We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great resort and staff”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our 4th stay with palladium rivieria and it gets better every time.Just returned from 10 days of heaven.The staff are excellent cant do enough to make your stay the best. Front desk check-in and out was fast and easy.Rooms are very clean with plenty of towels and the fridge is restocked everyday.There are a wide variety of al carte restaurants...,meditraian,japenesse, itialian,brizalian,mexican,ribs and more..........all are very good.The buffet is very clean and the food is keep stocked and warm. The best part of this visit though was the entertainment staff they never stop from morning to mid night.Rain days they move inside and keep going games,dancing,bingo, etc . You have to visit the rivieria pool area Bowwow (Jorge) has returned to palladium and things are hopping....Zumba and dance lessons with Bowwow are a must FUN x 20, trivia ,water games, water exercise,bingosomething for young and old.In the evenings drinks at the bar or take in a show this resort has it all.No need to leave this resort for late night fun the disco on site is crazy good. Thanks to all the staff for a great vacation see you soon !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
dear Ibetan,

thanks for the comments about your stay at the hotel. definitely the hotel's entertainment staff is the best in the world and of course Jorge makes it quite an experience!
hope to see you back soon!

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    845
    333
    125
    121
See reviews for
1,137
1,210
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I love this resort. All of the service is great and all the food is outstanding. It is not that far to walk everywhere. I went to this resort 3 times in a row and going there again in november for the 4th time!. I love this place.

Room Tip: At the colonial lobby villas 3-9 will be good because if you want to go to sleep early. That way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear David M.

thank you for the reviews, we will be glad to receive you at the hotel on your fourth visit.

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great pleace for a family vacation. We stayed 10 days and location is perfect, mid way between Tulum and Cancún, close to Playa del Carmen...but not walking distance! Public buses (or "combis" resulted great way of transportation very inexpensive and are always available at the main entrance. Facilities of the hotel are very good, very well maintained. Many restaurants to choose from, food is good considering it is an all inclusive hotel. We loved Ribs n´more restaurant! Staff was good, some of them very good and attentive, others were not...too busy... Kudos for room attendants and bell people, very attentive. Only to comment...wi fi is not reliable at all. Even if you pay the extra fee so be patient or leave your need to be connected at home. Also, watersports are not good at all... old equipment, not enough for everyone and staff is not attentive at all. They open late and close early... Besides this small things, we had a great time, we were not disappointed. Do not miss the salt water swimming pool right on the edge of the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillerm0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear GuillermOG,
Thank you for your reviews about the experiences you had at the hotel; we are taking all your comments in consideration to improve our performance in the future.
Definitely the salt water pool is the favorite for the majority of our guests, and a place that you not have to miss.
Once again, we thank you for provide to us the opportunity to serve you during your vacation, and we hope to hear from your next visit soon.

Best Regards,

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just returned from two week what a fantastic hotel food staff excellent the one big problem we had was our daughter had a life long teddy that was accidently taken from our room by the cleaner we are still gutted so for our last week we were running about trying to find it we still dont have it back but we are still hopeing that it is found and soon the manager was very helpful and so was the staff at the lost and found desk thomsom rep migel was so good to lindsey our other thomson rep was useless apart from this we did enjoy it and we just hope we can be reunited with our teddy soon thank for all your help just please keep searching for baa lamb thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starthemut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are a family of four with kids aged 8 and 10. Very athletic and love to snorkel. We have been in the past to the Grand Sirenis (next door), The Barcelo Palace (a few resorts up with the most amazing stretch of ocean to snorkel) and we also went to Cozumel to the Grand Occidental. In my mind, The Grand Palladium (the 4 resorts) is almost identical in size, architecture and layout to the Barcelo (minus the Palace). Now this being said, I think there is a bit less walking at the Barcelo and the beach over there is a lot more fun for snorkeling. However, the beach at The Palladium is wider with more palm trees and a more open feel.

The food was nothing to write home about but we always found something to eat to our taste. It was great to be able to eat by the beach or by the Riviera pool at the Laguna. We always ate at the a la Cartes around 19h00 and never had any long wait time, max about 20 minutes (just the time to grab a sparkling wine at the bar). On the topic of alcohol, we mostly had beer during the day (until we found out they had espumoso (sparkling wine) at the beach bars. The white house wine was ok, if a little sweet. I tasted the vodka and was able to down one shot easily without wincing so not sure it was 40%! But I could be wrong. The a la carte we preferred were the Chinese and the Brazilian.

Let's get to the topic of walking. Now people, when you book a trip with your hard earned money (as I read over and over), read up on the place BEFORE you book. Now, if you don't like walking, have mobility issues or both, this is NOT the place for you. Really, forget it and look elsewhere. On the other hand if you like to stay in shape even if you drink and eat a lot, enjoy a beautiful scenery, encounter coatis and Iguanas, then this place will be a good fit. Forget the transportation, just walk. When you learn your way around, things are not so far. This being said, we learned also that from the Colonial or Kantenah Lobby to our room at the Riviera section you can take a shuttle that is called shuttle to the Colonial and Kantenah villas, tell the driver you want to go to Colonial villa number 8 and you will be dropped off near the Riviera pool and you villa is a few steps away, even closer that if you went to the Lobby at Riviera....The trains that go lobby to lobby are always packed but that one was always empty at night.

As for the rooms, They are in need of a makeover but to tell you the truth, one of the largest we stayed in Mexico and very clean (most importantly). We were on the third floor and had high ceilings and as I mentioned, big and airy. We never heard a noise. Housekeeping was fine. We had a non-functioning fridge, they sent someone to fix it but we had to call twice more and always the quick fix that never resolved the issue. No big deal, but just change it!:) The staff was nice and courteous but again nothing out of the ordinary. However, I must say I was happily surprised when I got a response prior to leaving to my email for the room requests. Obviously, nothing was promised to me but it was nice to get a response and appreciated.

As for tips, we had brought pesos (100) and it was almost impossible to get change to be able to leave 20 or 30 pesos for the buffet staff, bars, room etc....And at the front desk, don't try to have change, we tried multiple times. I would think that the hotel management would provide this service in order to retribute their staff, not only the a la cartes where you typically tip more) Anyway, if you are the tipping type, bring change!

We stayed from July 11th to the 21st, traveled with West Jet (always a good experience) they deal with Best day Travel that was excellent too. (small vans only for transfers, so no stopping at 4 resorts on the way).

Overall a very nice trip, Not a luxury resort in my opinion but for the money, a very, very good option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viosly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the resort from 8th july to 22nd july 2013 and had booked through first choice, i had sent an email to to the hotel a week before to request a room upgrade as it was our honeymoon, upon check in we were desinated to villa 7 on the coloniel side, it was a basic room with a king size bed we received a fruit basket and bottle of tequilla and a just married banner, at our welcome meeting the next morning we mentioned to our rep about the upgrade and later on that afternoon we were moved to villa 65 on the riveria side (room 6535), the room was magnificent big big king size bed, loads of storage space and a big jacuzzi as well as a walk in shower but best of all was our view of the sea from our balcony, its was lovely waking up each morning with the view. our maid mirna was fantastic came in ever day, cleaned etc and left us lovely towel decorations, fridge was restocked but the drinks werent really that cold, wasnt too much of a problem as we just filled the ice bucket.......despite signs in the lobby there was a lot of noise at night with people coming in but thats not the hotels fault just some inconsiderate guests!
We tended to go to the adult pool at bar islas every day which was very good, bar man was brill, even bringing us drinks over without us asking, seats in pool were cleaned every day, only slight problem about pool was our swimming trunks/bikini turned yellow and the husband got an ear infection,
We went to buffet for breakfast and lunch which was good,varied selection and fresh, beach bars pizza's were brill so were the fajitas....we visited most of the a la cartes with the exception of fish, ribs & more i wasnt impressed ordered rack of ribs and what i got was a plate of fat, so bad that i had to leave it, hubby got burger which he said was ok...italian on our first visit hubby got pizza lets just say you would be better with a morrisions kids pizza, it was cheap and nasty, i got steak but again it was all fat, we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and returned for a 2nd visit, the pasta was lovely! steak house again steak was fatty but the medallion was delicious according to the hubby, bamboo was delicious chicken sate was delicious we decided to revisit again on our last night and now we wish we didnt, waiter service was terrible, we had empty glasses which he noticed but walked past us to give water to the couple sitting right behind us, ordered chicken sate again but was not safe to eat, it was raw!
all the rest we visited were lovely, we did try the buffet a few nights too which was good a full variety of food.
as we were on our honeymoon we were invited to a honeymooners dinner, what i thought would be a nice romantic meal turned into a shambles....turned up at restaurant at correct time to stand in a queue of about 20 people and to see about 50 people already seated, giving a drink which didnt taste too nice so was left as a lot of others did too, was given a red rose then told that we would be sitting at a table of6, husband said no that we would wait for table for 2, waiter said no you have to sit now, so went to table then quickly another two couples followed, atmosphere was more awkward than romantic, had a look at menu (mostly fish which we dont like) another couple at the table decided to leave so we took the oppertunity to leave as well, i must admit it was a bit disappointing,didnt really make you feel special just part of a club!
we must say that lyndsey the first choice rep was brillant, she organised a bottle of champagne in our room to make up for the dinner, and she helped with all our questions etc.
we done the pub crawl through first choice which takes you to 3 bars then coco bongos, which was brillant, but if you book it dont plan anything for the next day, as you may be a bit on the tender side as we were :) :)
Cleaniness was fantastic, they were always out cleaning and the place was spotless
bars were great always served with a smile, infact all the staff all over the resort are the most genuine friendly people i have ever meet, always a hola.....we went to hemmingways which didnt really impress us much nor did churchhills, so we usually just sat in the lobbys with coloniel or riveria. we saw some of the shows, but considering the hotel is 5 star the entertainment lets them down, basically its is dancing to a song, not exactly telling a story just dancing and i think the dances are all the same, i think they need to improve entainment,possibly gets acts in etc, also we were there two weeks and it was exactly the same shows on the second week as it was on the first.
overall we had a great honeymoon, but we have been home now for 4 days and both of us have a severe virus which started two days before we left the hotel, we didnt drink to much and were very careful, maybe its just a bug going round but we will never know, as much as we enjoyed our stay i dont know if it is a place we would go back to year after year

Room Tip: room 6535 in villa 65 on riveria had a gorgeous sea view and not too much a walk to the lobby or poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare-Gartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I hope this review will help other people. Overall I and my husband were disappointed and I will explain why. We spent 10 days in this resort (mid July).
There are a lot of villas and a lot to walk, so people with little kids or not willing to spend 1h/day on the way to the beach, pool or restaurant be aware of what you have to walk. Lucky us our room was located in Riviera - villa 62 which is very close to the beach and pool. The beach near Riviera resort is very rocky, but it's heaven if you like snorkeling. There is a must for water shoes! Take a banana from buffet (breakfast time) and open it in the water: all kind of fish will fight over that banana and you cannot see your fingers of that much fish. We had a water proof camera and had a lot of pictures and movies done (I did not download them yet). I saw 3 times stingrays (mid size to big 50cm-1m). One of them was 3-4 yards of the shore !!! They get covered in the sand and you have no idea what you step on. Always wear the shoes and shuffle the sand ahead of you.
Near Colonial resort the beach has fine sand but kind of humid and sticky. The beach also is very narrow. The water area good for swimming it is kind of small.
They have 3 ski jets only and offer parasailing (these are contractors do not belong to the resort). There are other water activities listed on the resort's website.
There are 2 big pools very similar as design. We spent a lot of time by the White Sand/Riviera pool. They offer different games and activities by the pool. It was pretty clean and not very deep.
Walking to pool and restaurants you always have to pass some bridges with a lot of stairs.
It did not bother me, but some people might not like it.
Take itchy cream and mosquito spray. My husband is really bad: he got stung by mosquitos during the rain outside thru his swimming shirt !!! Those little mosquitos are really bad !!!!

They have also 2 theaters but I did not notice too much activities. One evening we wanted to see a show (The ideal couple) and it was passed 10 pm and the show had not started. Our daughter (9 years old) was already very tired. I can tell you there were no more than 50 people including the kids !
About food and restaurants. Here it is my biggest disappointment. I am not a picky or big eater, or someone who says right away "gross", but food takes down a lot of points for this resort. This is our 3rd time in 4 years on Riviera Maya (different resort each time), but this one had the lowest quality food. For breakfast everybody goes to buffet where you have 3 types of mortadella, some ham that looked very cheap, cheap sausages, not one type of fish for breakfast, at least 4-5 morning I wanted to eat melon, but it was not there. I noticed 2 mornings when they had smoked salmon, but that was it. I hunted it all the other mornings, but nothing. I do not go on vacation to eat mortadella...
They have cereals (but they look really cheap), omlets (with vegies or other meat at your choice), some Mexican dishes, sweets. We tried Bamboo (Chinese): we waited 40 min and my husband's dish (shrimp with pasta) was cold. Shrimps were cold also, with shell and not deveined. If you order egg roll they are so tiny better mention from the beginning you want 2. We waited to long for water or refill your wine. We skipped the dessert.
Sumptuori restaurant (you need reservation): the chef will cook in front of you some meat, fish, rice with veggies. Our chef (a lady) used a lot of terryaki sauce and soy sauce. For me and my husband everything tasted very salty !!! Nothing special.
We tried Punta Emilia (you need reservation also): it is a fish based restaurant located on the beach. First time our daughter ate the fish soup like there is no tomorrow, second dish too, we liked what we got, too. We returned 3-4 nights later (2nd time) and the same soup was totally different, and my husband got a really bad stomach cramps. I had to give him Imodium twice. That's a must to have with you (itchy cream and imodium).
We tried La Adelita (mexican): this one was ok. Anyway skip the chef specialty - if it is chicken with chocolate - it was disastrous (a big piece of chicken breast covered with something brown - I cannot name it chocolate.
We tried Ribs Restaurant : ribs were ok, but be aware that instead of bbq sauce you get the sweetest ketchup, if that's ok with you. Desserts were excellent.
The Brazilian restaurant was ok, but really nothing spectacular. They should serve some real veggies by so much meat. A piece of corn on the cobb and a boiled potato does not mean veggies.
We went at the buffet 3 evenings also. I think it was by far the best a la cart restaurant of the resort.
I want to mention that in my opinion, being in Mexico during the summer, there are certain things that should be all the time served: melon, fish, tomatoes (tasty ones not plastic type), fresh fruits, not from the can. One morning the hash browns were so burned we could not get one, other mornings were really ok. So I am talking about being consistent and trying to have high standards.

I forgot to say that our mirror in the bathroom was horrible : o lot of brownish permanent stripes. How expensive can be to replace a mirror ???
Another thing: they offer pillow menu. $3/night if you want a different pillow type. What they offer it is very firm. I am ok sleeping without a pillow, my daughter had hers from home and my husband liked it firm. But other people???
I also caught a standard cockroach in the bathroom, and I saw one at the buffet.
I also mention that I tipped every single day ($2/day for the room) and $2-5 for restaurants, including breakfast and lunch. Those people work really hard and it is not their fault for bad management.
Overall we enjoyed the amenities and entertaining team by the pool, but for sure we will not return to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Gerente at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Vanessa S,

we thank you for your reviews about the hotel and services, definitely the snorkel it is one of the best attraction in the Riviera and seems that you took the best of that experience.

we sorry to hear about your disappointment in our restaurants and food served on them, we really try to please to the majority of our customers but some times itis not possible, however we really appreciate all your comments and we will take very seriously all of them to improve our performance in the future.

best regards,

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
5.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, km 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa is located sea front with superb access to the beach and is only 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Guests are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Riviera Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Maya
Hotel Grand Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riveria
Gran Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing