We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Had a great time. There were 4 couples that went. Two booked to the Whitesands and 2 booked in the Riviera. We ended up right beside each other. It was wonderful.
The regular room is very nice, lots of room. The suites have a seperate living room. Which was nice when we played cards late at night.
It is a quite resort. They stop serving hard liquor at midnight, but can get beer at the beach bar and the disco.
Make sure you check out the spa. It is included. It has a pool, steam room, dry heat room, rock walk , two warm pools.
There is also a games room in one of the lobbies - I think it is the Kantenah which has pool tables, fooze ball tables, there are also card bars.
There are four resorts hooked together. The Whitesands and the Riviara are in one complex and the Colonial and Kantenah are in another. You can walk through them all. There are 4 distinct lobbies. For example, if you enter the Whitesands lobby and start walking by the restaurants you will hit the Riviera Lobby. There is also a little train that takes you from lobby to lobby (all 4)
The food was very good, no problems getting into any ala cart.
There is lots of walking. Which is good, because you will do alot of eating and drinking.
I don't know if it is a slow season, but nothing was crowded. There was eight of us, we had no problem sitting together at any time.
There was all ages, but it was probably the most quiet resort we have been to.
The snorkling at the beach was fantastic. We saw tons of fish, squid, and rays. The coral reef is right there.
We went to Talum ruins. Go to the Kantelenah lobby, walk to the street - cross- and take the Collectiva 25 pescos each. 20 min. Tell the driver where you are going so he can tell you to get out. The ruins were 50 pescos each, we also took a guide, which was worth it. When we were there 10 pescos = 1 Cdn dollar.
Can exchange $ at hotel - any lobby.

  • Liked — snorkling, food
  • Disliked — there were ants in our room, which they immediately sprayed and killed.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank AlbertaTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to have made your stay a special and memorable one!
It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation and we were able to live up your expectations! Thank you for sharing.
Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in Mexico, and show all the newest renovation and progress

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    807
    322
    125
    118
See reviews for
1,083
1,151
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

It was a great vacation and a beautiful resort but we noticed things that could use improvement. I think i had my expectations a bit too high from all the hype on this resort and expected more.... I will try to give good details in sections.

First to let you know, we are a young family ( early 30's) with a 2 year old who came with us. We also were on a 2 week holiday from Jan 3rd to 17th 09. We also have been to the Palladium Punta Cana.

The beach: The beach is beautiful, soft powdery sand. The sand is harder compacted in the riviera side and gets softer as you walk to the colonial side. The one thing we noticed on our walks on the beach was garbage in the sand everywhere, we were disappointed on this. Smokers please use a cup to dispose you butts in and then throw in the garbage...... Not a great thing when you 2 year old is digging in the sand and is digging up tons on butts! Plus there was always pieces of sharp plastic in the sand everwhere, you needed to almost wear you shoes just to go for a walk on the beach. I wondered why they didn't have someone cleaning this up daily??? ya sure they raked up the sea weed but that was it.....

The Food: The A la cartes were excellent, we enjoyed our meal pretty much each time! It was well worth it to go every night instead of the buffet. We went each night at 5:30 and got our table around 5:45 or so. They did have longer wait times if you checked in after 7pm.

the buffet was not impressive IMO, it was very very repeatitive daily the entire 2 weeks. I have travelled a lot to AI's and did usually see some change in the daily menu but not here, unless you went for dinner and then it was theme nights, but still not much different really. I thought the palladium in P.C. had better food IMO. Most times at a AI i have the best meal at the buffet in the am for breakfast, but here i was disappointed daily on what was offered. ya sure they had variety like cereal, yougart, and eggs, etc but it just was the same thing daily. The eggs were the least impressive and that was a bummer for me b/c i love having omelets when on holidays as i find them the best ever but here they weren't that great, who knows why......

The service: The service lacked in many departments. Some a la cartes they weren't very attanative, was hard to get drink service at times, not what you expect at a 5 star. I found them very friendly and helpful but in the areas that count it lacked.

The rooms: We had reserved a suite as we had our 2 year old with us. It was smaller then i imagined.... It was a bit run down already too, needing a good coat of paint, new doors that actually open and close in the closet, and new bedding. Other then that it worked great for us, we got our room requests that we asked for. 1st floor ,west view and in building 61 PERFECT! The maid service was good but the floor was only swept and never washed in the 2 weeks we were there or the balcony floor. that kinda leaves your feet feeling icky, so i made sure i always had on my slippers.

The pool: This was one of my big concerns. My son is a 100% pool boy and we noticed that the pools are never that clean. We spent most of our time at the riviera pool so i will make my comment on this pool. It had slimy spots in the pool, many many people mentioned how slippery it was. Many slipping especially young children entering the pool at the zero entry part. We would see them daily sweeping the pool for debrey but only once saw chemicals added, never saw them vaccuum the pool floor, etc. just one guy every morning around 9am using a scrbby thing on the bottom of his foot scrubbing the edges....... plus the one day they added chemicals they saded them around 9-9:30 am???? well everyone that entered with in that hour or so got their clothes, swim suites bleached... that should be done at night time!

The bridges and landscaping: We never saw anyone the 2 weeks tend the gardens only cut the grass once....... No trimming bushes, etc.... the gardens would be so pretty if they were taken care of more, everything needed to be trimmed. At other resorts we have been to you always saw gardeners out keeping the garden at their best.
The bridges yes are a bit of a pain for us that have kids but you can avoid almost all but one. The bridges need to be looked at more for safety issues, they should have the back of the steps closed not open or netting or something behind it. Along the sides of the brigdes should have netting or something so little ones don't have open areas to get stuck in, etc.... It made me so iffy when my little one would want to look out the side to watch the boat pass by, etc. Also one MAJOR concer i had was with the ponds, no railings at all around the entire resort pretty much, saw many almost fall into the pond near the buffet.... plus the boat docks and where the canoes sit at the pool side has no safety railings either. VERY unsafe!!!! any little one can fall into the water! I think this is a major area that needs to be looked at.

The place in general: The resort is beautiful to the eye that is forsure, and yes it is very large as we all have read and heard before. The lobbies are beautiful, well kept. The trains, boats and shuttles were awsome. Nice to see markets set up on many many nights throughout the week not only one night like so many other resorts do. Loved the no reservation for a la cartes, ate at them nightly. Would of liked to see premium booze at all bars not only selected one.... They should have more bars and bathrooms around, since the place is so big you do have to walk a lot to get drinks and go to the bathroom. I figure since you are walking so much throught the day and night around the resort you should be able to chill a bit more when at the pool or beach and not walk as much..... just my opinion though. :) Would of been nice to see the pool bar seperate from the swim up bar in two seperate areas.

I hope i covered everything. we had a great holiday, it really is a beautiful resort. I give our holiday a solid 8.5 out of 10 and i do really think it is a solid 4.5 star resort.

HTH don't hesitate to pm me with questions.

  • Liked — too many things to mention
  • Disliked — safety issues with ponds, bridges and boat docks
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lin7604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on our lovely resort years ago. It’s always a pleasure when our guests have a wonderful time with us.

We appreciate your kind tone and look very forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to show you the newest development and progress.

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

Very disappointing .Not all it was cracked up to be. Does not reflect a 5 star rating. Very big resort lot of walking and stair climbing, 18 steps up 18 steps down. Not recommended for those with mobility problems or small children who cannot walk far. Service was very poor in all areas . Grounds not well groomed or kept up in many areas, transport between lobbies and villas few and far between. Buffets there are only two (for all 4 hotels), food very repetitive, have to stand in line and be escorted to a table. Even though tere were many vacant tables you had to wait to be seated. Trying to get a cup of coffee or water with your meal was frustrating by the time you got it your meal was over. Suite was large and nice, some days the coffee pot nor the coffee cups were cleaned ect ect. Animation team not very good at all, no activities on rainy or cloudy days when there were activities it was very low key and not much participation you hardly knew they were there.Pools were great especially the adult pools nice and quiet and no kids. Beach was okay ,quite rocky in many areas water shoes recommended. Only three bars by the beach, washrooms few and far between. A la Cartes, there are 8 in all. Good food and good service, do not know why the rest of the resort had such a problem with service. Water bottles can only be obtained by going to reception not given out by bars ect (unless you only wanted a glass of water or from your bar fridge in your room). Would not recommend nor would I go back.
Manitoba

  • Liked — Always had towels
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank manitoba9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Group of 9 family members just got back from a week at the Grand Palladium Riviera. Let me start with the good--the resort itself is absolutely gorgeous!! Lots of trees and flowers--beautifully maintained. The rooms are large and very nice. Great big shower, jet tub, lots of space. Beautiful marble everywhere!! We stayed in the junior suites--just a short jaunt to the beach. The pools were very nice--clean and well maintained. Now the not so good....service isn't the greatest. It took 2 days for security to come to reset 2 of our safes--that was after many phone calls. Bars didn't have enough help--usually only 1 bartender per bar. If you want to be able to make reservations at the restaurants, you need to stay at the Royale--those staying there get preferential treatment. We waited just about 2 hours to eat when others from the Royale walked right in. Not a good thing at all!! The beach was nice--beautiful white sand, but kinda' dirty. No one out there at all to clean up the junk washed up on shore. The resort itself is HUGE!!! Be prepared to do lots of walking to get to where you want to go. Staff wasn't overly friendly--and most do not speak good English. Hard to get our point across at times--very frustrating!! The worst thing was the topless sunbathing--a big no no--at least I think--at a family resort. In fact, one gal totally stripped down at the pool to put on her swimming suit. Holy Cows!!! Would I go back to this resort?? Probably not.

  • Liked — Rooms were large and spacious
  • Disliked — Topless sunbathing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgrand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

we booked threw signature so we were the first drop off it took about an hour and a half.we stayed in the royal suites all the extras are well worth it!!! if your staying in this section tell the bell boys right away they will come and pick you up and take you to your lobby.theres food and drinks and the computers are there its very refreshing after along travel day:)
we stayed in the jr.suite they are huge! and so nice it has a big shower and his and hers sinks, make up mirror and the hair dryer works well so no need to bring your own!! lots of space.
the king size bed was great they have a great pillow menu with some fantasick pillows ask for one if you don't get one in your room.t.v was brand new has some great music channels and t.n.t for movies.
then you reach your balconey!!! the giant hot tub is amazing!! try not to end up on the first floor or you will never have ANY privicy and that will bum you out !!! we were on the second floor.
the towel art is great something new everyday:) mini bar replenished everyday plus you have four 26ers in your room.
the resort is huge you can get rides everywhere with the royal suites or theres a train that goes around as well great for kids:) they have great pathways to walk,we walked alot it was always a adventure to see wild animals or the alligator pit!! plus theres a pathway along the beach that is lit up at night,this place is spotless and beautiful!!!
theres shops and people come in to the lobbies everynight to sell souvenirs lots of cool stuff.
the beach is so nice,its very long and has different sections the one end is great for snorkeling we saw lots of fish and my husband saw a stingray!! the other side is pure white sand and perfect !!! the royal suites have a section at this end they will bring you food and drinks great time here .
we mostly ate at the royal resturant which is fantasick!!! no complaints at all,they even have three cats and a couple of racoons you can feed they are so cute and gentle:) ribs and more was also just as great!! and the beach snack bars are all good.tried the buffet and it was average never went back there. room sevice was a half hour wait and was always great!!! one time they took awhile so they sent a bottle of champange for the hassel.everyone who works there is very nice and considerate loved them all!!!
we did two trips and we took taxis both times!
tulum ruins; $50 U.S took us there and waited two hours and drove us back we also took the guided tour threw them for 40 U.S but in doing so we didn't have to wait in the hot sun for the line up which was huge!!! would have been at least a hour wait.
we also went to playa del carmen for the day that was 20 U.S each way.
all in all we had a great vacation i would recomend this resort to everyone i have been trying to find another place to try next year so far nothing compares this resort is worth every penny!!

  • Liked — huge hot tub and massive room
  • Disliked — there is NOTHING bad about this place
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank danaHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2017


Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing us as you holiday provider. Thank you also for sharing your excellent experience at the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa.

We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us.
Thank you again. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future to show you all the improvements and renovations in the last years

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Great place been there for 3 years now and have no complaints about anything. Shows, food,Fun Team, weather, pools, service are all amazing!!!!!! Can't wait to go back in 2010. Have looked at other resorts and not sure about leaving here because it just absolutely amazing! Awesome bartenders!

  • Liked — felt safe
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sistersvacationtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2017
Dear Guest

Awesome! Sounds like you had a splendid trip here at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa. We have succeeded providing a memorable vacation.
Thank you for your feedback. This information has let us know during the years to know what we are excelling in and what we need to work on and we can proudly show a new development with many renovated facilities and a generally resort upgrade.
We appreciate your kind words on our resort amenities. Our staff is always there to assist and make your experience even greater. It’s our hope to be able to exceed your expectations once more.
We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation!

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Just retuned from G Palladium, stayed there from Dec.23 to 30th , 08. at the Royal suite, BEAUTIFUL and GREAT SERVICE !!!


ALL i can say is All of the GOOD comments about this hotel are accurate and TRUE ! Will return in the future.

TRIPADVISOR is the best !! Don't leave home without it !!

Thank you !

Wilson

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank wilsonCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to have made your stay a special and memorable one!
It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation and we were able to live up your expectations! Thank you for sharing.
Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in Mexico, and show all the newest renovation and progress

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
5.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera ChetumaL-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa is located sea front with superb access to the beach and is only 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Guests are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Riviera Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Maya
Hotel Grand Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riveria
Gran Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing