We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, but........”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Service, food, staff and beach was very good. Hotel rooms were very nice but very noisy. Music was extremely loud at pools and in the lobby at night. Smoking is still a problem in the lobby and in front of all the restaurants. Getting into the specialty restaurants was very difficult. Was not able to get into the Japanese restaurant any of the 10 nights of our stay. You must join the Palladium Vacation Club (several thousand dollars) if you expect to make a reservation at any of the specialty restaurants. The Spa now costs extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Jack H,

First and foremost, thank you for your good comments and feedback from your last stay with us. I feel glad to realize that you did have the wonderful vacations expected,

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kindest regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    740
    327
    133
    70
See reviews for
926
1,185
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Grand Palladium White Sands. Huge resort of 4 hotels in one complex. More on that later.
Travelled with Sunwing. At the Cancun airport our rep got us on the right bus and delivered to the right hotel and that was about the extent of his usefulness. Maybe other reps were better but this one did his job and went home.
Front desk service at the hotel was fast and friendly but we were the only ones arriving at the time. Did see long line-ups at other times, but that usually meant a whole busload arrived at the same time. Of course it takes time to process that many people. Have patience. And we did not get the usual welcome drink, in fact we had a great deal of trouble finding anywhere to even get one for ourselves. The lobby bar at the White Sands closed at 11:00PM and we were left to find our own supper and refreshment upon our late arrival.
Shuttle service to our room in the middle of the night was good, and we were picked up at our room on the morning of our departure, having booked with them the night before. Supposedly these little shuttles were available for use around the complex all the time, but usually they were delivering arriving guests, or picking up departing guests, OR going at a rapid pace in the wrong direction most other times. We walked.
And walked, and walked. More on that later.
Our room was okay. Some updates and replacement of some bathroom fixtures and tiles would be in order, but overall not too bad. Nice jacuzzi and tiled shower. Biggest complaint was the bed. It was a bit too firm for me, but that's just a preference thing.. but there was a horrible plastic mattress cover such as you might place on a hospital bed or a crib mattress. It was unbreathable (ie: sweat like crazy) and rattled every time you moved. Very unpleasant. Nice balcony and indoor sitting area. Mini-fridge stocked daily with soft drinks, water and beer. Good A/C.
Pool area was very large, sometimes a bit difficult to find a chair. The usual saving of chairs with towels in the morning was commonplace. It was easy to join in the activities, which we did not, but it was also easy to find another area of the pool where it was quieter. Swim up bar was never busy but it was also in the shade most of the day and therefore a bit too cool. There are 2 such huge pool areas in the complex, the other one had children's activities such as a water slide and some falls to splash in, as well as a wading area for small children. There were also 3 adult pools which had limited seating, but were a gem for those of us who like to read and sunbathe. Also a saltwater pool which was never busy and had horrible "discount store" style loungers. Good fish/hermit crab watching on the rocky tidal area.
The beach was great, had an interesting snorkeling area at one end (bring water shoes for the coral/rocky bottom) as well as a great swimming area at the other. Didn't try the water sports. Lots of chairs always available but shortage of palapas at the good swimming end of the beach.
Food in the buffets was good, although by the end of the week it was starting to look repetitive. We could have broken up the monotony by trying the al-a-cartes, but did not. They were not able to be pre-booked. You had to wait until the evening that you wished to eat in one, and line up and book a time then. The line-ups we saw were for the steak-house and some people had to wait for 30 minutes or more just to book a meal time.
Service in the buffets was a bit hit or miss at breakfast, better at lunch and good by suppertime. House red wine was better than the white IMHO.
We had booked the White Sands because it was supposedly better than the other hotels at the Grand Palladium. We did not find that to be the case at all. In fact we spend most of our time at the Riviera hotel (Which shared the lobby area with the White Sands) and Coloniel hotels (Which shared it's lobby area with the Kantenah).
We could have saved several hundred dollars and received exactly the same service level. I am not sure why such a pricing variance when all the hotels had access to the same services (or lack of).
The evening entertainment at the Riviera was good, there was none at the White Sands. Also, if you wished to have a drink at an intimate bar in the evening, forget it, as there did not seem to be such a thing at this complex. The bar service was very slow at all the hotels. It usually took most of 20 minutes between ordering your beverage and receiving it. Order for yourself at the bar to get better service. We did find some smaller bars at the Kantenah hotel, but they lacked any ambiance and had no service except what you ordered for yourself.
The entire complex was a maze of trails and lagoons. What gardens and grounds there were, were well manicured, but most of the complex is surrounded by natural mangrove swamp which needed to only by trimmed back periodically. There were lots of lizards and other native animals. PEOPLE, PLEASE DO NOT FEED THE ANIMALS. They are cute, yes, but not afraid at all, and were coming right into the villas and restaurants at night to scrounge for garbage and whatever else they could find. They carry diseases (like rabies) and defecate and urinate wherever they go.
The grounds could do with a little more colour in the form of flowering shubs and trees.
The smelly lagoon maze at the White Sands and Riviera hotels is traversed by a system of bridges which resulted in an unintentional cardio workout every time you tried to go somewhere. The lagoon maze is continued inside all the hotel lobbies in the form of sculpted ponds and fountains. Very pretty but you had to walk about twice as far as needed to get anywhere. There has to be a better use of real estate. I like pretty, but this theme was overboard.
The location on the Mayan Riviera is beautiful, but the complex is isolated and about 30 minutes from either Playa del Carmen, for which you can sign up for a free shuttle (as long as you are prepared to stop for 1 hour at a jewelry factory) or 30 minutes from Tulum where there are beautiful Mayan city ruins.
Overall we enjoyed the hotel, but the artist that designed it needs to go back to design school to learn some basic rules of efficiency. I like to explore, but we learned every back path at the hotel by taking wrong turns here and there. And the bridges have got to go. I saw lots of people with small children and older people having serious difficulties getting about.
This complex is beautiful, but I can't see myself going back due to service issues and the overall layout of the complex.

Room Tip: Villas 58 and 59 to be close to the beach and pool. Long walk to lobby though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 101_TravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear 101_TravelMom,


I would like to give you thank you for your time and your comments. I will share this with the rest of the team.

If we can help you with anything in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

David Calvo

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Me and my husband had our honeymoon here, and would highly recommend it.
The rooms are huge, with everything you need and more. The staff were excellent and very friendly.
All the food was good, at times the buffet restaurants were very busy and noisy, but that's to be expected in a resort of this size.
We never pre booked at any of the A la Carte restaurants but managed to eat in them all.
We did use the spa facilities and again found them fantastic.
We also ventured outside the resort,using the local bus we travelled to Playa del Carmen. It was safe and very friendly. And a good way to see the places, not normally covered by taxi.
We will return again someday and will have no hesitation in going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Tracyw78,



Thanks a lot for such a delightful review about your last holidays in our resort. Reading it made us feel happy for being part of the team that made possible to offer you a memorable vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
David Calvo

Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to the GP White Sands and may be back. We were welcomed by friendly staff no cold towel and beverage stated that we would receive assuming because we chose to hire our own transportation over taking the bus stopping at several resorts on route to the GP.
The grounds are absolutely stunning so clean colourful and easy to get around the resort.
Our room was not what we expected in description given but very clean, it needed some minor maintenance fixes taken care of that was not done over our 7 day stay (towel hanger loose by shower,hallway light I front of closet did I not work from day 1,our air cond. fan clicked the whole time unless you tap it lightly to stop)
The food was divine, never once let down,salad bars even the outdoor ones were so fresh and crisp all the time! There's a wide variety of choice should never be let down.
The Mexican market in the Colonial was a nice size and lots to offer for those who do not want to go into town.
If you want very close short walk to the beach request building 58 or 59 only half of each building on 3rd floor has some ocean view rooms. The decks on the rooms are roomy.also being in these buildings you are closest to the saltwater pool and 24 hour bar which also offers food we ate here at lunch everyday it was good.
If are going to scuba dive we highly recommended Rudy he was a fun guy to dive with he will show you the sites and a good time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daydreamer272010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Gerente at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Daydreamer272010,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. We appreciate that you have taken the time to advise us of your opinion.

I am glad to read about all the wonderful experiences you had during your stay, your positive comments are greatly appreciated. I am pleased to know you loved the grounds and the exquisite meals among the other great aspects of our Resort which you have mentioned. We would love to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Laura López Rodríguez
Gerente de Recepción // Front Office Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & SPA
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed Feb 28 to March 1, 2014

My husband and I have been on two paid work trips to Secrets Resorts so I will try to be fair in my review since we had to pay this trip on our own. We could have gone to Secrets Huatulco for same the week and same price, but decided to give Riviera Maya a try based on recommendations of the area.

We read several Trip Advisor reviews on several resorts and settled on this one for our first time in Riviera Maya.

The resort is very BIG and beautiful. The landscaping is authentic and the resort is very clean. There are iguanas, raccoons, coatis and sereque (like large rat) all over the property. They leave the guests alone and it would be nice if more people obeyed the signs and did not feed the animals. I imagine they control the smaller rodent and bug population and guests feeding them defeats the purpose. There are bridges everywhere and a constant crew of workers doing necessary repairs. In a such a humid climate, they do a good job keeping up with all the necessary work needed to keep the authentic feel of the resort. You will need the resort map to get oriented and get around the first few days. By day 3 we felt we had mastered the routes we needed, but still found ourselves lost and laughing occasionally. How bad can getting lost in a Mexican resort be? Be prepared for lots of walking, a good way to work off all the food and alcohol.

We had a Mayan Suite which was very nice. It took a while to get used to showering outside, but by day 3 we were OK with the little gecko who lived on the wall (and No, other guests cannot see you). The maid service was good and room very clean, although one day our room did not get made up by 4pm and since we decided to shower and get ready from 4 to 5 it never got made up later. We were not bothered by noise from pools, etc... The only noise was A/C in the room. Fan was constantly on and blew right on the bed. Would be nice if fan shut off once temperature was reached.

The food was OK. Breakfast and lunch buffets had a large variety for everyone, consisting of both local food and American-style food. We ate at several a-la-cartes and found Portofino (Italian) and Punta Emelia to be the best. We were glad to be able to sit outside on the Portofino patio part the first night, but it was occupied by weddings the rest of the week. The service at the restaurants was very good, all the staff work very hard and are extremely polite. Our main complaint about the food was that it was a little cold sometimes (At El Dorado and Adelita). A reservation at Punta Emelia is a must, if only for the atmosphere. Brazilian restuarant was also very good, both food and staff. As for dinner reservations, if you are with Air Transat Imperial Club (we were) you can reserve a-la-cartes in advance. Punta Emelia and Japanese Table require one day advance for all guests. We only made 2 advance reservations. The rest of the time we showed up around 7, made a reservation, got our coaster and went to have a drink. Longest wait was 75 minutes but we weren't in a hurry, had a drink and enjoyed the place.

The bars were OK. Really good sangria and mixed drinks, but having only Sol and another beer on tap at all the bars was a disappointment. Bring a thermal cup to keep your beer cool at the beach or pool, or drink at the swim up bar. The mini bar in the room is a joke. That was the only place there were bottles of beer, but it was 4 beers per room per day (2 Sol and 2 Dark). If you want more beer in your room it's $3 US per bottle. I thought this was an all-inclusive. Also, 2 days out of trip our mini bar was not restocked, despite calling guest services and being assured it would be.

The beach and pools were very nice and clean, but bring water shoes if you plan to go in anywhere else but the "swimming beach" because there are rocks and small coral. We snorkeled everyday and wore our water shoes instead of flippers We saw one ray in the sand and were glad we had shoes on. There is plenty to see if you are a first time snorkeler, especially if you go out near the buoys. The only downside about the beach, as with any resort, be prepared to get up early to get a beach chair with shade. My husband was there by 7am each morning so I could have shade. The pool didn't seem so busy, but we only went the first day.

We don't have kids, but it seems like a great place for families. Lots of things for them to do. A great kids pool and a great team at the kids club that involves the kids in the early night shows at Colonial. We watched while waiting for our dinner reservation. The parents were all very proud to see their little "stars".

We traveled Air Transat Imperial Club and I didn't really feel there were any "Distinction Services". The AT rep was non-existent most of the time, and when she was there it seemed like we were bothering her texting time by asking a question. There was supposed to be an orientation but when we showed up she took our return transport ticket and said "Thanks". That was it. We don't know if there was one or not. Also, fruit basket as welcome gift should be cancelled. It just went bad. Would have been better to have a few more free beers or a can of Pringles. Also, don't book Shopping Trip to Playa Del Carmen though AT rep. It was less $ than a taxi, but we were told it leaves hotel at 4:30 and you get picked up in PDC at 9:30. WRONG. You get picked up in PDC at 8:30 and back at hotel by about 9:30. Take a taxi, there are lots and they seem very safe.

Overall we had a really nice time. Yes, it is not a Secrets, but Grand Palladium White Sands is a nice place to go. As long as the staff are friendly, the place is clean and the sun is shining, a vacation is what you make it.

Room Tip: Mayan Suites are really nice. It was nice to have a large balcony to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelotter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Gerente at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear travelotter01,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation in Grand Palladium Riviera Maya Resort & Spa.

All reports help us to understand what our guests need or want from their vacation. I will take note about the issues that you mentioned in your report, as the problem with the outside shower and the A/C noise in your room.

Thank you for your good comments about the food, the restaurants and our wonderful staff.

We invite you to visit in the near future to experience more that our Resort has to offer.
We look forward to hearing from you, if there is anything at all we can do from this end.

Thank you for having stayed with us.

Best Regards,

Laura López Rodríguez
Gerente de Recepción // Front Office Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & SPA
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I were at the Grand Palladium White Sand from Feb. 5th to the 12th inclusive. This resort was recommended to us by the Palladium Travel Club rep we met at their Puerto Vallarta facility last year where he succeeded in deceiving us to purchase a two year membership for $699US. However this is not the venue to vent our frustration. Suffice it to say caveat emptor. Upon arrival, we were invited to attend another sales pitch session which we politely declined.
This is truly a Grand resort. In fact it is actually four resorts with individual lobbies on the same vast grounds. You have the Riviera where you will find an amazing salt water pool by the Caribbean, the White Sand, the Colonial that has a great kids pool section complete with various water slides and fountains and the Kantenah. There is a rotating shuttle that you can use to go to each or you may decide to take the a long walk.
Expect ground travel from the airport to take approximately 1 to 1 1/2 hours or more depending on how many stops you make on the way. We were treated to private transportation,(one of the membership perks) so it took us approximately 1 hour 15 minutes. The return trip is shared transportation. Fortunately we only had one extra stop to make.
There are several a la carte restaurants many of which are in the White Sand section. You do not reserve for most. It is a kind of first come first serve system so you may be required to wait between 1 to 2 hours to get seated. There are approximately three restaurants that require a prior only 24 hour reservation. We recommend you get there "early AM" the day before.There is also an a la carte restaurant at the Riviera but we were told it was only for the guests at the Royal Suites. You always have the option to dine at the buffet where breakfast is also served. However staying at the White Sand resort means buffet breakfast and supper is either at the Riviera (closest) or Colonial/Kantenah because that is where the buffet meals are served. There is the Laguna restaurant by the pool area of the White Sand that offers snacks/lunch and tea from approximately 11AM to 5:30PM. We found the food was good every where we went with plenty of variety at the buffet.
Nightly shows are at the Colonial 9:30PM and the Riviera 10:15PM. Each of which has a theater. The lobby/bar of the Riviera and White Sand has good musicians playing nightly either before and/or after the variety shows.
The grounds are impeccably clean and you will see plenty of iguanas, racoons and local animals walking about. None of which caused us any concern.
We had a nice clean room with one king bed, a shower and a whirlpool bath. Possibly another perk of membership. We had an issue with the hot water in the shower which we could not quite get resolved so we opted for the bath that had plenty of hot water as did the bathroom sink. I believe the problem was probably with the shower faucet.
Because the White Sand is surrounded by a lagoon, we had to climb and descend approximately 17 steps to get to and from the pool and animation area, the adult pool, the Riviera and our room. We did quite a bit of walking and climbing during our stay.
The beach at the Colonial and the White Sand was very nice although we did not spend a lot of time there. They had the courtesy of posting a sign about the rays in the water. Something that was not done on a trip to Nicaragua where my wife witnessed first hand the pain they can inflict if accidentally stepped upon. She had no desire to take a dip in the waters of Riviera Maya. Walking on the sand was pleasant. We were blessed with excellent weather, sun, blue skies and surrounding cloud but not a drop of rain.
We found all the staff, be it at the restaurants, buffet, bars, lobby and animation centers were friendly, polite, courteous and in good humor. They made us feel welcome and appreciated.
We have previously stated that we are not in the habit of returning to the same resorts. Even if we were, we would not likely return to the Withe Sand. We actually preferred Grand Palladium Puerto Vallarta. Can't say exactly why. Maybe we found this place too Grand amongst other things. We did however enjoy our stay.
We certainly have no intention of extending our membership to the Palladium Travel Club.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Daniel O,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your last holidays with us. For us is essential to know all the opinions from our guests and what we need to do to better meet their expectations, in fact we are already working in some of the observations you made about the services of the Travel Club.

Thanks again and please let us know if there is anything further we can do and feel free to contact us for your next visit to grant you the best of all attentions.

Kind regards,

David Calvo
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our wedding was on the beach Feb 13. It was spectacular!! Dear future brides...don't worry if you do not hear from your wedding planner until just before you fly. They have everything planned for you. When you arrive you will go to your appointment for the final arrangements and everything will be taken care of the way you want. Grace did an amazing job for us. We had a Beach Bash after the wedding dinner and I would highly recommend this!! It was fun for all ages and unique to have a party on the beach in Mexico with tiki torches, lanterns, firepit and a private bar! The bridal suite in the spa is a terrific place to get ready with your girls before the wedding. I booked one of the brides packages to secure this area. Saria did my hair and makeup the day of the wedding and I have never been more pleased with how I look! Thank you Saria--I really felt beautiful!!!
We were at White Sands from Feb 11-25. There were 27 people in our group and the majority stayed for 1 week but 6 of us enjoyed 2 weeks.
Yes, the resort is large. 2 of our guests required special care and the staff responded with cart rides for them to all of the places that were hard to access. In addition, we rented a wheelchair for the first week. $60 deposit which is refunded when the wheelchair is returned.
All of our guests really liked their rooms. We had Junior Suites, one bedroom suites and Mayan Suites. All rooms were large, comfortable and cleaned well everyday. We also had turn down service.
The food was enough variety of food to satisfy anyone. Flying Air Transat allows you to book reservations for the a-la-cartes and I would say TAKE advantage of this!!! Some people waited for over an hour to be seated. With the reservation you show up at the time stated and are seated within a few minutes.
There were issues that arose--such as a broken door handle in our Mayan Suite--but unlike previous reviews where people complained; we took action. Any problem that arose we simply made the staff aware and the problem was dealt with in a timely fashion.
There was something for every guest of all ages. If you want peace and quiet there are areas for this purpose. If you want to be away from children there are areas for that. There are plenty of play places for children and also lots of adult games.
The staff are very friendly and eager to please. Having said that, they are also over-worked. They all deserve to be treated with utmost courtesy and respect. I know AI says tipping is not required but I personally feel that these hard workers deserve tips and recognition.
The Sports Bar was great for the olympic games. We watched men's Canada/USA game and when Canada won we asked the staff what time they would open on Sunday for the gold medal game. Usually they open at 1000 but they opened up early at 0530 for the fans!!! We packed the place that morning to watch Canada win gold!
The beach at the Kantenah section is the sandiest section. Thoroughly loved this area!!
I did not appreciate the travel club people phoning our room. After the third call, I firmly told them we would not attend any of their meetings and to please quit calling us. The calls ceased. If you know you don't want to be a part of the travel club, then I suggest you do not attend their meetings in spite of how they entice you with free spa etc.
But do take advantage of the spa. We had several appointments there and it was definitly a highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DtorAdjunto, Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Tammi N


Thank you for your good comments and for the feedback, as our commitment is to provide the best service and attention at all times to our guests, and the way we can do it is to know what our guests like and the things we can enhance.


We are happy to understand that you and your wedding group enjoyed your stay, and please, do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything further we can do from this end.

Kindest regards,
David Calvo

Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
23.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,908 reviews
6.3 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium White Sand are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa (excluding the Royal Suite facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Palladium Hotel Group, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium White Sand Hotel Akumal
Palladium White Sands
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing