We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superior Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Superior Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Grandparents with daughter-in-law and three grandchildren, 12, 12, and 10. Two week Westjet vacation. Third time to Riviera Maya, but first to Palladium Riviera. Wonderful tropical environment, exceptionally well maintained. An extremely large property with a small lake, and kilometers of trails, covered boardwalks and bridges. (Understand that Riviera and White Sands lobbies are more or less connected and share restaurants, bars, pools, shops etc. The same with the Colonial and Kantenah.) All four are easily accessible via efficiently run shuttles and are available to all without distinction. The Riviera includes the adult Royal Suites and is somewhat quieter. The Kantenah has the children's pool and seems a bit more upbeat.
Our check-in was efficient and we are our luggage were delivered to our room without delay. We had a standard junior suite which was large, clean and well maintained. Excellent air-conditioning and a well stocked, "and cold" bar fridge.
The buffets provided a good variety of standard fair food. We had no complaints. Likewise the a la carte restaurants provided a variety of good to excellent food depending upon your taste. Make a reservation at the Sumptuori and enjoy the tableside cooking show. With that exception, reservations aren't really required, particularly if you choose to eat early as we did.
The two main pools are "massive" and there is no problem obtaining lounges at any time of the day. There are also a salt-water pool, adult only pools and kids pools one of which had waterslides. Everyone seemed to have a favourite.
The beach is large, clean, well maintained and once again provided an excess of lounges. The actual swimming area is safe and reasonably large with a clean bottom although their are still a number of smooth rocks.
The staff was, without exception great. In particular we appreciated the friendliness and extra effort put forward by Riviera / White Sands bellmen Gary and Frank. If you required any assistance they looked after it.
Our opinion is that this is certainly a "family" resort. If you don't want to be around children it probably isn't for you. As a family we absolutely enjoyed all that was offered and there was never a moment that we did not feel safe and secure, or for that matter bored.
If you are looking for an excellent vacation experience on the Riviera Mayan the Palladium Resort is definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    719
    289
    119
    108
See reviews for
946
1,020
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Generally okay, but not impressive. Clean and the restaurant and bar staff were mainly friendly, but there did not seem to be a lot of communication between different staff groupings. We went with a wedding with 30 people and there was a lot of confusion with rooms - some guests having to switch up to 3 times. Food was pretty average, which is disappointing. We were excited to try archery and/ or rifle shooting, but those turned out to be one plastic piece shared between the whole group; also yoga was just stretching. The shows we saw were quite hokey as well.
Probably not bad for people who only want to lie around the pool or beach, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_AmyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Dr_AmyLou,
Thank you for your comments, I take note and you can be sure they will help us to improve our facilities.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Having stayed at the Kantenah and White Sands on this property we found the lack of service to be a disappointing let down to our stay. We found our way to the reception desk on arrival and waited patiently for one of the 3 people on duty to come to our service. We were presented with an sign-in for a relative with the same last name and then were challenged when indicating the check-in package was for some one else. Another wait while our reservation was pulled up on the computer. Once we filled out the required paperwork we had to find a bellman who shuttled us to our suite. The suite was not at all disappointing and we found it very comfortable for our stay.
We arrived rather late 8:45 PM so we went in search of food at the buffet. The bellman had left us a number to call and we were picked up at our villa in 5 minutes. That was the last time, until we checked-out that we were not waiting for transportation to or from our villa. During the week we stayed our legs got an real work-out walking to and from the buffet, the restaurants and/or the lobby. But when we were to tired for the walk, it was usually a prolonged wait for the "regularly scheduled" shuttle. One evening we waited over 30 minutes with other angry patrons for a ride to our rooms. Once the rain let up, many of us walked. Our past experiences with this property lead us to recommend this resort to a family member, who joined us in our disappointment with the service aspect of our stay. It was obvious that the Palladium Travel Club members (Royal Suites) took priority over the regular paying guests.
On a positive note, the food was usually very good and the selection at the buffet outstanding. We were always seated, without difficulty at the a la carte restaurants, if we arrived between 6 and 6:30. The service was generally very good, but the food left some in our party underwhelmed. It took 3 days and 3 requests to get a remote for our TV. The one in the room had no batteries, not did the Ipod speaker base, which never did receive attention. Good thing I brought my own mini-speakers. I pointed out that I had slipped on water dripping from the ceiling in the hall way, which was addressed on our 3rd day. The ants crawling around on the bathroom vanity were still having a good time when we left. A little bit of Raid wouldn't hurt.
This is one beautiful property and the walks through the mangrove gave us an opportunity to view the local wild life up close. Palladium has taken great care in preserving the environment and should be commended for their effort. All they need to do is improve the service side of the resort and we might consider returning for a fourth visit.

Room Tip: If you like walking and quiet then the Riviera is the ideal location, however the Kantenah, Colonial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Marty T,
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to know about repetitive customers and in this case I'm very sorry that you didn't have the vacation you expected.
I dare to ask you for a new opportunity if you decide to visit us for a fourth time. Please contact me in advance, I will be happy to meet you during your stay.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Okay my only negative about this resort is a lot of walking.if you have little kids or have a hard time walking this would be really difficult unless you can get a room close to what you like. Well we just arrived back. We stayed there for two weeks. We have been to six other resorts in the area .the grand palladium riveria is a wonderful resort. The staff is wonderful. They treat you great. Our room was really nice stocked daily. No complaints. We went to 7 out of 8 restaurants. You have to be patient because some of the restaurants do take a while. One of the restaurants took up to one hour and half wait. They give you a beeper ,which worked well so you can go sit in the lounge while you are waiting .

We spent a lot of our days on the beach. The beach is really narrow and long .There are two main areas were people swim. These areas are really nice . We did see a few stingrays. There are fish where you are swimming. Many people feed the fish which does keep them around. We went snorkelling but we didn't see that much.
We went out of the resort twice. Instead of taking tours we did our own. We walked outside of the resort across the highway and took a colectivo for 3.50 each and asked him to take us to the Tulum ruins. He dropped us off at the highway and we walked across the road and went to the ruins. A lot of shopping .The walk in is about 20min. It's a great place to go .when we went there were a lot of tour groups. When we left we stood by the highway not knowing where to catch the colectivo . A colectivo was filling up with gas at a gas station nearby. He spotted us and began to honk the horn so we ran over and jumped in with him and 3 tourists.
Another day we took the collectivo to Alkumel Bay. They will drop you off at the highway. We walked on the overpass walkway .it is a good 2 miles to walk to the bay. Their are a few store there and a restaurant . Tour groups go here to snorkel with the turtles . We decided once again to go on our own. We snorkelled where the tour groups were. When they all left we stayed and yes we did see turtles.Big turtles. Anyway I hope this review helps you and gives you a few ideas. Would I go back? Yes I would, but I would asked to be in an area that would suit our needs . And yes I love walking. Transportation is available

Room Tip: We were in building 67 to far from every thing. Please ask for closer. We walked a total of 6 miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We arrived at the Cancun Airport amidst rain. Arriving on Wed. from MN we didn't see much sun until Saturday. It took us about 30 minutes to go thru customs and find our shuttle. We went with Canada Transfers and it cost $117. The driver going to GP was talkative and wanted to practice his English the driver coming back said nothing. Both trips were ontime and did a find job. It took about 75 minutes each way. I'm always concerned if the shuttle will remember the reservation but so far they have not failed to show up on time.
As many have said, the resort is huge. I paced off the oceanfront beach and it is close to a mile in length. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite from our planned jr.suite. We stayed in the Riviera section and were in unit 60 which is close to the main pool and the salt water oceanside pool. I was impressed with the level of detail at the resort: the brick paths, overhead canopies, lighted walkways, etc. Alot of time went into constructing this resort.
The food is similar to a cruise ship, maybe a little below. The evening Ala Cart restaurants had some nice choices but the morning and lunch buffets got a little old. They did have cooking stations where they made eggs to order, pancakes, burgers,etc. But I started missing even the fast food restaurants in the U.S.
The suite we stayed in was very nice and roomy for the two of us. The cable TV in the room was ok but got very few U.S. stations.

The good thing about such a large resort is that it gave you alot of places to walk to and lay around at. The bad thing was getting to someplace on the opposite side of the resort. I usually like to go to the gym and workout for a few minutes but it this case the workout would be getting to the gym, it was on the opposite end of the resort. They do have shuttles to get on but I'm not very good at waiting, not knowing when they may show up. We ran into this same problem when we left and tried to get a shuttle to haul our luggage. We he finally showed up he was running late and had a large group to pickup. Luckally, the pontoon boat shuttle was available and waiting so he took us and all turned out fine.
Though the trip started out rainy, we had great weather from Sat. to Wed. and got plenty of sun. We had plans to take the bus into Akumal to do some snorkeling but found out we were too content just to lay by the ocean and the pools rather than stand out in the hot sun waiting for a bus,it didn't sound so appealing anymore. We did find a few coral areas in front of the resort to snorkel at. They were hard to find but held some nice fish.
In conclusion, it was a great trip at a beautiful place. A good place to people watch and a great beach. I would like to go back someday but there are other places too check out also. So time will tell what the future holds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I agree with other reviews-- the beach itself is gorgeous. There's a lot of wildlife that kids would enjoy, the spa is great. BUT....
The front desk is terrible-- we tried both white sand and kantenah hotels and it's the same terrible service. Although the bellboys, transportation drivers are nice and friendly, why are the front desk staff so snippy?!!! We asked for transportation to the restaurant (it is about an 8 minute walk and we have 3 kids) because it was raining. And the front desk told me "no, we don't do that" and that we have to wait for the train. However I've spoken with other people who requested transportation and was given one.
Our "personal concierge" Liz needs training in customer service. First we couldn't check in right away because she was not at the hotel when we came. She was abrupt. Totally unavailable. Worst of all, she messed up our transportation going home. The transportation was part of the package we paid for. But Without consulting with us, she scheduled transportation at 9 am WITHOUT telling us (we leave at 2 pm) and when we spoke to her about it, she said that she cannot do anything about it (driver left) and we have to arrange our own transpo. I
Food was average. The ala carte restaurants are not that special. The difference is you have to wait longer for service.
I totally agree with what one reviewer said about time share people. They will give you such hard sell and waste so much of your vacation time. Stay away!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently returned from yet another wonderful vacation at the Grand Palladium. This was our second trip to this resort, and we were more impressed this trip compared to three years ago.
Our room was in villa 66 in the Riviera section of this enormous place. A few things to keep in mind if booking to this resort:

1. This place is huge..we've stayed at the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic which may be a bit larger, but it's incredibly large nonetheless. With that said, understand unless you're willing to wait for trains/buggies constantly, you will spend lots of time walking, so bring appropriate footwear.
2. We had our two year old daughter with us, if you have small children I DO NOT recommend staying in the Riviera section. Reason is, the kids area(which has been renovated and is simply incredible complete with big water slides etc), main beach area and most of the entertainment are located by the Colonial section which is a LONG walk with a toddler or infant. In my opinion, Riviera section is more appropriate for older guests and those that do not wish to be part of the main activities and noise. It does have the salt water pool close by, and a second enormous pool complete with swim up bar that is much less busy than the Colonial area. However, I spent most of my time on the beach building sand castles or in the play land area with our daughter, so I will definitely do things different next time.
3. Staff here are incredible in every aspect. They are all extremely happy and helpful. From cleaning our room, to directions, to assisting us with getting our daughters bottles filled at night, the staff are nothing short of extraordinary and I would sincerely like to extend my thanks to each member that helped us. It means a lot to have someone go out of their way to make our stay that much easier.
4. Food is great, all restaurants we tried(Chinese, Rib place, El Dorado) were fantastic and breakfast buffets were amazing. We are not incredibly fussy people anyway, but were again blown away by the quality of food here.
5. Our biggest regret is not having a map with us CONSTANTLY. Even being our second trip here, we were still getting lost. Keep a map with you at all times, especially at night.
6. The parasailing at the far end of the beach is well worth the $65.00 each. As this trip was based on my brothers wedding, I took advantage and forced my father to join me in a tandem parasail. It was awesome, and although he was a bit nervous at first, he quickly got over it and we both really enjoyed the views of all the resorts along the strip.
7. The disco is like most at resorts, hit and miss depending on the night. With such a large group, we did make the most of it and had a great time. There is a small sports bar also, but during our one week didn't see more than a handful of people in there at any one moment.
8. I highly recommend this resort, it has everything for everyone of all tastes. Again, remember it's very large, so I can't stress enough how important good comfortable walking shoes are.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank SBurke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear SBurke3,

First and foremost, thank you for your good comments and feedback from your last stay with us. I feel glad to realize that you did have the wonderful vacations expected, specially being a repeater guest that enjoyed your previous visits.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
6.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera ChetumaL-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa is located sea front with superb access to the beach and is only 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Guests are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Riviera Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Maya
Hotel Grand Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riveria
Gran Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing