away
Camp Akumal
Camp Akumal
#4 of 25 in Akumal
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $187 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing